We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise feels closer in this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Tented Camp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise feels closer in this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was adventurous trip to this "forgotten" treasure. Beautifull spot with very helpfull staff. Really nice atmosphere with good food and nice wines!
The tents (accomodation) are very spacious, beds are comfortable and the interior is decorated in a fantastic African way. The veranda gives a very nice overview of the surroundings. Uncredible birds to be viewed.
If we would have had more time to spend we would like to have stayed 2 weeks longer!! It's Paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have always had agreat comment every time I sent a client to this camp, so When an I got the opportunity to visit i was very excited.
The journey to the camp was a gamedrive of its own, upon arrival we were given hot towels,
the staff was very welcoming, i loved the bridge across the river to the camp [though I have fear of heights this one was very stable].
Upon nearing the restaurant we were given a refleshing cold juice [good as it was very hot]
we were checked into our rooms and after freshening up we had a bush lunch it was buffet,
The pork was soo salivating! thumbs up to the chef. All the while Mr.Godfrey the manager was checking up on all the guest there.
That day was superb for us as we enjoyed the morans dancing over diner and the bonfire, and tales from a local maasai. geoge had great service and another waiter whom i dont recall his name, but the service was great!
Let talk about my room [rhino] it was the biggest spacious tent I have ever slept in in a while, the bathroom was cute i just had to take a photo before messing everything up.
The following day we had coffee very early and headed for morning gamedrive the maasai guide was great and new where to find what.
I enjoyed my stay in your camp guys and I am sure coming back soonest!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros:
>Tent sizes are larger than most tent camps.
>Fun walking bridge to lodge

Cons:
>Stayed 3 nights. Toilet didn't flush on checking room before safari. Notified staff and not fixed on my return. Told them every day and still never fixed.
>Staff generally unfriendly and not attentive to your needs. I have never stayed in a lodge where you are not greeted by a nice "Jumbo" whenever you see someone. This place they turn their heads.
>Food quality was well below average. No buffet style and only one choice for dinner on a chalkboard. Quality was way below average.
>We had early morning safaris and the kitchen staff was often late so we got late safari starts.
>Only place we stayed that did not have the hot water bottles or mosquito nets.
I am not usually a whiny guy, but you get the picture. There are other lodges that are way better for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This camp should live up to expectations of the' Safari Ideal ' it fails though !
It is remote -- good , it is hard to find and not well positioned -- bad !!

The staff are kind, friendly but poorly led and a little aimless , one morning they all must have slept in because the breakfast was not ready 'till past 7 ish , guests wanted to be out long before . The refridgerator in the restaurant was broken so only cool drinks were available not the long ice cold ones you want after a hot safari.

All in all the impressin was one of willing amateurs trying to get through the day not really sure of what to do to make things work , guys like this deserve better support and the whole ideal would be back on track .

Some one please get a grip of this and get signs done that can be read , not the hand painted mini efforts currently badly placed and above all appreciate what is in place --- it only needs tuning !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The tents are nice and comfortable and compared to the rest of our stay were nicely designed. The hygiene in the kitchen however left much to be desired - from cockroaches running around to a large insect in our dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at Olumara for 1 night whilst on safari which we booked through WT Safaris.
This was our 2nd safari of the holiday, the first was to Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli, but then we decided to also go to the Masai Mara.
he Masai Mara is the best place to see the animals as you are much closer to them than the other parks.
We flew from Diani to an airstrip in the Masai Mara which was an experience in itself! We were collected from the plane by a jeep from the hotel and had a very long game drive including a packed lunch.
When we arrived at Olumara we walked over the wooden bridge to the restaurant area, and was then shown to our tent (Elephant).
It was so cosy and furnished to a high standard. We could have slept forever in the beds they had there! The bathroom was also excellent and nothing like you would expect from a tent.
The restaurant was again so cosy and homely, and the food was amazing.
We absolutely loved this place and cannot reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I flew by Mombasa Air Safari from Malindi to this tranquil spot last month. It was the low season but the temperature was hot by day, cool by night, perfect. It was therefore not busy either at the camp nor on safari drives. There had been rain recently so plenty of grass and wild flowers and a great deal of game, only leopard eluded us. You approach the camp over a hanging footbridge, like a James Bond set, and your every need is catered for. The staff are very attentive and my Masai safari guide, James, was excellent. He speaks excellent English, knows where the best game might be and had endless patience. On my final drive to the airstrip it was just the 2 of us for 2 hours' drive and picnic lunch and we saw a large variety of game, including hippos in a river, close up. A lone traveller, I felt perfectly safe throughout. Being the low season there were few safari vehicles about, which was a big advantage. The camp offer a programme of activities.

Room Tip: All tented rooms offer the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olumara Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Tented Camp

Also Known As:
Olumara Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olumara Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olumara Tented Camp to your Saves list