Ol Tome Mara Magic Resort is managed based on the nature around. In the morning and The evening a Masai person lights the wood fire, half an hour later you can have a warm shower. During the day and the middle of the night, there is no electricity. The resort has only seven tents for visitors and a few for guides and staff.
The employees were very, very friendly, but seems not well trained of had not enough experience. They fulfilled every wish, but were not pro-active to needs and wishes of guests. P.e. the did not prepare the bedrooms in the evening and did not sprayed the tents. Our tour guide found a snake in the bathroom, which should not have been there if the tent. Was sprayed every day.
The dinner was not served on time, during breakfast we waited a long time before we recieved our boiled egg or omelet. No problem with that, but compared tot other lodges we visited, the quality of this one was less.
The manager is a muslim (managed the orphan house), so porc is not served.
The resort is not so big, but we got lost, between our tent and the main building. Some signs are missing, some are brolen and the tents have no numbers. Also a few lights along the paths were broken. Around the tents, we saw also some garbage, like sealing of water bottles. No one seems responsible to clean the place.
The Masai Mara is a perfect place for game drives, but we should prefer to stay in a different accomodation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Gea S
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for the email and appreciate the points you have brought to our attention.
At the same time I need to clarify a few points.Note Mr fahim is a graduate from Edwin Cowan University -Australia and he has not managed any Orphan Homes as you mention.In addition we have 13 tents in total and not 7.
We have taken note of the the issue of the turn down and need to know why your room was not looked into while all the rest were turned down.This has been followed with the Camp team
Also we have taken note of the late meals and at this juncture we would like to inform you that we had a problem with our water supply as the water pipes were damaged by the elephants and therefore needed replacements.As you are aware that without water we cannot do anything.
In relation to the snake well that may be a fact but these are grass snakes and harmless.You have to remember that you are in the bush and we have not disturbed the environment per se
unlike the other properties and that is the reason our motto is A Bush Experience like no other.
Also to add to the above we have a resident family of Mongoose in the compound which keeps the snake presence to a minimum.
Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.