We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encounter Mara - perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa
Mara Naboisho Conservancy | P.O. Box 541 Limuru, Kenya 00217, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrew, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Encounter Mara - perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will give Encounter Mara TEN stars! Definitely a First Class adventure. Moses, Sammy, Dickson,we love you and appreciate each one of you. We felt so welcome. The arrangements, the accommodation, picnic, marvelous meals in the dining tent, safari drives, information on the habits of the animals - all far above our expectations. Even my personal vegetarian/vegan meals were accommodated and absolutely wonderful. No corners were cut anywhere - the beds were amazingly comfortable. I wanted to bring my bed home! Everything looked really nice in the tent. The towels & soaps, even the toilet paper (with the added touch of the little leaf), the vanities, the trunk for storage, everything - everything just beautiful and there was not a mosquito in sight. Getting to know the people, riding in the LandRover, and seeing the animals in the wild had been a lifelong dream. Although I was only able to spend one night on this first trip to Africa, Encounter Mara was definitely the highlight. Canada is a long way away yet if i do have opportunity I will want to return to stay much longer. As we left Encounter Mara I can still picture the grand farewell from all of you. That too was special. Sincere blessings to all the Staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
41
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first time in Africa and after spending two weeks in the city of Nairobi, it was nice for this 'country girl' to get back to open spaces and wildlife! Staying at Encounter Mara was a highlight of our trip. From the moment we arrived and were given one of the best picnic lunches under an acacia tree of delicious wraps with fresh fruit and yoghurt and drinks, then taken to our camp. Our guide was Moses who took time to show us everything; from the tiniest of bugs, to finding the King of the Jungle and his lioness as the large, red African sun set in the evening, and the many, many animals inbetween. Our accomodation was outstanding, with the most comfortable beds we had ever slept on, even a warm hotwater bottle was tucked into our beds while we went out for a night safari. In the evening its cooler, and colourful Maasai blankets were folded neatly on the seats of our Land Rover. They didn't miss a single detail. The food was also first class and presented beautifully. There was such flavour and arranged like a work of art on our plates. You will not want to leave when you go!! Moses, Dickson, Sammy, we miss you and hope to return again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you love animals, this will totally catch you off guard when you get ready to leave. I unfortunately was only able to do a one night stay and at departure I choked up and tears welled in my eyes. These people are amazing. They have good hearts! The connection with them and the animals was truly a spiritual moment for me. The people here felt like family!

Room Tip: Just do your research before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Encounter Mara was fantabulous. Staff were so unobtrusive and service was excellent.Wonderful experience. The spotters and drivers were fantastic. Able to take us to see as many animals as possible. The luxury tents are just that. huge comfortable beds looking out onto the bush. We loved the Masai that we met. Such polite and friendly people ready to assist and make ones stay memorable forever.

Room Tip: They are all great. Seperate and private. you feel you are the only couple for milesaround
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Encounter Mara was an outstanding experience and ranks among my top travel experiences. I echo a previous comment that essentially stated "I splurged thinking it was a once in a lifetime trip and now want to plan my return." The guides are Masai who grew up in or near the conservancy, and their intimate knowledge and love of the land is obvious; their quality of guiding starkly contrasted that of tourism workers who are willing to guide in any park for income. There was no question about the animals, plants or stars that the guides couldn't answer - these are bright and well-trained individuals. The conservancy's land management strategies are not only good for the land/animals, but also mean you won't be running into other tourists very frequently; you feel like you are alone on the savanna. The quality of service back at the tented camp was outstanding while reflecting conservation values - a tough juggling act that they manage well. We traveled with our 6 year old and it worked just fine; it was hard to wake him up early for some of the AM drives, but I blame that on jetlag. And, once we roused him, he was always excited to go out for another drive. The guides were sweet with him. And, the number and variety of animals it made following safaris a bit disappointing (so consider scheduling Encounter Mara at the end of your trip, not the beginning). We also took advantage of a guided walk and a visit to a Masai village, and I am glad we did. Finally, I appreciated that it truly was all-inclusive (except a fee we paid the village, which I was happy to do, especially because that meant they weren't peddling souvenirs), making this not really that much more expensive than other places that mark up drinks or charge extra for walks, transportation, etc. Bottom Line: do what you need to do to spend time at Encounter Mara.

Room Tip: I doubt you can go wrong - each one is isolated and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Encounter Mara hosted me for a photographic trip in The Masai Mara. Their friendliness was exceptional. Even though you are in the wilderness you have every comfort of home and get to see some incredible game.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's hard to imagine how Encounter Mara could be improved - they took care of all the details, from pick-ups and flight transfers out to the Mara, first-rate accommodation and exciting food, knowledgeable and helpful guides, and an exclusive feel to the game drives. We took the balloon ride, the perfect way to add a new dimension to the experience. The people, landscapes and nature that I witnessed during my stay with Encounter Mara are etched in memories that I shall never forget. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porini Mara Camp
Porini Mara Camp
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy | P.O. Box 541 Limuru, Kenya 00217, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the highly sought after Naboisho Conservancy, Encounter Mara Camp gives guests access to some of the best wildlife viewing in East Africa. The award winning camp is set in the shade of a thick forest with sweeping views out onto the traditional savannah that makes up much of the conservancy. As with nearby Naboisho Camp, the wildlife viewing is excellent year round and combined with the breadth of activities on offer and the comfort of a camp built to the highest eco standards, there are few more rewarding places to experience this slice of wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Mara Safari Camp By Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encounter Mara Safari Camp by Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.