We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Mara Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
Amani Mara Lodge
Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“unforgettable place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited Amani Mara in March 2012. We LOVED our time there and were already planning to come back even before we left. The staff and owner are very attentive and friendly. It is a small lodge, so we felt very personalized attention. We had an opportunity to go on a Masai-guided nature walk, go to a Masai village, had a lovely sundowner with a beautiful view, and were treated to a FABULOUS surprise "bush dinner" on our last night. Everything about our stay was so fun! It was evident that the staff took pride in their work and bent over backwards to make sure we had a great time. We truly felt pampered and relaxed, while somehow still maintaining a good sense of adventure each day.
We saw lots of animals too--some of them right from our balcony. The "tents" or rooms are well appointed and are sturdy enough to feel safe, yet the canvas window coverings still allow you to be serenaded by the hippos each night.
I would highly recommend a stay at Amani Mara!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of my greatest holiday! The staff in Amani Mara are very friendly and accommodative. What I like about Amani Mara?
1. Lodging: comfortable beds and pillow :), spacious room, very clean, the balcony with a perfect safari view
2. Location and ambiance: situated in a quiet area and not too far from all the animals... In fact, an elephant was just outside my lodge in the middle of the night eating the trees away, a very cosy lodge!
3. Activities: Love the guided walk, planting a tree in Amani Mara compound
4. Staff: friendly
 
Highlights: I asked for a gym and they provided a safari outdoor gym! I had the opportunity to run in the wild with the wildebeest. A spectacular once-in-a-life-time experience.
I was able to see animals from the balcony of your room. I managed to witness a migration from the lodge itself!
 
Amani Mara is the choice of lodge in Masai Mara!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent almost a month with the family that own and operate this lodge. This place is a labour of love. The family is well respected in the community, passionate about conservation and has a wealth of knowledge about the local eco-system, culture and tradition.
Unlike places where you are just another guest, the Amani Mara ensures you are welcomed into the Amani Mara family, and ultimately the Masai Mara.
This lodge is located in the best location - away from traffic, mass-tourism hotels, and is just about 30min drive from where you can spot the Big 5 - without having to go through heavily used dirt roads.
You will be welcomed and treated like royalty, but the service you will receive is genuine and down to earth. Though priced higher, you will wonder how much each dollar is more than well spent. Meals are made with passion, with fresh ingredients from the local market and the lodge's fertile garden.
The beds are amazingly comfortable. Made from local hard wood, with the best pillows and doonas, you will get undisturbed rest to prepare you for another day of adventure and exploring the vast Masai Mara or the nearby ground.
Take advantage of the walks with local Masai guides. They are friendly, very well informed and ask to be taken to the hippo creeks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Inform them what you would like to experience when you wake up, where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lodge has been built really well and attention has been paid to be every detail.
It gives you a feel of the wilderness and tranquility of masai mara.
The staff is among the most friendly i've ever seen. The food and service deserve a michelin star!
among the best lodges in masai mara and definetly look forward to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

One of the most beautiful and peaceful places i have been to. The lodge is really appropriately named. Amani means 'Peace' in Swahili and i couldn't ask for more than i got at Amani Mara. The management and staff were so friendly, i was totally comfortable and at home. My family loved the break and i look forward to another stay at Amani Mara. I truly do. Amazing place! We even got to plant some trees!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

You really have to experience it to believe how truely special Amani Mara is!
From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed not only by the warm welcome from the friendly staff but by the stunning eco friendly lodge that looks out over the vast mara and river full of hippos, crocodiles and stunning birds. The highlight for me had to have been the early morning wake up call to sit on our balcony watching the spectacular sunrise, and lions chasing zebras right infront of the lodge! I can't say enough about Amani Mara - the food, atmosphere,staff, accomodation, and game drives were all out of this world! A truely unforgettable and special experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

How lucky we were! The lodge we orginally booked had some problems and by coincidence we ended up in the Amani Mara Lodge. Beautifull place and very friendly staff. The Masai guides were very skilfull and knowlegdable. Excellent food. Nature at your doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amani Mara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Lodge

Also Known As:
Amani Mara Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amani Mara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Mara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amani Mara Lodge to your Saves list