We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most exquisite place in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Entumoto Safari Camp to your Saves list
Entumoto Safari Camp
Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most exquisite place in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Camp is absolutely divine - serene and peaceful, excellent food, wonderful staff, beautiful tents, terrific guides, wonderful ambience, great leisurely off-the-beaten-track drives! You can't get any better! If you are looking for a calm relaxing holiday, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are many other lodges at Masai Mara but this is one is truely special. The surrounding is beautifull to start with and staff were amazing. They oay attention to the tiniest detail. The food was lovely at Entumoto. We did an eight day safari in Kenya and travelled to other places and found the food to be best at Entumoto. We just stayed two nights there and regret we didn't stay more. If you are looking for a unique experience in the wilderness this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at Entumoto in August with a group of friends. It was my first safari experience which was made all the more memorable by Entumoto and the fantastic staff. This camp is truely out of this world. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent (so tasty), the standard of the accommodation was luxurious and the scenery and setting was quite simply stunning. From the early morning (middle of the night!) wake up calls with coffee and juice, to the late night hot water bottles warming our beds, the service was fantastic. I would recommend this safari camp to anyone, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this camp earlier this month. It was my third time visiting Mara and all the lodges I have stayed in have been incredible. However, this surpassed my expectations. The camp is cleverly hidden in the hillside. Our group were the only guests at the camp and were given exceptional service. I am not sure how they acheive such high standards in such a remote location. The food was better than any restaurant I have eaten in and it was healthy, all being grown on site. The 'tents' are clean, spacious and luxurious, with spectacular views from the veranda. The lodge has a tranquil feel, added to by the vast array of birds singing in the nearby trees. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a place! Don't know where to start. Not much really to say, except we had a wonderful time. All our wishes catered for. The staff were truly amazing - right from the Manager to Elijah (the Chef - excellent food and he does a wonderful curry! And a Man Utd fan - a added bonus!), Raffel (maitre d extraordinair) to all the security staff who looked after us soo well. The family tent was wonderful and very comfortable. One thing to warn you about - there is a window in the bathroom that has no curtains - so anyone from the outside could look in when you were about your business! Not that there was anyone...but a little uncomfortable in any case.

The game drives were great fun - our guide Issac was a top man. Very knowledgeable, full of insight and was just fun to be around. He made the stay that extra bit special.

If you're heading to the Mara - I doubt you'll find a better place than this!
Give it a try!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodnwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tents are very, very nice! Did have some issues with getting a hot shower as the water had to be heated by fire and the bathroom windows looked right out to the fire builders so wear a towel! Food was very good but sometimes portions were small. The best part of This camp was by far the driver and our guide. Rony (driver and Yenko our guide) went out if their way to make sure we saw eventing on our list. Again they where the great!

We did request two tents and wound up with us sharing a very large tent with our son. We still had two bathrooms and a living room with a fireplace. Not bad for tented camping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wow! Entumoto rocks. We were the only guests and the service, the food, the accomodation was outstanding.
Big thanks to the brilliant Isaac who was our guide, he taught us a lot about the people, the game and life!
We loved Raffael - such a lovely maitre d and he looked after us at every meal making sure we had everything we needed.
Chef was super too and made sure my daughter's egg allergy was catered for. The food was super.

Our family had such a wonderful time. We would love to go back. Its a super place!
And we saw a cheetah kill! and 2 leopards!!

Thanks everyone...we hope to return one day soon.


ps: you may think staying outside of the park is a problem but actually its a benefit...we did night time game drives in the conservation area which you can't do in the mara itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
22.8 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#11 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#41 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
34.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
12.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Masai Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. Family friendly, also for children, with 4 big family units with up to 6 beds. We have a large private conservancy neighboring the park with all big 5 present and many many more. We engage in several community projects such as a school and a Rescue center for young girls. Our guests are encouraged to take part of our community work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Entumoto Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing