We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice by Imagine Africa, Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasi Mara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enkewa Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enkewa Mara Camp
Save Saved
You added Enkewa Mara Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice by Imagine Africa, Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasi Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This tented camp was recommended for the best photographic opportunity on Safari in Kenya, and I have to agree it was a great choice. The camp was fantastic, a great location, wonderful people and guides and fantastic wildlife viewing. A very personal service. My husband took a lot of persuading to go but he wants to go back!

Room Tip: A small camp of only 5 tents but number 5 is closest to the local wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Enkewa for 3 nights at the start of my safari/Zanzibar honeymoon. What an amazing way to start that trip! Enkewa delivered perfect service, great food (in the bush), an unmatched safari experience (guides, wildlife), cool accommodations ("tent" isn't the right word...), and an overall exceptional experience.

10/10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was like a dream. The staff and guides were all Maasai dressed stunningly in their traditional cloth (except for Jose and Martha). The passion that the extremely friendly and knowledgeable guides have for their land is magical to see and very inspiring. We felt like every effort was made for us on the safari to ensure we saw everything possible and we were indeed lucky enough to see the big 5. We ranged in age from 40-75 and were all looked after wonderfully. The tents were beautiful and luxurious and the attention to detail was superb. The food is absolutely delicious and we were waited on attentively. We were there for 3 nights, and could easily have spent another day just relaxing at the camp. A truly fabulous holiday of luxury mixed with the outdoor experience and meeting real Maasai people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 days in the bush camp at the beginning of august 2013 and we really enjoyed our time there, everything was amazing.
The tents are comfortable and clean, the staff of the camp is friendly and always willing to help you, and the food is great.
We had the opportunity to see many different types of animals in various habitats (alone, in family and different species all together) thanks to the time of the year (migration) and in particular thanks to the camp’s owner, Josè, who is a very excellent guide. He spent all day out in the car to make sure we had the best chance to see as many animals as possible, he knows the best places to find the animals and how to avoid the other tourist cars. An outstanding experience, we warmly suggest a vacation here to everyone is looking for an authentic and memorable safari experience.

Room Tip: To be aware that it is a bush camp so you have to go with the flow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We tried both the Enkewa Mara Camp and the Enkewa Bush Camp during our stay in Masai Mara. We loved the tents and all the decorations in both camps but the most important thing is of course the game drives ---- I have to say everything is perfect and it's beyond my expectation. With Jose and the experienced guide team we explored a lot of great areas which have plenty of animals and very few cars around. After 7 years in Kenya, Jose still looks more excited than us when we saw a cheetah killing and he knows all the kids in nearby Masai villages, that tells how much he loved the animals and the people, and it's a great experience to drive with him, especially in his powerful land rover. Other guides are great too, they all speak good English and sound so positive, during our walking safari we talked with our guide Ngila for 3 hours and learnt a lot about the people in Kenya, we enjoyed it a lot and didn't feel tired at all because of that.
Enkewa Mara is in a very good location and the location for Enkewa Bush camp is just pefect - it's very close to all the animals yet still enjoys privacy, you can drive 2 minutes to find a group of lions and drive for hours not seeing any car for other camps. I'm still amazed by how did they find this perfect place and managed to set up a camp there.
We stayed 5 days in Enkewa and it's just too short, i'll definitely go back to Kenya again and stay with Enkewa!

Room Tip: the new Enkewa Bush Camp is amazing, try to stay there for the full-day safari
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is my husband and my first safari trip, first time to Africa. We stayed at both the Enkewa Mara camp as well as the recently opened Enkewa Bush camp. Everything was fantastic in both camps --from the warmly decorated and well equipped tents to the very knowledgable staff who took us on the game drives to the delicious 3 course meals (slightly European-style). Above all, everyone who worked there (including of coz the Masai's) were very attentive and hospitable, and the time we spent getting to know them on walking safari and at the sundowners etc really made it an extra special experience for us. I honestly believe our trip wouldn't have been so special if it was not for the folks at Enkewa. I would highly recommend this camp to anyone who's looking for real action on safari + luxurious stay + to enjoy a personal connection to the nature and part of the Masai community.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to obtain a booking at Enkewa Mara 's new 2nd bush camp, which has just been opened and consists of 3 luxurious tents accommodating 3 couples at a time only. It is extremely private and remote and we were privileged to be amongst the first occupants. Our host, owner and guide Jose cannot be faulted on his planning, attention to detail, menus, and excellent guiding. We were astounded by the food produced in such a remote location. Always beautifully prepared and graciously served in the dining tent. . The Masai men who worked in the camp are friendly , helpful and dignified. There is a genuinely happy relationship between Jose and his staff and one feels that there is a reciprocal respect between the men and their employer. The guide who we went with was infinitely knowledgeable about the terrain, the routes to take and particularly about the birds of the region. That was greatly appreciated by several of us in the group who were entranced by the richness of the birdlife . We were fortunate enough to see so much in a very short time. The south eastern area that the camp is situated in is very rich in wildlife and the quantities of wildebees and zebras we saw were astounding. We were fortunate to see the Big Five, but more than that we saw so many incredible other sightings that any further wildlife trips will be a hardpressed to match this trip. We appreciated the efforts made to keep our experience authentic and uncrowded by other tourists. It becomes important when there are other vehicles all heading to a sighting to have a guide who knows what he is doing. We never felt part of the migration frenzy and were extremely grateful for the efforts made by the guides to avoid the main routes and to give us a true encounter with the Mara region. . An amazing experience. You must do it!!!!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enkewa Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enkewa Mara Camp

Address: Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Enkewa Mara Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accomodation and full ecosustainable Tented Camp. South East .Private concession of 36 hectares in the Southeastern border of Masai Mara National Reserve , close to Serengeti N.P.Arrangement of safaris and travel circuits through Kenya and Tanzania combined with the accommodation in Enkewa Mara Camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enkewa Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enkewa Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.