We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly special place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Mara Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amani Mara Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amani Mara Lodge
Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading
1 review
“An incredibly special place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I don't normally post reviews but this experience was such a magical so I really wanted to share this with fellow travelers.

Our trip to the Masai Mara was arranged by Affable Tours http://www.affabletours.com/ who were truly excellent. Their in depth knowledge of the Mara and the various game lodges meant that our adventure was personalised to our particular needs and they did everything in their power to ensure we had the best time possible; our driver was a great character really knew his stuff. I can't recommend them highly enough.

The lodge is run by a local family - they were always so kind and warm and they really couldn't do enough for us. According to our driver this is the best lodge in the Mara and i do not doubt his judgement at all. We had such a wonderful experience from start to finish - the luxury and individuality provided us with one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had (i do not say this lightly as we travel extensively!).

They have the most breathtaking views of the countryside - from our balcony we saw many animals and the river below even has its own resident hippos! The accommodation is extremely luxurious and due to the fact they have attractive solid walls of lime/wood at ground level and the balconies are raised off the ground you feel completely safe - although we did have a Masai warrior located outside our door all night just in case!. The lodges are constructed with such incredible attention to detail, for example the showers are built out driftwood and will need to be seen to be believed.

I also really recommend the bush walk as we got such a massively different perspective from our game drives, accompanied by a Masai and expert guide we were instructed on survival techniques, we walked near to the Hippos basking in the water, viewed snake burrows, wildebeests and even discovered a Zebra and its tracks as it had got away after being attacked and died - We heard the hyenas that night!.

Another example of how incredibly welcoming the staff were was when on one of the nights we were having dinner on my birthday and i was presented with a personalized cake, lots of drums and singing - such a wonderful surprise!!

I cannot recommend this lodge enough - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms benefit from the same great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited Amani Mara in March 2012. We LOVED our time there and were already planning to come back even before we left. The staff and owner are very attentive and friendly. It is a small lodge, so we felt very personalized attention. We had an opportunity to go on a Masai-guided nature walk, go to a Masai village, had a lovely sundowner with a beautiful view, and were treated to a FABULOUS surprise "bush dinner" on our last night. Everything about our stay was so fun! It was evident that the staff took pride in their work and bent over backwards to make sure we had a great time. We truly felt pampered and relaxed, while somehow still maintaining a good sense of adventure each day.
We saw lots of animals too--some of them right from our balcony. The "tents" or rooms are well appointed and are sturdy enough to feel safe, yet the canvas window coverings still allow you to be serenaded by the hippos each night.
I would highly recommend a stay at Amani Mara!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of my greatest holiday! The staff in Amani Mara are very friendly and accommodative. What I like about Amani Mara?
1. Lodging: comfortable beds and pillow :), spacious room, very clean, the balcony with a perfect safari view
2. Location and ambiance: situated in a quiet area and not too far from all the animals... In fact, an elephant was just outside my lodge in the middle of the night eating the trees away, a very cosy lodge!
3. Activities: Love the guided walk, planting a tree in Amani Mara compound
4. Staff: friendly
 
Highlights: I asked for a gym and they provided a safari outdoor gym! I had the opportunity to run in the wild with the wildebeest. A spectacular once-in-a-life-time experience.
I was able to see animals from the balcony of your room. I managed to witness a migration from the lodge itself!
 
Amani Mara is the choice of lodge in Masai Mara!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent almost a month with the family that own and operate this lodge. This place is a labour of love. The family is well respected in the community, passionate about conservation and has a wealth of knowledge about the local eco-system, culture and tradition.
Unlike places where you are just another guest, the Amani Mara ensures you are welcomed into the Amani Mara family, and ultimately the Masai Mara.
This lodge is located in the best location - away from traffic, mass-tourism hotels, and is just about 30min drive from where you can spot the Big 5 - without having to go through heavily used dirt roads.
You will be welcomed and treated like royalty, but the service you will receive is genuine and down to earth. Though priced higher, you will wonder how much each dollar is more than well spent. Meals are made with passion, with fresh ingredients from the local market and the lodge's fertile garden.
The beds are amazingly comfortable. Made from local hard wood, with the best pillows and doonas, you will get undisturbed rest to prepare you for another day of adventure and exploring the vast Masai Mara or the nearby ground.
Take advantage of the walks with local Masai guides. They are friendly, very well informed and ask to be taken to the hippo creeks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Inform them what you would like to experience when you wake up, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lodge has been built really well and attention has been paid to be every detail.
It gives you a feel of the wilderness and tranquility of masai mara.
The staff is among the most friendly i've ever seen. The food and service deserve a michelin star!
among the best lodges in masai mara and definetly look forward to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

One of the most beautiful and peaceful places i have been to. The lodge is really appropriately named. Amani means 'Peace' in Swahili and i couldn't ask for more than i got at Amani Mara. The management and staff were so friendly, i was totally comfortable and at home. My family loved the break and i look forward to another stay at Amani Mara. I truly do. Amazing place! We even got to plant some trees!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

You really have to experience it to believe how truely special Amani Mara is!
From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed not only by the warm welcome from the friendly staff but by the stunning eco friendly lodge that looks out over the vast mara and river full of hippos, crocodiles and stunning birds. The highlight for me had to have been the early morning wake up call to sit on our balcony watching the spectacular sunrise, and lions chasing zebras right infront of the lodge! I can't say enough about Amani Mara - the food, atmosphere,staff, accomodation, and game drives were all out of this world! A truely unforgettable and special experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amani Mara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Lodge

Address: Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amani Mara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Mara Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Mara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.