We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entumoto Safari Camp
Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Bussum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and me stayed at Entumoto for four days. Our time there was truly amazing. Entumoto is a tented camp with tents far apart and without any fences around it. This means that you're surrounded by nature and can enjoy the quiet. Guards accompany you in the morning and evening which was special in itself.

The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and socially engaged. Our driver Isaac was great, really taking the time and making sure you're seeing everything (we saw the "big five").

The food is also tasty, mostly homegrown and fresh. And having cold drinks on the Lion's Rock makes for a sundowner like no other.

Thanks to the staff we had an unforgettable time. We'll surely come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

An excellent meeting point in Masai Mara to experience the wilderness of Africa. If you are planning to go on safari – choose this place! We loved it! They offer the best accommodation with a fantastic view over the landscape and very friendly staff. Must also mention our guide who really had an extraordinary knowledge about the nature.

The Karlander family

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Entumoto Safari Camp. We really appreciated that we could plan the days individually. Choosing a late breakfast and afternoon drive was as possible as an early breakfast followed by an early morning drive. The staff was available all the time and for all matters.
The food quality was also excellent. We were served fresh vegetables and fruits from their own garden in the camp. We enjoyed very good three course meals every day. Especially the New Year's BBQ was a hit.
Each of the tents are very private since they are far from the main tents and the other guest tents. In that way you can fully experience the feeling of being in wild nature.
The drives were really cool. You could see all kinds of animals already a few meters from the camp since the guides are very skilled in spotting them.
All in all, it was an extraordinary experience and a great introduction to Kenya. We would like to recommend the camp as an unique and beautiful place to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent one night at Entumoto during a 2 day trip through the Mara. Everything was superb: The welcome, the friendly staff, the food, the pool, the tents and facilities in general. Just after sundown we enjoyed a warm fire in front of the dining tent. The cool breeze and low lit sky provided a cozy end to the day. The knowledge that we were in the midst of a wild animal reserve provided an added sense of adventure while our host's shared some of the history of the camp over some hot, tasty samosa's. The beds were comfortable and it was interested to hear the sound of wildlife from time to time throughout the night. Overall, our short stay was very memorable!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had fantastic days in Entumoto while celebrating a friends birthday. Interesting safaris in the beautiful landscape. We saw different places and different animals every day. The african landscape is extremely beautiful and it was so thrilling going around with the charming guides to look for the animals.
In the afternoon we could go around the camp with a Masai guide who told us about different bushes and seeds and how they were used by the Masai people. At night in the camp we had delicious meals. In the dark we were always followed by a Masai warrior to prevent attacks from the animals. We could swim in the pool and there was also oppurtunity to get some nice massage. I could not think of a better way to be a bit aquainted with Africa/Kenya/Masai Mara! I really wish that my children and there families would go there!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Spent a couple of days last February at Entumoto Safari Camp with family and friends. We had the time of our lives. Everything was perfect, the camp itself, the firendly staff, great drivers, wonderful food and super tents! Did not see the Big Five but Big Four is good enough! Everyone should go there to get a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I went there with wife, one daughter and her friend. Our expectations were high since we had followed the construction of Entumoto on distance. We had heard a lot about the camp but never been there. Luckily Entumoto came up to our high expectations. The location overlooking the valley is adorable. The standard of accommodation (family tents) is not only exclusive but also very tastfully decorated and genuine. Just like in the movie Out of Africa. Food was like eating in the best restaurant. The staff created a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. Helpful in all aspects, and had answers to all our (sometimes stupid) questions. The guide who took us out on safari several times was superb and knew everything worth knowing. This was not my first safari experience but it was definitely the best one. I really recommend Entumoto!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Mara Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entumoto Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Entumoto Safari Camp to your Saves list