We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The safari to dream of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encounter Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Encounter Mara
Mara Naboisho Conservancy | P.O. Box 541 Limuru, Kenya 00217, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The safari to dream of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a veteran of several safaris in Africa, my recent 2 1/2 day safari with Encounter Mara stands out in has a limited number of safari camps so the density of tourists & Toyoto Landcruisers is limited; the density of animals on the other hand is outstanding; the property is managed professionally and with commendable attention to detail and guest comforts and needs; the food is excellent and the guides are outstanding---the best I have had on all of my safaris. Bravo, Encounter Mara. You are doing it ALL RIGHT and we LOVED it. Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the camp. We are so pleased you had a great time and hope you will come back and visit us soon.
From the Encounter Mara team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our mini moon and had a brilliantly arranged agenda. The tents were fantastic and much more exotic than I thought they would be. All the staff were so extremely friendly. The food was surprisingly good and great entertainment. I especially enjoyed the sundowners drinks at sunset out in the reserve. The bush walk was fascinating too, got some fantastic photos of Zebra's that we walked closely too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we alway love to hear feedback from our guests. Please do email marketing@encountermara.com if you feel there are any improvements we can make, as we want our guest to have the best possible experience.
Thank you for choosing a very special occasion to share with us. Good luck on your happy journey together.
The Encounter Mara team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Encounter Mara on the recommendation of Africa Rose Travel. A truly wonderful setting in the Naiboisho Conservancy. Large, stylish tents which were very private and had a lovely view - lots of animals to be seen from tent and dining and sitting areas and even a cheetah walking by our tent one morning. The area outside the tents have a large day bed and a hammock. Chris and Sam were charming and fun hosts and the food was very good indeed. They offer a brunch on return from morning game drives which although good meant a very long gap until tea at 3.30. Also I do like having tea or coffee in the room when I am woken up rather than having to go to the mess tent. Being in a private conservancy means they can offer walking and night drives. Lots of game very close by including a big pride of lions and a lioness with three cubs. Can thoroughly recommend Encounter Mara as a special place to stay in a quieter location than the Mara.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you had a fantastic time. We hope you will come back and visit us soon.
From the Encounter Mara team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were a group of 4 who had been working and wanted a short safari after our labours. We arranged a 2 day trip to Encounter Mara which is on an unfenced reserve and not overloaded with queues of safari vehicles. We had all had safari experiences previously and this far exceeded our expectations. It is a very well run tented camp with great and friendly staff who go out of their way to make this a wonderful experience. Lots of caring touches such as a hotwater bottle in the bed. We had a terrific Masai guide, Dickson, who was a great teacher. We saw an extraordinary number and variety of animals including several lions. This is a highly recommended trip. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is really important to use that guest feel they have had a quality experience and get to enjoy the Masai Mara as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your sentiments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, Berks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent three nights at this fabulous camp. Very well run by Managers Kris and Sam. Accommodation very clean and comfortable, the guides excellent, particularly Moses, with great driving skills and eyesight so good , i swear they can see into other countries. Third time to Mara and as usual, teeming with wildlife.
Not sure 10 hour return trip to see Mara river crossing was worth it if you seen it before, as lot of time in vehicle.

Room Tip: We had tent 9 and bit disappointed with view, not quite the same as pictures on website, ours a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the feedback it is very helpful. We do try and provide the best possible service and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and position all of our tents in the best possible viewing sites, however, when working with nature we can not always dictate.
We will certainly pass your feedback to Moses, thanks for sharing!
From The Encounter Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Could not be any better! Warm, friendly, attentive staff; wonderful food, elegantly presented; a guard outside every tent; following a pride of lions hunting at night then returning to a hot water bottle in bed. What could be better than this.
This camp is the REAL deal. The guides grew up there and really know their stuff; and there are no hordes of other vehicles to get in the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you share our passion for The Masai Mara and we are so pleased we could help facilitate this special experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything about Encounter Mara was absolutely perfect, the staff, tents, food, vehicles, guides and program. They really have the safari down pat, flying into the Naboishi Conservancy and then taking a game drive with a lunch stop (watching a herd of giraffe) on the way to the accommodation was exactly the right start and it just kept getting better. The guides were very knowledgable and always had interesting facts about animal behaviour to share with us and they were great at spotting the animals. We were fortunate enough to have our own private vehicle for the duration of our tour. The vehicles were in great condition and completely open so there was no struts or windows obstructing your view of the animals.
The camp itself is in great condition and the tents were absolutely beautiful. Likewise the food was delicious at every meal and the staff were exceptionally attentive, right down to the nightly hot-water bottle in your bed (which is a surprisingly enjoyable luxury especially given that it actually gets quite cool at night in the Masai Mara).
I would thoroughly recommend staying on a Conservancy like Naboishi as opposed to staying in the Masai Mara, the number of guests and vehicles in the Conservancy is controlled and you get a much less crowded view of the animals. In addition, in the Conservancy the vehicles have an extra hour or two before they have to return to camp in the evening which means you have a better chance of viewing the animals in evening light and when they are most active. It makes your sundowner drink and snacks all the more enjoyable knowing that there is no great rush to get back to camp.

We booked online directly with Encounter Mara and Josphat and the bookings team were always very responsive and provided the best customer service of any of the companies we booked our holiday in the Middle East and Africa with.

I cannot fault a single aspect of the trip, the only regret I have is not staying longer, we were there three nights but could easily have stayed a week or more.


I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to hear our guests sharing the same passion we feel for The Masai Mara and for Encounter Mara.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will come back and visit us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Encounter Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encounter Mara

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy | P.O. Box 541 Limuru, Kenya 00217, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With natural simplicity and elegance, Encounter Mara provides a completely unique and eco-friendly approach to safari lodging. Built with only completely removable structures, with a focus on conservation, Encounter Mara offers luxury in their twelve custom-designed, spacious tents, positioned for privacy as well as optimal game viewing. Located in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy, guests experience unparalleled game-viewing in a low-tourism-density area and opportunities for night drives and bush walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Encounter Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encounter Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Encounter Mara to your Saves list