We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for the Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for the Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for two nights and found the hotel bery nice and good value for the money. The food quality was good (particularly for vegetarians). The service was more than satisfactory. The power used to be put off between around 12.00 am and 5.00 pm was ok. however the fan was working during the night. They provided the torch for emergency. A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This camp is VERY comfortable and on the edge of wild. You can hear the elephants walking and trumpeting nearby.

Each tent is protected beneath a thatched hut and in each tent there are 2 cots for your own comfort.

The restaurant/bar/gathering area is perfect for just that.

And the fire pit with warriors keeping watch is a great place to spend time while watching the moon rise over the silhouette of the nearby hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

basic, but you will be out most of the time in a safari anyway (the park in just marvellous). The place is next to a Masai village if you want to get a taste of real life of this tribe.
Food was good, love the way they warm up the water for shower.Staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is cheap accommodation but represents excellent value for money. The eating area is spacious and food is plentiful. The bar is well stocked but a little rpicey. The lodges are clean and functional and the bathroom is basic but that all adds to the excitement of safari! Electricity comes on from 5pm onwards along with the hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stay here in September 2012 while on a Maasi Mara Safari. I was searching for basic accommodation, just a place to sleep and eat. That is exact what I found.

Rooms were tent cabins. Rooms were clean, just a double bed and a single bed, each with mosquito netting. No other furniture. Water from sink was almost non existent, but the showers were fine. Power came on at 5:30 am. We had electricity in the evening until 10 pm. No flashlights in the rooms, so bring your own.

Only about 6 guests here when I stayed.

Dining area was large and a good supply of drinks. However, it was not clean. During breakfast I noticed old food scraps on the table left over from the night before.

Food very, very basic, but edible. Only a couple of selections offered at each meal. Cabbage and potatoes served at every meal except breakfast. Beef at dinner very tough.

Staff was helpful. Breakfast was usually served at 7 AM, but since I planned an early safari, they served early at 5:45 AM

Location was great, only 5 minutes from the Maasi Mara Reserve Ololaimutia Gate. This area has much more wildlife then the area near Main Gate (Sekenani).

For a no frills stay, this place was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

2 of us stayed here 3 nights in August 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The tent was clean and large enough for the 2 of us. There was electricity/ lights 6 – 7 a.m. and 7 – 10 p.m. I had hot water for each shower but my son never did. It’s not dependable, but we didn’t expect it nor did we care.

The food was good. 1 of us is a vegetarian and the other a big meat eater. We both ate well.

The Maasai men guarding the camp are very nice and interesting to talk with.

This is an excellent value and fun.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

very basic bungalows, trist location, no infrastructure, main building consist of one open area, food very basic as well (though good).
highlight: lions at night roaring directly behind our bungalow (had hunted a gnu)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Mara Manyatta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Masai Mara Manyatta Camp to your Saves list