We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashnil Mara Camp

Save Saved
You added Ashnil Mara Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashnil Mara Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We booked our safari to Ashnil Mara Camp while, staying at Baobab Beach resort Kenya. We booked with a local tour guide Jackal Adventures & Safaris. We were picked up at 7:30 by taxi and taken to Diani air strip about 3 miles away. Clearing security was quick and simple. After a short delay while our air craft was being refiled we departed about 8:45. After flying past Mount Kilimanjaro we made the first of 3 landings to let off passengers for other safari camps total flight time was approximately 2 hours We were met at Olkiombo air strip by driver and guide Musa. The drive from the air strip took about 45 minutes through marvellous countryside stopping for photo opportunities. After checking in and being shown our tent which was a canvas palace we were treated to a first class lunch. We met Musa for the afternoon safari drive which was excellent Musa knew all the right locations for some perfect photos. Our evening meal was again very good and the highlight was the Maasia greeting. After our meal we sat around a small fire and ordered a few drinks which were priced very reasonable. At the end of the evening we were shown back to our tent which had been prepared for the night we fell asleep to sound of hippopotamuses in the river outside our tent. After a good breakfast we left the camp for our safari drive. Musa had arranged a packed lunch so we could have more time to take in the sights and visit the Maasia Village before being taken to the air strip. The staff at the Mara camp were exceptional. The camp is fantastic and everything is done to make you feel welcome our only regret is that we were unable to stay longer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    71
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
115
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arranged 3 days here through the excellent JT Safaris who recommended this to us and our 2nd time in the Mara Triangle. Lovely views over the Mara river and accommodation was first class. The tent was clean and comfortable and a lovely verandah to sit out and look out over the river. The hot water bottle at night was lovely as the 2nd night it was cold and we had a bit of rain. The swimming pool was grewat after a morning Safari.

Met a great couple Maggie and Dave who we shared the truck with, thanks for the laughs. We saw loads of animals on the Safaris and our guide was very knowledgable. On our way to the camp we were fortunate enough to see 4, 8 year old borther lions. Three were asleep under a tree and then we spotted the 4th that was guarding a Hippo that they had killed the night before! Over the three days as we went in and out of the camp on Safari it was amazing to see all the other animals that were collecting in the area to try and get their bit of Hippo when the Lions had had their fill. By the 3rd day there were around 40 Hyenas, Jackals, 3 types of Vultures and even 2 Storks (didn't know they ate Hippo)! It was an amazing spectacle and National Geographic were filming each day so we are looking forward to watching the documentary.

The only down side for myself was the food whcih was buffet style and a varied choice but was Indian. I cannot eat spicy food and was OK for two days but on the third day my stomach was struggling to cope. It would have been great to have had a "plainer" alternative.

Overall a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

While in Kenya, I had the grand opportunity to go on a two-day, one-night safari in Maasai Mara Reserve and stayed at the Ashnil Mara Camp. When we walked in, we were immediately overwhelmed with the prompt, warm hospitality and then the lovely environment. I was blown away by my room. The rooms are large spaces covered on all sides with strong canvas. The bathrooms are also large--very nice shower with very hot water!! It appeared that all the rooms had a back porch with lovely sitting area. After we returned from dinner, the mosquito net had been untied and draped beautifully around the large bed. Once I climbed in to bed, I was greeted with a warm warm bottle. Ahhhh! Food: dinner was an outstanding buffet, as was the breakfast. Staff on all levels friendly, professional, and they aim to please. I am hopeful that I will be able to return again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a six day safari booked through the excellent JT Safari's.
Lovely lodge, nice pool if you take the afternoon off and lovely staff. Rooms are lovely, very large and luxurious! Food ok, buffet style meals as expected for a larger lodge.
Fantastic location - we saw absolutely everything while here thanks to the excellent Baker from JT Safari's!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The rooms, staff, food and grounds were really terrific. The staff makes a special effort to make sure everyone is happy. And the room-- You won't believe it's a tent!

We also really enjoyed watching the sunset over the river every night while listening to the hippos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Gorgeous campgrounds, wake up to the sound of hippos and walk through the greenery of the grounds to a delicious buffet breakfast at the restaurant. Luxuriously comfortable, you wont even realize you are in a tent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow - what can I say, five star camping and five star safari. Saw 3 of the big 5 - (no leopards or rhinos) but everything else and more. Saw a lion kill, baby elephants, giraffes, and my favourite the warthog. Someone needs to make a disney movie about these animals, what characters. Would recommend this camp, right on the Mara river, fabulous food, excellent facilities. Once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashnil Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Mara Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Mara Camp 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ashnil Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ashnil Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashnil Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.