We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truely exceptional place with incredible staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Mara Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amani Mara Lodge to your Saves list
Amani Mara Lodge
Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Farmington, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Truely exceptional place with incredible staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Amani Mara for 3 nights during our E. Africa Trip. This is an OWNER MANAGED hotel with exceptional quality of service. Having been home for more than 5 weeks now; we still yearn for the hospitality and friendship extended to us during our stay- Joe the Masai Guy, Ashif the owner and the whole crew.

This property has a very unique structure and being an eco-friendly lodge is focused on conservation than the dime a dozen “big chain” hotels that sprawl all over Masai Mara. My honest word of advice is that if you are looking for a big buffet spread, 3 swimming pool, 3 to 4 restaurant style accommodation then Amani Mara may not be your “thing”. This is NOT Las Vegas by any means and that’s the beauty of this place. Isn't it?

When we were there they had 9 operational units/rooms. The artwork and the attention to detail here is immaculate. Most of the building material was locally obtained and the owners (Suleman Family) make conscious attempt to hire locals who are much more familiar with the land, environment and other issues pertaining to Masai Land. We enjoyed our trip and will go there again….

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amani Mara is special in so many ways it's hard to know where to begin! It's located minutes from Masai Mara with breathtaking views of the wildlife - lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, crocodiles, hippos, zebras, giraffe, deer, antelope, water buffalo, wildebeest and more! The lodge itself is surrounded by protected land where it's often possible to enjoy views of these same animals from the main dining hall or even your own room. Ashif and his team have taken great care to create facilities that blend in with and help protect and recover the land, planting new trees and using natural wood and stone designs that are both comfortable and architecturally inspiring. The team gives even greater attention to extending warm hospitality and ensuring memorable stays for all guests. The Masai guides are genuine, generous and attentive, sharing their traditional knowledge, kindness and humor during eye-opening bushwalks and game drives. If you're looking for a relaxing, awesome safari experience that gives back to Nature and the Masai community as much as it offers you, then Amani Mara is the place!

Room Tip: Everyone room has an amazing view and charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having read the comments from other visitors there isn't anything new I can add but agree wholeheartedly with their sentiments. This lodge is outstanding. Not only is the accommodation unique but the warmth shown by Ashif and the team was greatly appreciated. Whilst we were there we hit pay day and I needed access to the Internet. Ashif drove me to his "office" on the borderline with the park so I could do my banking. The lack of Internet access was a true bonus as my youngest daughter finally read a book rather than staying connected! We will be going back.

Room Tip: They matched us up perfectly when we got there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

SECOND time to visit Amani Mara since we luckily discovered it, and this trip exceeded even the exceptionally high standards we experienced the first time. First-class game viewing (including from the lodge itself, and from the rooms themselves too), first-class hospitality, innovative and eco-friendly (and very spacious and comfortable) accommodation and architecture, stunning location, attentive staff, knowledgeable and flexible owner/management, good food, and a wilderness experience which is surely second to none. The lodge has a social and environmental conscience and its offering is for the avid wildlife watcher/photographer or the beginner alike. Families are very welcome and very comfortable. The resident hippo pool is easy to see and to walk to, within minutes you are in the heart of the Mara animals' greatest concentrations, and the GREAT MIGRATION we experienced with Simon the game driver/guide/tracker was simply awe-inspiring. Our family of two adults, one 11-year old girl, and one 4-year old boy, all LOVE THIS PLACE and the people who run it.

Room Tip: I believe all huts are equally spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If one takes the time to read the other reviews you will soon realize that Amani Mara Lodge is indeed very unique and indeed a special place far ahead of it's time. Those of us who have enjoyed the pleasure of having time with Ashif Suleman one quickly questions why all lodges aren't doing what is going on here.
Ashif is indeed a very wise business man but more importantly a conservationist of the highest degree. His compassion starts with hiring the local workers and continues on with the ecologically friendly building materials and to what has happened with his "river" project.
I was amazed to the personal attention he gave our group which is a testament as to the love he has for the animals and the devotion he has to his lodge and workers.
Our visit was in July of 2013 - I can't wait to return again !
And all the guests plant a tree.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my 6th time to visit the Mara, and the 5th time I have stayed in the Mara. Not because there are no choices to stay at the Mara, but can't make myself go to any other property...have tried, have even got better and attractive deals.....let alone that, having so much difficulty even to go other properties in other parks
There being only one reason, once you have been to Amani Mara you get spoilt rotten, the personalization, the room is prepared how I would like, the meals are hot steaming from the kitchen straight to the table, and the courses are s filling and tempting that it is so hard to say no to any course. The staff are so loving and pleasant......they go out of the way to make you so comfortable and you also feel that your privacy is respected.
The views of the Mara, located right next to the river, located in wilderness, you are home away from home in the midst of beautiful and exotic wilderness, at night you are graced with the occasional roars of the lions......you wake up in the morning to the site of zebras, wilderbeasts, grazing in the lawn.....then there are the hippo snorts ........it is sheer paradise
Amani Mara calls it self the jewel of Mara....I disagree. It is the rarest diamond in the Mara.
Highly recommend all whether you go with family, friends and even honeymooners..it is the place to be!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have the private view to the river...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Amani Mara was just spectacular. Amazing scenic setting with a view of the river and hippo pool. All natural environment with no fences providing an adventure and experience in the Mara that can not be forgotten. The owner is an environmentalist with the mindset and ambition to preserve the natural beauty of the Mara without affecting the animals habitat. The rooms were just superb - clean, huge, amazing hot water and superb views from the rooms itself. The service and food was extraordinary. The game drives were excellent with very experienced and knowledgeable guides.
The best place in the Mara!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Mara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Lodge

Address: Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amani Mara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Mara Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Mara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.