We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entumoto Safari Camp
Save Saved
You added Entumoto Safari Camp to your Saves list
Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tents are very, very nice! Did have some issues with getting a hot shower as the water had to be heated by fire and the bathroom windows looked right out to the fire builders so wear a towel! Food was very good but sometimes portions were small. The best part of This camp was by far the driver and our guide. Rony (driver and Yenko our guide) went out if their way to make sure we saw eventing on our list. Again they where the great!

We did request two tents and wound up with us sharing a very large tent with our son. We still had two bathrooms and a living room with a fireplace. Not bad for tented camping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wow! Entumoto rocks. We were the only guests and the service, the food, the accomodation was outstanding.
Big thanks to the brilliant Isaac who was our guide, he taught us a lot about the people, the game and life!
We loved Raffael - such a lovely maitre d and he looked after us at every meal making sure we had everything we needed.
Chef was super too and made sure my daughter's egg allergy was catered for. The food was super.

Our family had such a wonderful time. We would love to go back. Its a super place!
And we saw a cheetah kill! and 2 leopards!!

Thanks everyone...we hope to return one day soon.


ps: you may think staying outside of the park is a problem but actually its a benefit...we did night time game drives in the conservation area which you can't do in the mara itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I just returned from a four-day stay at Entumoto and I miss it already! First and foremost, the staff from top to bottom is excellent, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. One of the owners joined us for meals everyday which was a nice personal touch. The tents are spaced far apart - we couldn't even see another tent from ours. The game driver, Isaac, is phenomenal (he's Bronze level and very informed). Every single hour in the vehicle with him is catered completely to what the client wants. He was so patient and made sure we were happy and comfortable. You see plenty of game drivers out in the Mara who look miserable, serious, and are driving subpar cars that get stuck in the mud. Not Isaac! And Entumoto uses completely open air land cruisers that allow you to go wherever you want and you feel right there with the animals.
We had a picnic "bush" lunch or breakfast each day out in the savanna in the mara and a sun downer out on the lions rock overlooking the camp. One unique thing about Entumoto is they have their own fruit and vegetable garden and weave their homegrown produce into their meals. I highly recommend this place! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and me stayed at Entumoto for four days. Our time there was truly amazing. Entumoto is a tented camp with tents far apart and without any fences around it. This means that you're surrounded by nature and can enjoy the quiet. Guards accompany you in the morning and evening which was special in itself.

The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and socially engaged. Our driver Isaac was great, really taking the time and making sure you're seeing everything (we saw the "big five").

The food is also tasty, mostly homegrown and fresh. And having cold drinks on the Lion's Rock makes for a sundowner like no other.

Thanks to the staff we had an unforgettable time. We'll surely come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

An excellent meeting point in Masai Mara to experience the wilderness of Africa. If you are planning to go on safari – choose this place! We loved it! They offer the best accommodation with a fantastic view over the landscape and very friendly staff. Must also mention our guide who really had an extraordinary knowledge about the nature.

The Karlander family

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Entumoto Safari Camp. We really appreciated that we could plan the days individually. Choosing a late breakfast and afternoon drive was as possible as an early breakfast followed by an early morning drive. The staff was available all the time and for all matters.
The food quality was also excellent. We were served fresh vegetables and fruits from their own garden in the camp. We enjoyed very good three course meals every day. Especially the New Year's BBQ was a hit.
Each of the tents are very private since they are far from the main tents and the other guest tents. In that way you can fully experience the feeling of being in wild nature.
The drives were really cool. You could see all kinds of animals already a few meters from the camp since the guides are very skilled in spotting them.
All in all, it was an extraordinary experience and a great introduction to Kenya. We would like to recommend the camp as an unique and beautiful place to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent one night at Entumoto during a 2 day trip through the Mara. Everything was superb: The welcome, the friendly staff, the food, the pool, the tents and facilities in general. Just after sundown we enjoyed a warm fire in front of the dining tent. The cool breeze and low lit sky provided a cozy end to the day. The knowledge that we were in the midst of a wild animal reserve provided an added sense of adventure while our host's shared some of the history of the camp over some hot, tasty samosa's. The beds were comfortable and it was interested to hear the sound of wildlife from time to time throughout the night. Overall, our short stay was very memorable!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Mara Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entumoto Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.