We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photography holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bush Camp
Save
You added Mara Bush Camp to your Saves list
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Photography holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at mara Bush camp over the Christmas season. Would have written this review earlier if not having computer problems !
Excellent stay. The staff were exceptionally supportive and helpful.
Especially Leslie (camp manager ) kept her finger constantly 'on the pulse' and 'oh boy 'did she know how to make people feel welcome !
The food was wonderfully nutritious and incredibly well presented.
Have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
Tremendous photo opportunities thanks to the excellence of our extremely talented guide.

Room Tip: This is a Bush camp. The tents are incredibly roomy and comfortable.Bucket showers are truly better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Suebg01,
thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
44
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed early in January and had the place to ourselves. Well appointed rooms, great food, and Leslie the camp manager and her staff are fantastic and very accommodating.

We left a Kindle in the camp and is was put on a plane and delivered to us in Nairobi the very next day - excellent service!

Note that Google maps has the location marked on the wrong side of the river, and there are no signs - call ahead to get directions if you are driving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear John567890123,
thank you for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will try to contact google to adjust our location on the Map!
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Leslie, the Camp Manager, is fabulous, and her team works hard to see that everything is done to make your stay very comfortable. The food was very good, and the chef was very accommodating to special needs. Leslie even provided shukas (the Maasai blankets) for us to sleep under because we found the duvets too heavy and warm. The bush showers are very comfortable.

The location is convenient to the airstrip, but the downside of that is the noise of airplanes. The camp is situated right on a river, which makes for great hippo-viewing. There are plenty of trees that provide needed shade during the hot and dry times, but we found it reminded us of camping in California or Wisconsin, since we couldn't really see anything, including stars at night.

As with any unfenced camp, you cannot wander around, especially at night, so we felt a bit restricted.

Here's an important tip we discovered too late: You can ask your driver/guide to NOT use his radio. Had we known this, we certainly would have asked, since the constant radio noise is really annoying. We also should have insisted more vehemently that our guide NOT drive off-road. There's a reason this is against the rules, but often guides are under a lot of pressure from clients to get up close to animals. Preserving the fragile Mara landscape was more important to us, but we had trouble making that clear. And this is the bottom line: Be clear with your driver/guide about the kind of safari you're looking for. That being said, we saw absolutely every animal the Mara has to offer, including a leopard and a rhino.

Another tip about game drives: Twice a day can be very exhausting and hard on one's body. The roads in Mara are brutal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Owner at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear JoAnna R,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your trip to Mara Bush Camp. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall very much !

I appreciate also the feedback on the radio call during your game drives. It is usually there as a safety measure but also to communicate with other guides on game sightings. It is certainly possible for the guide not to use the radio at all. Some clients appreciate the fact, that they hear about certain game sightings.

We shall sensitize the guide stationed at the camp to ensure that he does check with all guests before he uses the radio call. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. The Mara is a fragile eco-system and it is most important that it is conserved and protected for generations to come. Our guides are advised to adhere to all park rules and regulations and we discourage off-road driving. I agree that the guest also plays an important role as not to push the guide to break the rules. Most game can be seen from the roads / tracks as the Mara which the Mara has many. With our fantastic 4 wheel drive vehicles, almost all tracks can be accessed.

The roads are of course not the best but need to be kept natural – it would not be possible nor good for nature to tarmac roads in the National Parks / Reserves.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us ! Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Mara Bush Camp is an amazing place to stay. The luxury tents are so comfortable and the staff are so accommodating. The food is delicious. The whole camp has a magical air to it and from the time one arrives there one feels so welcome and so relaxed. Its a spectacular place and worth every penny for the kind of service that is provided to the guests. My family and I absolutely loved it. It was the best holiday that I have ever had. I would love to go there every holiday if possible.

Room Tip: Tents 11 and 12 face the river and have a really good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Sangita,
thank you for your lovely feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Overall, the Mara Bush Camp is a very good place to stay if you are in the Mara. Close to an airstrip and well situated for good game drives. Staff are friendly, and food is good. The camp manager is very accomodating and attends to any requests you may have. The camp is not fenced at all, but, it is well protected by the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Stephen L. thank you for your feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed the place and we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A beautiful and intimate camp for a magical safari experience. Wonderful and hospitable staff, great food, and charming tents and dining and lounging areas. This is also a great value for a spectacular part of Maasai Mara. I would definitely stay here again - it's the kind of place you really want to come back to. Our safari guide from Sunworld Safaris - the group that runs Mara Bush Camp - was wonderful - extremely knowledgable, professional, and friendly. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sophiaab, many thanks for your feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have stayed at Mara Bush Camp many times and bring clients there every year. I run photo safaris and for photography it is an excellent camp. It is in a great location. The special photo tent with lots of space and plenty of plugs is ideal to recharge batteries, download and work on photos. The food is excellent and the staff are very flexible when it comes to packed breakfasts and lunches allowing you to spend maximum time out in the field taking photos.

The tents are very nice and you can listen to the sounds of Lions roaring and Hyaenas whooping as you fall asleep !! the most comfortable beds in the Mara :)

A great atmosphere and very friendly staff, looking forward to my next stay there..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Bush Camp is a luxury tended camp and discreetly ‘tucked away’ in a riverine forest on the banks of the seasonal Olare Orok River.The Luxury walk-in tents are equipped with large comfortable beds, mosquito nets, clothes rack, carpet and writing desk. The en-suite bathrooms have a flush toilet and hand washbasin. All tents have been placed far from each other to guarantee complete privacy and have a verandah with sun chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.