We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to Shake off a rough Safari Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Save
You added Masai Mara Manyatta Camp to your Saves list
Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to Shake off a rough Safari Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We Spent there only one night because it was full on our day of arrival. Nice rooms and a lot of free space in the camp. Nice seating area at the reception with free coffee and tea, perfect for an afternoon chat before dinner. Close to the Park entrance and on a walking distance to the masai village.
The best thing was the food. Delicious dinner and mouth watering fruit buffet.

Beds were comfortable. Mosquito nets were uneffective though.
Warm water was available, it was a pleasing surprise.

Room Tip: Zipra Room was cool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were there last week end. I have been to almost all the hotels in Masai Mara & this is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. The food was very bad. No water in Toilet & bathroom. When I informed the receptionist, they casually told us that the pipe could have broken. Before end of the day, it will be sorted out. That was early morning at 6. We had to use mineral water for everything, through out our stay. In the night, one group of young kids were drinking & making so much noise screaming with vulgar words. The management seemed to have take it so easy. Could not sleep even for 30 minutes. I would not recommend anyone. We used Bonfire Adventures who booked this camp & their service was worse than this camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Manyatta Camp as part of a tour with Safe Ride tours. The rooms were a good size, bed was small and the shower was good.

I got a few small rocks in the first meal I ate, all other meals after that were fine but a bit repetitive. Dinners were at or after 8pm which is not ideal when you are getting up at 4am the next day for a hot air balloon ride.

Other guests were noisy till 3am one night which was annoying but not nessesarily the camps fault. Overall they were adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night here in October 2012, arriving after a 4 hour afternoon safari and getting up early for a sunrise safari! Travelled with Saferide who partner the camp, saw incredible amount of wildlife inside the park, minutes away. The camp was a little basic, but all tents were clean, sturdy and had very comfortable beds with the vital mosquito nets. Toilets and showers in all tentswere a welcome treat. The food served wasn't exactly gourmet, but to sit by a fire circle with a drink, chatting to Maasai people and watching the sunset on the plains of the Maasai Mara was utterly incredible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

İt s not worth for the prices. Breakfast very poor. No electricity between the hours 10.30 pm and 05.30 am. Bathrooms are so dirty in a tent. There is no enough staff. Leopar very rarely seemed in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for two nights and found the hotel bery nice and good value for the money. The food quality was good (particularly for vegetarians). The service was more than satisfactory. The power used to be put off between around 12.00 am and 5.00 pm was ok. however the fan was working during the night. They provided the torch for emergency. A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This camp is VERY comfortable and on the edge of wild. You can hear the elephants walking and trumpeting nearby.

Each tent is protected beneath a thatched hut and in each tent there are 2 cots for your own comfort.

The restaurant/bar/gathering area is perfect for just that.

And the fire pit with warriors keeping watch is a great place to spend time while watching the moon rise over the silhouette of the nearby hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Mara Manyatta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.