We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very Basic, but the Price makes it a Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very, Very Basic, but the Price makes it a Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stay here in September 2012 while on a Maasi Mara Safari. I was searching for basic accommodation, just a place to sleep and eat. That is exact what I found.

Rooms were tent cabins. Rooms were clean, just a double bed and a single bed, each with mosquito netting. No other furniture. Water from sink was almost non existent, but the showers were fine. Power came on at 5:30 am. We had electricity in the evening until 10 pm. No flashlights in the rooms, so bring your own.

Only about 6 guests here when I stayed.

Dining area was large and a good supply of drinks. However, it was not clean. During breakfast I noticed old food scraps on the table left over from the night before.

Food very, very basic, but edible. Only a couple of selections offered at each meal. Cabbage and potatoes served at every meal except breakfast. Beef at dinner very tough.

Staff was helpful. Breakfast was usually served at 7 AM, but since I planned an early safari, they served early at 5:45 AM

Location was great, only 5 minutes from the Maasi Mara Reserve Ololaimutia Gate. This area has much more wildlife then the area near Main Gate (Sekenani).

For a no frills stay, this place was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

2 of us stayed here 3 nights in August 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The tent was clean and large enough for the 2 of us. There was electricity/ lights 6 – 7 a.m. and 7 – 10 p.m. I had hot water for each shower but my son never did. It’s not dependable, but we didn’t expect it nor did we care.

The food was good. 1 of us is a vegetarian and the other a big meat eater. We both ate well.

The Maasai men guarding the camp are very nice and interesting to talk with.

This is an excellent value and fun.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

very basic bungalows, trist location, no infrastructure, main building consist of one open area, food very basic as well (though good).
highlight: lions at night roaring directly behind our bungalow (had hunted a gnu)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012, the rainy season and our tent zip was broken so sodden floor for 3 days ! Very nice camp layout, nice sized tents with shower (which was hot) so this was good, but this place needs some more work to make it really good, food ran out from the buffet and they need to be more on the ball with this. The red wine was excellent at the bar and cheap at 200 shillings....I was thrilled I could buy a decent wine and look at the spectacular view of the Mara, they have built an excellent restaurant area but it could be brill if they dressed it with lamps, candles and some softer furnishings, this camp is located very near the main gate and staff were freindly but reserved. I would recommend for a budget option and the beds were comfy so cannot fault location and they just need a bit more development and it would be great.....but they need to make more food per sitting aswell, meat dishes were a nice touch after weeks of Ugali when I was volunteering !!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Myself and two children shared a three bed here in August 2011, they were finishing building a very big restaurant with a lovely veranda from where you can see across the mara and the herds in the distance. Still problems with hot water, but the host was extremely helpful,by reading the previous reviews, this camp has undergone a major refurbishment and I would have no hesitation in going back. Food was buffet style and plenty of it and a good variety, adn we are fussy eaters! Overall experience, was very good,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We joined Safe Ride Tours & Safaris Ltd which suggest us to stay in masai mara manyatta camp for 3 nights. We had very cold shower for frist 2 nights and some of my friends had no water during having shower. The restaurant is too small that not enough of seats for all guests. Most facilites in the camp were torn that need to be replaced e.g. mattress, blanket, linen, plastic seats, socket, toilet sink...We think we had paid too much for the tour which is not worth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Me and my husband spent 3 nights at this camp and overall we are satisfied. Tents are simple: there are the beds only but at least each tent has its bathroom and if the power generator is working you may even enjoy a warm shower.
The camp is located just outside the masai Mara gate so only a short
drive is needed to reach the Park.
The food was simple but good and the price of the drinks were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Mara Manyatta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Masai Mara Manyatta Camp to your Saves list