We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amani means Peace in Kiswahili” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Mara Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amani Mara Lodge to your Saves list
Amani Mara Lodge
Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amani means Peace in Kiswahili”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went in the month of July right at the beginning of the wildebeest migration from the Tanzanian Serengeti to the Masai Mara in Kenya. This was such an incredible experience as we were able to witness the mass migration and the symbiotic relationship between the Zebra and Wildebeest. If you are an environmentalist, this is the perfect destination. The owner, Ashif, is working in partnership with the WWF to protect the local environment and is extremely knowledgeable about the area, the animals, the culture, the language and is a fantastic story teller. I would recommend having some wine with him after unwinding from a long day of sight seeing.
Further, the infrastructure of the lodge is intertwined with the surrounding landscape. A dam has introduced the perfect hydrologic conditions for hippos and crocodiles and forms the most incredible backdrop from the lodge. The rooms are so beautiful and clean, and if you listen closely, you can hear the lions roaring at night, because they are that close!
Overall, the lodge is surreal, there is so much tranquility, beauty and harmony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a great find in Mara - beautifully located near a hippo pool. Loved the rooms and the central patio for sitting out to watch the animals. Great hospitality from Ashif and the staff. I particularly remember Simon, our safari driver - very knowledgeable and a great tracker. Only downside - food options are somewhat limited. But the cosy lodge more than made up compared to the much larger hotels in Mara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wow - a gem of a place! The owner and host clearly has a passion for Maasai Mara and has brilliantly created both a rustic and refined lodge to take in the beauty. It was amazing to watch the hippos and crocs in the river below the lodge and all sorts of animals meandering across the spotted plain. Even more animals were found on game drives, but my favorite game-viewing and photo opportunities were walking with their Maasai staff out beyond the river. Stunning!

Each room was its own cabin essentially - they were classy and provided privacy and sensational views. It really felt like a dream getaway. The food was delicious, the lobby a comfortable and cozy place to hangout pre-meal and reminisce about the day, and the abundant and friendly staff went out of their way to make our experience a special one. I look forward to returning someday!

Room Tip: All the views seem equally amazing. You may have a preference of whether you want to be closer or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

(I hesitate to write this because I think this place is the best kept secret when it comes to the Masai Mara)

This was my first time to the Masai Mara. I chose Amani Mara b/c I wanted a more rustic experience. I didn't want a typical western hotel/resort in the middle of the reserve, with cable TV/spa/multiple floors/etc. Amani Mara was perfect. The most striking thing to me was the...silence. You are away from everything in the middle of the reserve. Hippos are milling about just below the reserve and sweeping views are there just outside your window, so you don't have to leave the grounds to experience the reserve. Also, the service was excellent. Ashif and Anna greeted me personally and were wonderful. The staff went out of their way to provide personal attention. The lodge and rooms are out of a movie. I didn't want to leave, and I can't wait to go back with my family. The food was excellent as well.

Staying here is in my opinion the best way to experience the masai mara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our trip to the Amani Mara Lodge was truly wonderful, from the moment we arrived till we left (very reluctantly).
The Staff and owner Asif were so attentive to all our needs, going out of their way to make us feel "special" and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms, views, game drives and wildlife were amazing. It was with very heavy hearts that we left this "paradise" and cannot wait to return.The whole idea behind this lodge is unique due to it being owner built and managed and fitting in with the environment so well. While we enjoyed our game drives, i especially loved going on a walk through the reserve late in the afternoon, and seeing the horizon at sunset with all the animals silhoutted against it. We were lucky enough to see almost all the types of wildlife, hyenas, buffalo,wildebeest, lions, elephants, a leopard with his 'kill', hippos - in their pools, viewed from the deck of the lodge. Having 2 little children with us, we thought it may be a problem with the lodge, but they were outstanding with them, preparing meals at odd times and making them welcome. " KARIBU " - ALL THAT IS LEFT TO SAY IS " ASSANTE SAAN".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It is unique and beautiful trying to blend in and work with the environment. The action from the wild life around the lodge is huge there was a lion kill one night very close. Staff are all from the local community and very willing and friendly. The idea that it is reclaimed land that is now working to preserve the environment makes you feel like you are doing good while enjoying luxury. Truly a spectacular place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Amani Mara Lodge is an experience of a lifetime. We were personally greeted by the owner, Ashif, and the manager, Anna, upon our arrival. Our drive in to the Lodge was extraordinary as we saw all types of wildlife, including a pride of elephants. The staff at the Amani were attentive, kind and informative. We enjoyed the personal service as well as the meals. Our lodgings were very comfortable. Walking to our personal lodge at night was an adventure hearing the hippos nearby. Of course, we were in safe hands as we were guided by staff to insure our safety. It was extraordinary to listen to the hippos and other animals mill about while we slept. The view from the Lodge is stunning. We had a constant view of the hippos and crocodiles. Our Masai safari driver, Simon, drove us directly to every possible animal the park has to offer (except a rino or leopard-but we were able to see these another time). Thank you, Ashif, and staff for a unique and life altering experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Mara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Lodge

Address: Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Amani Mara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Mara Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Mara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.