We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, tranquil spot by the Masai Mara, famous for game, where you will be very well cared for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Tented Camp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Somerset
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful, tranquil spot by the Masai Mara, famous for game, where you will be very well cared for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I flew by Mombasa Air Safari from Malindi to this tranquil spot last month. It was the low season but the temperature was hot by day, cool by night, perfect. It was therefore not busy either at the camp nor on safari drives. There had been rain recently so plenty of grass and wild flowers and a great deal of game, only leopard eluded us. You approach the camp over a hanging footbridge, like a James Bond set, and your every need is catered for. The staff are very attentive and my Masai safari guide, James, was excellent. He speaks excellent English, knows where the best game might be and had endless patience. On my final drive to the airstrip it was just the 2 of us for 2 hours' drive and picnic lunch and we saw a large variety of game, including hippos in a river, close up. A lone traveller, I felt perfectly safe throughout. Being the low season there were few safari vehicles about, which was a big advantage. The camp offer a programme of activities.

Room Tip: All tented rooms offer the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

You must wake up early inorder to catch up with the wild when they are ready to hunt, 6.30 am gamedrive with breakfast in the bush with the hippos and crocs.
Also a late afternoon gamedrive will definately balance what was missed in the morning or take a full day with packed lunch on day two.

Room Tip: Family - DRONGO, Suite -HORNBILL,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakopane, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed in Olu Mara last week for 2 nights (during fly safarin from Mombasa), and all I can say now is that's the perfect place to be accommodated during safari in Maasai Mara. We have booked the trip in Bettyken safari (http://www.bettykensafaris.com/), we can strong reccomend you their services. We we agreed all the details by e-mails before our arrival (so we saved a lot of time during our stay in Kenya indeed), and we got all we were promised!
The Olumara camp is great, the tens are luxiorous but eco-friendly in the same time, we really loved it! And the staff - they were so helpful and cheerful, we wish you all the best guys!
Hope I will come back there one day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at Olumara for two nights as part of a package air safari from Mombasa. Overall it is a beautiful place with the friendliest and most attentive of resort staff. It is small and run on ecologically friendly lines with solar power for the office and kitchen and a generator running only early mornings and in the evenings to power the rest of the resort. It is built in a bend in a river so you are kept safe from wild animals. Maasai tribesmen (askaris) patrol at night time.

The "rooms" each named after an animal (we stayed in Lion and Buffalo) consist of a large tent complete with full shower room, balcony and two queen sized beds. Storage and furniture is built from wood, branches and cut planks with their natural shapes preserved. It is attractive and feels appropriate to life on safari. In addition to comfortable beds equipped with soft duvees and deep, fluffy pillows, there is a small dressing table, coffee table and two arm chairs.

The dining room is airy and pleasant for the meals provided with extremely attentive staff and good quality food. We understand the chef has had 20 years experience. The kitchen is visible from the dining room through a large glass window and looks clean and well-equipped. Cooked breakfasts are plentiful. You can order tea and coffee at no extra charge any time. For early morning starts you can order a wake up drink.

The down side is that we were not satisfied with the game drives. We were there at the same time as a couple from Holland who had booked a game drive for just the two of them. They never got that, despite complaining very strongly. It wasn't our fault, but that put a damper on our experience and that of two young sisters from England who joined us in our second day. We were picked up from the airstrip and had a long, hot game drive. Packed lunch was provided (and it was a very good lunch) but we didn't get to our accommodation until about 4pm and were very hot and tired. The next day we didn't start until about 9am and drove around all day. We were so hot and tired in the middle of the day, having picked up the sisters from the airstrip, that we insisted on a break and were able to rest and have a cool drink at the Mara Intrepids Lodge.

The next day, at our insistence, we went out on an early morning drive starting at about 6.30am and did see some good wildlife. The impression we had was that the lodge was a long way from the airstrip and we seemed to have to drive for a long time before seeing much wildlife.

The vehicle, whilst adequate, was rather old and beat up. One of the passenger doors didn't open, not all the windows could be opened, and there was no apparent radio in case of emergency or information communication. We were entirely dependent on our driver's two mobile phones. He said he had 8 year's experience, but was evasive when I asked if he had at least a bronze KATO qualification. He was friendly enough and spoke reasonable English, but unlike some of the guides from other camps that we saw, didn't wear a safari uniform and didn't seem all that professional. Although we never came to harm, we did have one or two hairy moments driving on rough terrain. We never felt in danger from any wild animals, though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olumara, General Manager at Olumara Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
olumara has of late bought two cruisers after the dramas we had with the old ones and have also recruited new guides to add spices to our new fleet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olumara Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Tented Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Olumara Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olumara Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olumara Tented Camp to your Saves list