We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem just outside of main gates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entumoto Safari Camp
Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
La Celle Saint Cloud
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem just outside of main gates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Entumoto was suggested by our agent based on our request of quiet place with great service. It delivered everything we have asked for. On the first look it seems slightly remote for every morning safari rides in the MM, but in fact its just 15 minutes fantastic ride to great planes close to Ottars...in other words you dont have to use overcrowded Ololamutiek gate. The camp is on the hillside with great views. Atmosphere and service is great and trackers are first class. Overall, highly recommended if you are looking for something less crowded than camps within MM and with high class service and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was hard to have to come back to Nairobi, and leave the peacefulness of Entumoto. Wonderful accommodation, good food, and the picnic lunch was truly amazing! MOST effective shower too....! The staff are all very friendly and accommodating, and obviously try very hard to make it a wonderful experience for the travellers. If I had any criticism it would be the permanent presence of Masai cattle all over the place - no game is going to come near the camp as long as they are around, this however is not Entumoto's fault.

Room Tip: The first two tents, then you don't have such a hill to climb! Views are spectacular from wherev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Camp is absolutely divine - serene and peaceful, excellent food, wonderful staff, beautiful tents, terrific guides, wonderful ambience, great leisurely off-the-beaten-track drives! You can't get any better! If you are looking for a calm relaxing holiday, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are many other lodges at Masai Mara but this is one is truely special. The surrounding is beautifull to start with and staff were amazing. They oay attention to the tiniest detail. The food was lovely at Entumoto. We did an eight day safari in Kenya and travelled to other places and found the food to be best at Entumoto. We just stayed two nights there and regret we didn't stay more. If you are looking for a unique experience in the wilderness this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at Entumoto in August with a group of friends. It was my first safari experience which was made all the more memorable by Entumoto and the fantastic staff. This camp is truely out of this world. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent (so tasty), the standard of the accommodation was luxurious and the scenery and setting was quite simply stunning. From the early morning (middle of the night!) wake up calls with coffee and juice, to the late night hot water bottles warming our beds, the service was fantastic. I would recommend this safari camp to anyone, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this camp earlier this month. It was my third time visiting Mara and all the lodges I have stayed in have been incredible. However, this surpassed my expectations. The camp is cleverly hidden in the hillside. Our group were the only guests at the camp and were given exceptional service. I am not sure how they acheive such high standards in such a remote location. The food was better than any restaurant I have eaten in and it was healthy, all being grown on site. The 'tents' are clean, spacious and luxurious, with spectacular views from the veranda. The lodge has a tranquil feel, added to by the vast array of birds singing in the nearby trees. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a place! Don't know where to start. Not much really to say, except we had a wonderful time. All our wishes catered for. The staff were truly amazing - right from the Manager to Elijah (the Chef - excellent food and he does a wonderful curry! And a Man Utd fan - a added bonus!), Raffel (maitre d extraordinair) to all the security staff who looked after us soo well. The family tent was wonderful and very comfortable. One thing to warn you about - there is a window in the bathroom that has no curtains - so anyone from the outside could look in when you were about your business! Not that there was anyone...but a little uncomfortable in any case.

The game drives were great fun - our guide Issac was a top man. Very knowledgeable, full of insight and was just fun to be around. He made the stay that extra bit special.

If you're heading to the Mara - I doubt you'll find a better place than this!
Give it a try!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Mara Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entumoto Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Entumoto Safari Camp to your Saves list