We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Camp
Save
You added Olumara Camp to your Saves list
| Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of our safari with WT safaris (great safari company btw). It took us a fair amount of time to actually find the lodge, but once we did it was more than worth it. This was our favourite camp from our whole safari. The tents were amazing, the grounds were beautiful and the food was great! It was a small and very quiet camp, which only made it more amazing and you sat out and could here the animals. The Masai Mara itself is awesome and we had an awesome three days here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived at Olumara on January 11, 2013 after spending a few days at the Amboseli Game reserve.

It took us nearly 8 hours to get there!!! A 4x4 vehicle is a MUST have. To get to the lodge and certain areas of the Masai Mara, you need to drive through river banks and mud..... great way to get your heart to skip a beat when your vehicle gets stuck!!! Please ensure that your guide is knowledgable with the area because the signs to the hotel are nearly non-existent!

The lodge is spectactular!! The tented camps are so spacious, well furnished and completely comfortable. The food is delicous and we really enjoyed the amazing service from each staff member.

There are animals all over the place! One of our afternoon game drives turned into a night game drive and on our way back to the lodge, literally right across from the lodge and stream... we came across two leopards in front of our 4x4...... they ran into the trees. It was so exciting! Just knowing that there were so close to us made me a bit nervous, but the staff ensured us that the cats are the ones that are nervous of us!

Would definitely recommed this lodge whether it be for couples or families!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There are other camps and then there is Olumara ! It stands out for its elegance and out of the world location for more than one reason ! Although the approach road is not as well marked as it should be, when one finally reaches there, the warmth of the welcome, the superb accommodation and the quality of the service and cuisine is more than worth the long, tiring drive.
The location is seriously remote, electricity and hot water is twice a day, but hey...its a tented camp, ain't it ! Special compliments to the cook, the tireless Masai guards and the cordial manager ! Can't help feeling that our trip to Kenya would have felt incomplete without a visit to this 'must see' place ! Fellow travelers going there are recommended to book a balloon ride in advance, which will be the cherry on top of this awesome cake ! Five stars !!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room closer to the dining hall !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Olumara was our last stop for our safari, and even that I could not wait to see the Mara river at close, I was nostalgic of the Serengeti. But Olumara it is such a great place, few tents, few people just like I liked, the staff made sure that everything was taking care of, they keep cold beers for us . And lots of hot water for showers. Loved the butternut cream soup. And also at the gift shop I got Masai necklace that fits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This tented camp was reached after a 5 1/2 drive from Nairobi 3 hours of the ride over an unpaved road (which is how everyone who does not fly in gets to Masai Mara). If you go during the dry season you will learn the true meaning of "eat my dust" as you drive along the unpaved dirt road.

Olumara consists of 11 luxury tents set on raised concrete foundations. There are 2-3 beds in each tent. There is a fully functioning shower/toilet/sink in each tent.There is no safe and I don't think you need one. There are nice african decorations acenting the tent and a porch with chairs. Power is by generator and available in the morning and at night until 10:30 (hot water during the same time periods -ask them how they make hot water this far out). They also can solar charge small items during the day.No mosquito nets in the tents and I never saw a mosquito (this was in July) Tips are placed in a group box in the dining tent rather than tipping individuals. Meals are 3 course fixed menu for lunch and dinner (no buffet) and breakfast is cereal/bread/beans/sausage/yogurt/fruit/bread etc. Coffee was via french press.

There is a very small shop with limited items.

This venue provides quaint, homey service from a small casual but attentive staff (hot water bottle in the bed on cold nights, a lantern brought to you if the power goes out, etc). There is a Masai on the staff that uses the moniker "Harrison" that will engage you in any conversation you like about Masai, animals, nature etc. Take the time to speak with him and you will get a different view of the world.

You know you are far out in the wild when you hear lions roaring and hyenas calling at night and see elephant track near the camp when they come by for water from the adjacent river. Birds will wake you up at 6 am with their chatter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We ended an 11 day safari here. The smallest camp we stayed in and most remote. This means electricity only twice a day and hot water once a day. But we didn't mind. The staff was all very helpful. Food was good, surprisingly good for as remote as we were. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The drive to the camp is much better now than it was the last time i was there a few years ago. The swinging bridge was an awesome idea. One of the things I liked was being welcomed to a bush lunch, that was such a reward after the long drive. Apparently, the camp is all surrounded by bush and a river that acts as the fence. We never stopped hearing the birds chirping and the monkeys especially during the bush lunch. There is a way that they served the steak and the pork was exceptionally grilled. I was told that the chef was called David. I also liked Godfrey the camp Manager, he is always with guests. I was very envious of a couple that told us of how earlier in the day during their game drive they had seen a hippo give birth and a leopard with a fresh catch and they were calling it "the experience of life and death". We were at the camp in April and it was not time for migration but the game drives were quite good, our driver told us its because the camp is located near a swamp and its usually the last place to dry up so animals escape to the swamp area. We stayed in a family tent and i had to miss the game drive the following morning (the comfort of the bed lied to me) but i spent the morning talking to the Masai Morans I found at the lounge and they were all so willing to give me lots of Moran stories, I really liked Saning'o, the one who welcomed us. The camp is quite small and with no congestion in the common facilities like the dinning area and lounge.

I will have to plan on a longer safari at this camp.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
20.6 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#75 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#80 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#50 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#57 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olumara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.