We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Mara Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amani Mara Lodge to your Saves list
Amani Mara Lodge
Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lodge has been built really well and attention has been paid to be every detail.
It gives you a feel of the wilderness and tranquility of masai mara.
The staff is among the most friendly i've ever seen. The food and service deserve a michelin star!
among the best lodges in masai mara and definetly look forward to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

One of the most beautiful and peaceful places i have been to. The lodge is really appropriately named. Amani means 'Peace' in Swahili and i couldn't ask for more than i got at Amani Mara. The management and staff were so friendly, i was totally comfortable and at home. My family loved the break and i look forward to another stay at Amani Mara. I truly do. Amazing place! We even got to plant some trees!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

You really have to experience it to believe how truely special Amani Mara is!
From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed not only by the warm welcome from the friendly staff but by the stunning eco friendly lodge that looks out over the vast mara and river full of hippos, crocodiles and stunning birds. The highlight for me had to have been the early morning wake up call to sit on our balcony watching the spectacular sunrise, and lions chasing zebras right infront of the lodge! I can't say enough about Amani Mara - the food, atmosphere,staff, accomodation, and game drives were all out of this world! A truely unforgettable and special experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

How lucky we were! The lodge we orginally booked had some problems and by coincidence we ended up in the Amani Mara Lodge. Beautifull place and very friendly staff. The Masai guides were very skilfull and knowlegdable. Excellent food. Nature at your doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, ri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I came here with my sister in April, 2011 for a 3 day safari after it was highly recommended by a friend. Although I very rarely post on websites like this, I wanted to this time because of the amazing experience we had. Our gaming trips were individualized - oftentimes it was just my sister and I along with our driver, who was very experienced at finding the Big 5. The tents we stayed in were very comfortable without feeling out of place in the Mara. I loved being able to sit outside our tent with a cup of tea and cookies, watching the sun rise over the nearby hippo populated river. The service here was outstanding - every was very attentive and friendly! Finally, the cost of our stay as significantly cheaper than many of the other safari lodges that we looked at. I would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Words cannot describe the experience at Amani Mara, paradise definately has a new defination..

This was my first stay at the Amani Mara as a birthday treat and stayed in other lodges in the Mara and this by far takes the number one spot and will be the first choice of accomodation for all future trips to the Mara.. from the moment we were picked at the airstrip to the last minute when we returned back never felt like you are far from home.

All the staff were just amazing and made you feel at home, They even did a special birthday cake and song (adding the personal touch) ... game drives were just awesome and amazing ..

The rooms were so unique each design to take comfort to a new level and very cozy and warm. The hippos residing by the river near by made things a little interesting with their activities, lions roaring in the middle of the night was just a cherry on the top ... Having meals overlooking the hills and watching Zebras, Impalas, Giraffe's all graze while you have your breakfast or lunch.. Basically i could go and on and on ...
The yummiest ever meals... be it at the lodge or a special picnic lunch by the Mara river :-)
Had lots and lots of fun and definately looking foward to my next visit there ..
All in all Amani Mara Rocks !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Each room has an amazing view, if you like having a dip outdoors you can always request for the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

It’s daybreak and it’s time to make your way to the main pavilion for a hardy breakfast before your morning game drive in the world famous Maasai Mara National Reserve. After leisurely waking up to an inspiring sunrise, unzipping your canvas windows to welcome the refreshing breeze whilst being entertained by hippos playing in the winding river, and opening your door to find a herd of striking zebras at your doorstep to greet you; you finally make your way to a steaming cup of Kenyan tea accompanied by a delicious breakfast. Sounds like a dream or a scene from a Disney flick doesn’t it? Well, at Amani Mara that’s reality.

With outdoor baths, an infinite pool carved out of a cliff overlooking a river full of hippos, delicious food and attentive staff; Amani Mara ensures that you’ll have the bush experience you’ve always dreamt about.

Amani Mara’s cabins and architecture is inspired by the natural state of its surroundings, ensuring that the lodge is as in-tune with nature as possible. Beautiful olive wood is used throughout the lodge, from the weight-bearing beams to the over-sized King-sized beds, and even to the bookshelves that hold titles such as those authored by Ernest Hemingway.

More at: http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/lifestyle/2011/09/02/amani-mara-a-peaceful-environmentally-conscious-lodge/

Room Tip: book early as space is limited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Mara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Lodge

Address: Olare Orok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 61394 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amani Mara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Mara Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Mara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.