We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with mara river views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashnil Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashnil Mara Camp to your Saves list
Ashnil Mara Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay with mara river views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family of 7 stayed here 2 nights. We were first given 3 tents without views of the river despite being told we would have a view. The next day they did arrange to shift us to better rooms. We enjoyed watching the hippos n crocks in the river. The rooms are large, clean, with modern bathrooms. The balcony had a nice bed and table. They were the only hotel which charged $10 for wifi, which was brutally slow. At night we enjoyed a dance from the masai tribal people. The hotel is about 1 hour from the main masai mara gate. It was a brutal bumpy ride, but well worth it once we went on game drives. We saw herds of zebra, wildebeest, lions mating, hippos fighting, baboons, etc. A fun experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n6284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were stayed there 3 nights at the end of the safari tour.Very nice property, good location ,right behind the Maara river .We got the room number 1 which is right next to the bar .Can't take the noise so I was asked if I can have another room for the next 2 nights.The staffs was so nice to be able accommodate us to the different room .Love every minute during our stays ,there were 2 big crossing right behind the dining room ,one at the afternoon and one in the morning .I missed the afternoon one but the morning one was sure make it up for it .They must have crossing for at lest 12 minutes or more.The staff at the dining room was super nice.
The Tent is quiet big ,especially the bathroom .The weather can get hot during the hour after lunch when you were waiting for the afternoon safari ,but the fan does help a lot to ventilate the air.I found the weather at night is pretty comfortable even though the electricity does cut off after 12 until 5 in the morning.I bought the flashlight but didn't have to use it .I used my phone for the flashlight .I love the sitting area outside the tent a lot .Spend a couple hours there reading every afternoon between lunch and safari time.
Saw a lot of animals included Leopard and plenty of Lions.We were pretty lucky to see the 4 wildebeest crossing and each time for a good 10 min .
The food is quiet good for the camp .The bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet Don't take room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKimLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a piece of heaven on earth, the property was located and executed in very picturesque planned manner. of course service was very good but not exemplary. The tents overlooked the maara river and we could see Hippo's while sipping our coffee. The rooms were spacious and neatly decorated, The balcony overlooking the river was where I spent most of my time. One of the best hotels in Kenya !!!!!

Room Tip: Insist on a tent facing the Maara river, well almost all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatukochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We (two adults, two children aged 10 and 15) stayed here for two nights as part of the Somak Cheetah safari. We had a really enjoyable stay, with good food, immaculate accommodation in terms of presentation, cleanliness and facilities and staff who were very welcoming and helpful, particularly to the children. Very nice pool, and bar and restaurant were comfortable and well presented. We didn't have a river view from our tents, just trees, which was a bit of a shame, but watched the wildlife from the bar/terrace instead. We had the Hippo Pool Breakfast, which was absolutely brilliant - many thanks to all the staff who made it so special! Game drives were good - saw our only cheetah of the holiday here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible! Also, some rooms seemed to be a fair walk away from the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from Ashnil and we have to say this is one of the nicest "hotels" we have ever stayed in and it was a TENT. It is very luxurious with marble bathroom with cordoned off shower and toilet, the rooms are very big to say it was a tent, and there is a fantastic four poster bed which was very comfy and turned down every night as well as the mosquito nets being pulled round your bed at night and bug spry getting rid of any unwanted critters, they even put a to water bottle in the bed for when you get back rom dinner as it does get quite chilly at night. There is a very large round relaxing bed on the balcony that looks out over the river with hippos on the bank and crocodiles sleeping in the water. There are also giraffes that visit as well as small monkeys and baboons. This place was lovely and we would love to go back, the safari was amazing! We saw giraffes, hippos, monkeys, elephant, lions, buffalo, gazelle, wart hog, wilder beast, zebras, mongoose, crocodile, baboons, antelope and hundreds of different birds. In a world this place is amazing!! Thank you so much!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Ashnil Mara camp for two weeks at the end of August/early September. The rooms were great, Service even better, and the meals were top notch. Great pool to relax in the warm sunny afternoons and great deck to watch the croc's and hippo's.
close to the action, lots of wildlife, and allowed us to watch a crossing on the Mara river.
Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just come back after spending 5 nights at this fabulous camp. It is in a great location Very comfortable and great facilities. Food was of a high standard and the staff could'nt do enough for you. Our guide Francis Jones was excellent and we saw loads of animals. A great experience can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 784Lindy_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#41 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
28.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Mara Camp

Address: | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASHNIL MARA CAMP The game drive experience offered at Ashnil Mara Camp is guaranteed to fascinate any safari enthusiast. For those in love with flora and fauna, the drive to go on safari is triggered by the desire to see wildlife and vegetation in their natural habitat. We give you an opportunity to spot wildlife on a running commentary of information given by our experienced driver guides. Our game drives are conducted in 4x4 vehicles, which are equipped to cover the rough terrains associated with safaris. The camp comprises 56 luxurious tents set overlooking the picturesque vast of Mara. Come catch the wildebeest migration amid a raw blend of luxury and the wild. A true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashnil Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ashnil Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing