We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Masai Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enkewa Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enkewa Mara Camp
Save
You added Enkewa Mara Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best Masai Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though is not the most luxurious camp, the environment and friendly staff make you want to be there and not anywhere else, because what they offer is not something you can buy. The quality and authenticity of the people is unforgettable. Martha and Jose, the owners of the camp, treat you like their family, and their relations with the Masai people is so good they offer you a cultural interaction I didn´t see in any other camp (And I visited about 5 in the Masai Mara).
The tents are very comfortable and clean, I really had a great sleep there. I recommend to ask them for the butternut soup, one of the best I have tried in my life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
79
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at Marta's and Jose's Enkewa "paradise" in January 2013 and it has been the highlight of the entire trip to Kenia visiting the Samburu, the Masai Mara and Malindi. Everything went so smooth, from the booking and during our stay.

The team at the Enkewa Mara is extremely warm and friendly, the game drives in their open safari jeeps had been simply amazing. We also spent one full day in the wild, having breakfast and lunch in the bush, which was truly wonderful. Most of the time we've been off the beaten tracks and away from the minivan crowds. Jose and the Masai spotter were very knowledgable and fun, and were very lucky to see even hard to see animals.

The camp is located in beautiful nature and it is equipped and furnished very tastefully. The tents are luxurious and very spacy, each with an enclosed bathroom with warm bucket shower and private terrace. But what really impressed us the most, is how Marta and Jose are involved with the local Masai people and their level of support towards them.

During our stay we felt more like friends than just guests and I recommend this place to everyone who want's to have an unforgettable safari experience away from large and mostly impersonal lodges or being stuck in minivans following only the beaten paths.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Enkewa for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Africa, so we had big expectations from what we had heard, and we must say that we got much more than we expected.

The first thing you notice when you arrive to the camp is that it is not an ordinary place. José, Marta and their friendly and professional Masai team make you feel like at home from the very first moment, they are always there to help, and when you finally leave the camp it feels like you were leaving your family behind.

The camp is an eco-friendly concept that makes you feel part of the savannah. Tents are confortable and large and the food is absolute incredible, we never thought we could eat like that so far from home!

Safaris are really amazing. It was our first safari and we had no references, but when you see the crowded vehicles from other hotels and the way they work you really understand the difference. Here you always go in small groups, with no other cars around (they use their own trackers -real Masai warriors!), and most of the time they drive around not busy areas, taking profit of the camp location (there are just 2 other camps around, and far enough to not see any other vehicles in the whole day!).
We were lucky enough to see the Big five - the Masai trackers can see invisible tracks!

And the last part was one of the greatest experiences in our life. José and Marta work very closely with the surrounding Masai community. They give support to the local school and have a lot of projects to help making their life better. You can have the chance to visit a real Masai village and understand their lifestyle (no tourist trap, this is real!). We also visited the school, which had a huge impact on us. Now we see many things in a very different way.

Thanks José and Marta for that lovely honeymoon! We are sure we will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enkewa Mara Camp was highly recommended by a friend who used to live in Kenya. When he introduced Enkewa Mara Camp, I made an immediate booking as I appreciate his taste and style.
The stay in Enkewa Mara Camp was far beyond our expectation.
It is a very small camp with six or seven tents but that is one of charms of the camp if you are a kind of person who appreciate the originality and do not like a giant lodge or camp which pack so many people. Enkewa Mara is a place where you can tailour your programme on the spot based on your situation or needs. For our case, we went there with our little child and wanted a bit relaxed stay, meeting animals and knowing local culture.
From the airport to the lodge, which is a bit outside of national park, we could meet almost all the kinds of animals. Because of the location, we could also enjoy night safari and sunset drink. The food offered at their place, either at the table or picnic food were all delicious. I truly enjoyed all the meals though both my husband and I are quite fussy about the quality of food. Everything was so organized in a way that you can enjoy every moment and bit of stay in Masai Mara.
Finally, two hosts, both Marta and Jose are genuinely passionate about nature and the life of Masai people. We may have been very lucky that there were not many guests when we visited but they have taken care of us so well.
Thanks again Marta, Jose and their wonderful staff, who received us wholeheartedly and we hope to see you again in Masai Mara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca, usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

my wife and I stayed for 4 nights. the camp is small, which is perfect for this kind of trip. the tents are amazingly well furnished and maintained....by far better than my expensive hotel in nairobi....the food was beyond what i expected...the staff was very helpful. the transport to see game was perfect, the vehicles were open and not some cramped little van. we saw tons tons of animals..all the big five. and best of all, we spent some time with the locals, which was a wonderful touch.

Room Tip: select the far west tent!! you will feel like you are all alone in the open african land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have travelled to many countries, and stayed in a variety of different hotels, but no experience has been as special as my stay at Enkewa. From the setting, to the service, to the philosophy, Enkewa was truly exceptional. Thank you to Jose and Marta for creating something so unique, and so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was my first trip to Africa and my first safari, and its kind of difficult to describe the experience, but it was surely above all expectations. The Masai Mara reserve is full of animals and the sight of animals is constant. Its surely not one of those trips that you drive half an hour to see a single lion or giraffe, there is plenty of them and youre next to them all the time. In four days we manage to see over 20 lions and endless zebras, elephants, giraffes, leopards, gepards, wilder beasts, bisons, hyenas, pumbas and even a pangolin! The only downside is that we did not see any rhinos because there are very few of them.

The Enkewa lodge was excellent in every single detail. The Mediterranean food served is totally homemade and diverse. The rooms are very isolated not to have insect visiting you during the night and pretty large for a tent with bedroom, bathroom and living room (I would say about 25m2). Since Enkewa has currently only 6 tents, the level of service is outstanding and 100% personalized. Enkewa does not follow any prestablished routes and every night you get to decide what kind of tour you want to do the next day.
As I said, I haven't been to other safaris, but I have definitely talked with many friends that have been to several and also with some other guests at Enkewa that have been all around, and the main difference with other more populated resorts is that Enkewa uses 4x4 to the excursions, so they manage to get you everywhere in order to see the animals closer and with no other cars around you. Most resorts use a minivan that can only drive through the established tracks so you only get to see the animals if they happen to be close to your track, which for me it would have been a big disappointment. By using 4x4s, and the vast experience our the Enkewa guides, we manage to be a meter away from lions and other animals in their natural environment. Truly an amazing experience.

Moreover, apart from the two Spanish owners, the rest of the staff at Enkewa are native masais, extremely helpful and friendly.

Enkewa might be a little bit more expensive than other more populated lodges, but it was definitely worth every single dollar. I would not recommend other way of driving through the Savanna.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enkewa Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enkewa Mara Camp

Address: Masai Mara | Enkewa Mara Camp, Maasai Mara National Reserve 49500100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Enkewa Mara Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accomodation and full ecosustainable Tented Camp. South East .Private concession of 36 hectares in the Southeastern border of Masai Mara National Reserve , and to Serengeti N.P. Almost absolute privacy on gamedrives in the best big5 territory. Arrangement of safaris and travel circuits through Kenya and Tanzania combined with the accommodation in Enkewa Mara Camp ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enkewa Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enkewa Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.