We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally updated!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Save Saved
You added Masai Mara Manyatta Camp to your Saves list
Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“totally updated!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Myself and two children shared a three bed here in August 2011, they were finishing building a very big restaurant with a lovely veranda from where you can see across the mara and the herds in the distance. Still problems with hot water, but the host was extremely helpful,by reading the previous reviews, this camp has undergone a major refurbishment and I would have no hesitation in going back. Food was buffet style and plenty of it and a good variety, adn we are fussy eaters! Overall experience, was very good,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We joined Safe Ride Tours & Safaris Ltd which suggest us to stay in masai mara manyatta camp for 3 nights. We had very cold shower for frist 2 nights and some of my friends had no water during having shower. The restaurant is too small that not enough of seats for all guests. Most facilites in the camp were torn that need to be replaced e.g. mattress, blanket, linen, plastic seats, socket, toilet sink...We think we had paid too much for the tour which is not worth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Me and my husband spent 3 nights at this camp and overall we are satisfied. Tents are simple: there are the beds only but at least each tent has its bathroom and if the power generator is working you may even enjoy a warm shower.
The camp is located just outside the masai Mara gate so only a short
drive is needed to reach the Park.
The food was simple but good and the price of the drinks were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just outside one of the Mara Gates the camp is in a prime location although you have to drive through the village which is strewn with litter. (Shame the occupants couldn't make an effort with the help of the Camp and Sopa Lodge next door to clean it up). The tents are of ample size, but need TLC. The first tent we were offered had a broken zip on the door, and if you washed your hands in the sink your feet got wet because the plumbing wasn't up to scratch. Got moved to second tent who's zips worked but loo flooded and had to ask for 2 days for light bulb and loo repairs (didn't happen). Generator didn't work first night which was annoying but not as annoying as when it worked the second and was put on at 5am and was incredibly noisy! Could have done with a second blanket too as it got quite chilly in the night. Loos don't have seats, but at least they're not long drops. There was no water the first morning there so loos couldn't flush, but they did have water on day 2. They forgot to light the fires for hot showers on day 2 until prompted and then the showers were ready at the same time as supper, so it was a dilhema which to go for!

Food was quite good considering the kitchen facilities and the cook managed to dish up for 36 both nights a fairlly edible spag bol and beef casserole. Better than some of the rip off lodges in that respect. Got offered no water on first day as they had run out, but luckily had brought plenty with us. Bar also ran out and had to be restocked during second evening after complaints that we would like to have something to drink. One sprite and 4 cokes available for 36? Not much forethought!

Saying all this, it is cheap and it's high season in the Mara, so as long as you are prepared for roughing it, it's one up from wilderness camping and having to bring all the kit yourselves! I would recommend it, but with provisos!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

It was a good adventure there with my family after my buisness meeting there

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Mara Manyatta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.