We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a wonderful experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enkewa Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enkewa Mara Camp
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enkewa was our first stay during a 10 day intense safari vacation with my husband and all of his Colombian family and without exaggerating it was most certainly a highlight of the trip. Jose and Marta's OUTSTANDING customer service in conjunction with their Massai staff left all 14 of us (ages 7-70) longing for more days in Maasai Mara. The tents are spacious and comfortable. The chef cooks a delicious and diverse menu -consisting of continental foods.They have a good supply and selection of good wines. The local staff added a special experience to our stay since they are all extremely professional and were all willing to share their culture with us. The safari guides were very knowledgeable and knew the terrain like the back of their hand. I can't recommend this Camp enough. Book your reservations today!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
69
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful 3 days at Enkewa Mara Camp. I've never wanted to give a vacation 6 stars before. The site itself is beautifully done. Jose and Marta, who run the camp, and the Maasai staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We had relayed a number of requests through a travel agent (Love Live Africa), and Marta rattled them off when we arrived, making it clear that they were going to send us hiking (instead of spending most of our time in the jeeps) and accommodate our dietary concerns (which they did perfectly). The hiking was really good and the wildlife was great. Our guide had a wide range of knowledge which he delivered skillfully. The food was shocking. Meal after meal, the Enkewa staff delivered 3 courses that could easily compete with the top-of-the-line restaurants we occasionally patronize in Manhattan. I wouldn't have thought that would matter, but after a long hike, coming home to a great dinner turns out to be a wonderful thing. The camp sponsors the local Maasai school and, and while we got the sense that some things we were shown and told about the Maasai were carefully crafted for effect, the mutual appreciation and respect between the European owners and the Maasai staff, and the pride the Maasai demonstrated in their culture and in their skill in making visitors appreciate the Mara-- those all seemed very real. This was a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I live in Kenya and can easily say this is the best wildlife safari experience in East Africa, it is not all vans and jams by the animals, it is about truly finding them with a real masai spotting them with unparalleled talent and using all his senses. A truly spectacular experience.

Room Tip: Any tent is good, whether at Enkewa Mara or Enkewa Bush, both close by, cozy, delicious food and bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I could write pages about Enkewa, and it wouldn't do justice to how amazing the camp and the owners/hosts (Jose & Marta) are. The Masai staff are also incredibly friendly- and the Masai spotters on safari ridiculously talented.

I can't even believe some of what I've seen actually happened. Thanks to Jose and the Masai spotters, I was able to witness 5 black rhinos shortly after my arrival. We also took a night safari where I saw an actual honey badger. And how could I forget the herd of water buffalo fending off a lioness going after a water buffalo giving birth. Jose and Marta accommodated my schedule and ensured that I was able to pack in as much as possible during my trip.

Accommodations are top notch and the company is unmatched. If you want a unique experience and to come back with new friends, Enkewa is for you. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though is not the most luxurious camp, the environment and friendly staff make you want to be there and not anywhere else, because what they offer is not something you can buy. The quality and authenticity of the people is unforgettable. Martha and Jose, the owners of the camp, treat you like their family, and their relations with the Masai people is so good they offer you a cultural interaction I didn´t see in any other camp (And I visited about 5 in the Masai Mara).
The tents are very comfortable and clean, I really had a great sleep there. I recommend to ask them for the butternut soup, one of the best I have tried in my life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at Marta's and Jose's Enkewa "paradise" in January 2013 and it has been the highlight of the entire trip to Kenia visiting the Samburu, the Masai Mara and Malindi. Everything went so smooth, from the booking and during our stay.

The team at the Enkewa Mara is extremely warm and friendly, the game drives in their open safari jeeps had been simply amazing. We also spent one full day in the wild, having breakfast and lunch in the bush, which was truly wonderful. Most of the time we've been off the beaten tracks and away from the minivan crowds. Jose and the Masai spotter were very knowledgable and fun, and were very lucky to see even hard to see animals.

The camp is located in beautiful nature and it is equipped and furnished very tastefully. The tents are luxurious and very spacy, each with an enclosed bathroom with warm bucket shower and private terrace. But what really impressed us the most, is how Marta and Jose are involved with the local Masai people and their level of support towards them.

During our stay we felt more like friends than just guests and I recommend this place to everyone who want's to have an unforgettable safari experience away from large and mostly impersonal lodges or being stuck in minivans following only the beaten paths.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Enkewa for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Africa, so we had big expectations from what we had heard, and we must say that we got much more than we expected.

The first thing you notice when you arrive to the camp is that it is not an ordinary place. José, Marta and their friendly and professional Masai team make you feel like at home from the very first moment, they are always there to help, and when you finally leave the camp it feels like you were leaving your family behind.

The camp is an eco-friendly concept that makes you feel part of the savannah. Tents are confortable and large and the food is absolute incredible, we never thought we could eat like that so far from home!

Safaris are really amazing. It was our first safari and we had no references, but when you see the crowded vehicles from other hotels and the way they work you really understand the difference. Here you always go in small groups, with no other cars around (they use their own trackers -real Masai warriors!), and most of the time they drive around not busy areas, taking profit of the camp location (there are just 2 other camps around, and far enough to not see any other vehicles in the whole day!).
We were lucky enough to see the Big five - the Masai trackers can see invisible tracks!

And the last part was one of the greatest experiences in our life. José and Marta work very closely with the surrounding Masai community. They give support to the local school and have a lot of projects to help making their life better. You can have the chance to visit a real Masai village and understand their lifestyle (no tourist trap, this is real!). We also visited the school, which had a huge impact on us. Now we see many things in a very different way.

Thanks José and Marta for that lovely honeymoon! We are sure we will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enkewa Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enkewa Mara Camp

Address: Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Enkewa Mara Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accomodation and full ecosustainable Tented Camp. South East .Private concession of 36 hectares in the Southeastern border of Masai Mara National Reserve , close to Serengeti N.P.Arrangement of safaris and travel circuits through Kenya and Tanzania combined with the accommodation in Enkewa Mara Camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enkewa Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enkewa Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Enkewa Mara Camp to your Saves list