We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent tented camp... could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sentrim Mara
Save
You added Sentrim Mara to your Saves list
Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Decent tented camp... could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our 6-night safari, and of the three tented camps we stayed at, this was our least favourite one.

The tent was very basic, but spacious. There were no electrical outlets in the tents, so we had to leave our battery chargers and phones with reception overnight to charge - a minor inconvenience. There is no WiFi anywhere and the lights go out from 10pm to 5am so make sure you have a flashlight if you need to go to the washroom in the middle of the night!

We had a problem with the light in our bathroom and it didn't get fixed until our 2nd night, so we spent most of our stay showering in the dark with our flashlights. The tents are down a hill along a stony path, and at times it felt like a lot of walking back and forth to the main reception/dining area. While we were there, it looked like they were either renovating or building more permanent bungalow rooms, so these might be better accommodations than the tents.

Dining was probably the only highlight, offering a delicious variety of selections (fresh roti & pizzas!) and amazing service from the waitstaff. One night there was a Maasai dance during dinner and it was interactive and fun as they moved around to each table of guests.

We had no expectations going in, so we thought our stay was pretty decent. It's not until we reflected back on our entire safari and compared it to other similar tented camps that we realized Sentrim Mara was only okay.

Room Tip: Tents 1 & 2 are closest to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mara Sentrim Lodge for 3 nights while on safari with a organized tour group.

This isn't a five-star lodge but the property is nicely laid out and in the wild. The rooms are permanent tents but large and basic. Security guards escorted you to and from your room. They were always prompt, nice and engaging. Our tour of 16 people always felt safe.

In order to get to the lodge, one needs to drive through rough, bumpy roads and also through a Maasai village. I think this makes the lodge experience very authentic and a nice introduction to the Masai Mara.

The food was great! Everyday we were served lunch and dinner. Buffet style, the variety of foods amazed our group.

The staff was wonderful and always friendly. I think it was great that the tour leaders and staff ate in the restaurant with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of our 7 nights safari trip around Kenya and was very very disappointing. Basic rooms, seemed like there was no management which showed at every step. While one could live with the poor food, uninspiring rooms and many little things that did not work, the place does not have electric supply to the rooms for most of the day and night! Electricty is switched on at 6pm and stays till 10 pm and again comes on for just an hour from 5 am to 6 am in the morning. So just when you are getting showered and ready for your safari in the morning, there are no lights and one has to grope arund in the dark and wait for it to get a little brighter outside! And God forbid if you need to get up at night to use the washroom, as there is no lamp, torch or even a candle provided in the room! When i complained at reception the first morninng, they pretended that there must be a fault in our room and would have it looked at, and of course nothing happened. I found out from other staff and guests later that this was switched off as standard practice though they claimed that it was switched on in the morning from 5 am to 7.30 am. Needless to say, next morning it was off like clockwork at 6 am again. The packed lunch provided was barely edible and another major negative is that it is miles away from all the wildlife action.It is a good 30- 45 minutes drive through bad roads before one can see even a monkey! All thats around are some Masaai villages and only animals one sees before getting to the plains are endless herds of cows ! I would probably have been ok with the place if i had paid for a budget trip, but considering we are on a deluxe package, this place did not match up to any acceptable standard and was nothing like the nice places we had stayed elsewhere during our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

On a round trip through Kenya and Tanzania we stayed two nights in this lodge from June 12th until 14th. First of all, we as two woman travelling felt very safe in this lodge and were overwhelmed by the friendlyness and helpfullness of the staff. The food was phantastic, a big variety to choose from and very tasty - no stomack problems.
The tents were built on concrete and very spacious and confortable, after sunset we were always escorted to the tent.... A wonderful place to be if you stay in the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is fine but the local villagers/ drivers / guides have meals with tourists at the same restraunt . The place is safe but the last night we stayed the villagers killed an elephant near our fence and the whole night there were hyenas and lions near the rooms shouting and we could not sleep

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai, uae
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The word "Masai Mara' have been and always will be chanting in my mind. This hotel is very close to the gate. The reception was warm, and they greeted us with dancing and singing. I went with my family. It was a real feeling of jungle here. The cottages are good, with spacious rooms and sizable bathrooms. The hotel has swimming pool, and my son like to swim. The staff there is very polite, they are very friendly. There was a Masai folk dance also during dinner time. He prepared special dishes according to our needs, and that was very nice. On our full day game drive, they provided a packed lunch for us, which was very delicious. On the last day, we were the only family staying there, so the chef served us in the room. Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the reception would be better, since one has to go for meals to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The word "Masai Mara' have been always a magical and electrifying for me. So, when I entered the gates of Masai Mara through "Sekenani" gate, I was thrilled. And, this hotel is very nearby to the gate, say 2 miles or so. The reception was warm, and they greeted us with dancing and singing. The hotel is very spacious, and there are cottages spread over the hotel. You can have a real feeling of jungle here. There is no TV and internet, and I think at a place like Masai Mara, you hardly need it. The cottages are good, with spacious rooms and sizable bathrooms. What needs to be addressed is linen in rooms and bathrooms, it needs to be little cleaner. The hotel has swimming pool, and a bar too. The staff there is very polite, some Masai people are employed there. There was a Masai folk dance also during dinner time. A gentleman named Stanley is an attendant in restaurant and he is a very nice person. The Chef used to come out during meals and asked us about our needs. He prepared special dishes according to our needs, and that was very nice. On our full day game drive, they provided a packed lunch to us, which was very delicious. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara

Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Game Lodge is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings and where acacia trees whistle through the night. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, Jacuzzi and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Maasai Mara is 260 km from Nairobi and takes 4 1/2 hours drive by road and 40 minutes by air. Transfer from the airstrip to the camp takes 20 minutes. The Masai Mara climate is mainly humid, with temperatures averaging 26°C during the day and 12°C at night. Long rains are anticipated from mid April to May and the short rains from November to early December. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.