We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey tented camp in the wild” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Camp
Save
You added Olumara Camp to your Saves list
| Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Homey tented camp in the wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This tented camp was reached after a 5 1/2 drive from Nairobi 3 hours of the ride over an unpaved road (which is how everyone who does not fly in gets to Masai Mara). If you go during the dry season you will learn the true meaning of "eat my dust" as you drive along the unpaved dirt road.

Olumara consists of 11 luxury tents set on raised concrete foundations. There are 2-3 beds in each tent. There is a fully functioning shower/toilet/sink in each tent.There is no safe and I don't think you need one. There are nice african decorations acenting the tent and a porch with chairs. Power is by generator and available in the morning and at night until 10:30 (hot water during the same time periods -ask them how they make hot water this far out). They also can solar charge small items during the day.No mosquito nets in the tents and I never saw a mosquito (this was in July) Tips are placed in a group box in the dining tent rather than tipping individuals. Meals are 3 course fixed menu for lunch and dinner (no buffet) and breakfast is cereal/bread/beans/sausage/yogurt/fruit/bread etc. Coffee was via french press.

There is a very small shop with limited items.

This venue provides quaint, homey service from a small casual but attentive staff (hot water bottle in the bed on cold nights, a lantern brought to you if the power goes out, etc). There is a Masai on the staff that uses the moniker "Harrison" that will engage you in any conversation you like about Masai, animals, nature etc. Take the time to speak with him and you will get a different view of the world.

You know you are far out in the wild when you hear lions roaring and hyenas calling at night and see elephant track near the camp when they come by for water from the adjacent river. Birds will wake you up at 6 am with their chatter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We ended an 11 day safari here. The smallest camp we stayed in and most remote. This means electricity only twice a day and hot water once a day. But we didn't mind. The staff was all very helpful. Food was good, surprisingly good for as remote as we were. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The drive to the camp is much better now than it was the last time i was there a few years ago. The swinging bridge was an awesome idea. One of the things I liked was being welcomed to a bush lunch, that was such a reward after the long drive. Apparently, the camp is all surrounded by bush and a river that acts as the fence. We never stopped hearing the birds chirping and the monkeys especially during the bush lunch. There is a way that they served the steak and the pork was exceptionally grilled. I was told that the chef was called David. I also liked Godfrey the camp Manager, he is always with guests. I was very envious of a couple that told us of how earlier in the day during their game drive they had seen a hippo give birth and a leopard with a fresh catch and they were calling it "the experience of life and death". We were at the camp in April and it was not time for migration but the game drives were quite good, our driver told us its because the camp is located near a swamp and its usually the last place to dry up so animals escape to the swamp area. We stayed in a family tent and i had to miss the game drive the following morning (the comfort of the bed lied to me) but i spent the morning talking to the Masai Morans I found at the lounge and they were all so willing to give me lots of Moran stories, I really liked Saning'o, the one who welcomed us. The camp is quite small and with no congestion in the common facilities like the dinning area and lounge.

I will have to plan on a longer safari at this camp.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was adventurous trip to this "forgotten" treasure. Beautifull spot with very helpfull staff. Really nice atmosphere with good food and nice wines!
The tents (accomodation) are very spacious, beds are comfortable and the interior is decorated in a fantastic African way. The veranda gives a very nice overview of the surroundings. Uncredible birds to be viewed.
If we would have had more time to spend we would like to have stayed 2 weeks longer!! It's Paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have always had agreat comment every time I sent a client to this camp, so When an I got the opportunity to visit i was very excited.
The journey to the camp was a gamedrive of its own, upon arrival we were given hot towels,
the staff was very welcoming, i loved the bridge across the river to the camp [though I have fear of heights this one was very stable].
Upon nearing the restaurant we were given a refleshing cold juice [good as it was very hot]
we were checked into our rooms and after freshening up we had a bush lunch it was buffet,
The pork was soo salivating! thumbs up to the chef. All the while Mr.Godfrey the manager was checking up on all the guest there.
That day was superb for us as we enjoyed the morans dancing over diner and the bonfire, and tales from a local maasai. geoge had great service and another waiter whom i dont recall his name, but the service was great!
Let talk about my room [rhino] it was the biggest spacious tent I have ever slept in in a while, the bathroom was cute i just had to take a photo before messing everything up.
The following day we had coffee very early and headed for morning gamedrive the maasai guide was great and new where to find what.
I enjoyed my stay in your camp guys and I am sure coming back soonest!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros:
>Tent sizes are larger than most tent camps.
>Fun walking bridge to lodge

Cons:
>Stayed 3 nights. Toilet didn't flush on checking room before safari. Notified staff and not fixed on my return. Told them every day and still never fixed.
>Staff generally unfriendly and not attentive to your needs. I have never stayed in a lodge where you are not greeted by a nice "Jumbo" whenever you see someone. This place they turn their heads.
>Food quality was well below average. No buffet style and only one choice for dinner on a chalkboard. Quality was way below average.
>We had early morning safaris and the kitchen staff was often late so we got late safari starts.
>Only place we stayed that did not have the hot water bottles or mosquito nets.
I am not usually a whiny guy, but you get the picture. There are other lodges that are way better for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This camp should live up to expectations of the' Safari Ideal ' it fails though !
It is remote -- good , it is hard to find and not well positioned -- bad !!

The staff are kind, friendly but poorly led and a little aimless , one morning they all must have slept in because the breakfast was not ready 'till past 7 ish , guests wanted to be out long before . The refridgerator in the restaurant was broken so only cool drinks were available not the long ice cold ones you want after a hot safari.

All in all the impressin was one of willing amateurs trying to get through the day not really sure of what to do to make things work , guys like this deserve better support and the whole ideal would be back on track .

Some one please get a grip of this and get signs done that can be read , not the hand painted mini efforts currently badly placed and above all appreciate what is in place --- it only needs tuning !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
20.6 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#75 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#80 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#50 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olumara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.