We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, fun and very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, fun and very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The camp sets the atmosphere for Safari! The staff is fun and very helpful. Things are clean and organized. The rooms are big with good beds, showers take long to get warm but when they do is really good! The electricity is limited, but it makes you disconnect a bit of the world, which is good when you are on vacation.Food is very good and it's fun to talk to the masai people around the fire! Definitely recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

"Enchoro Wildlife Camp is just 5 minutes drive from the Oloolaimutia gate where its believed that you get to see the big five"

I must say this was a lifetime experience. I didn't expect to find the tents to be as comfortable as it was. It has always been in my mind that camps are ragged places where you bathe with cold water and carry your own sleeping bags. It has all the bedding very comfortable with flash toilets and hot and cold showers. I would recommend anybody traveling to Masai Mara to stay at Enchoro Wildlife Camp. Masai villages are also at your disposal where you can visit the Masais to be entertained and experience their culture.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselyne873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Masai Mara during 1st week of August and came to know about Enchoro through a website. Sharing my overall experience with you.
Bookings:
Booking for Enchoro can be done either online or at their office. As I was staying in Nairobi that time, so I visited their office to inquire details. Staff was courteous and friendly. We were asked that van will come to pick us up from our hotel.
Journey:
I went in a group of 7 people. Van came to pick us up from our hotel and we started at 7:45 am from Nairobi. Its close to 6 hours journey from Nairobi to Masai Mara. Our driver was good and was driving well.During the journey, you can find some beautiful landscapes. 80% of the journey has smooth road but last 20% of the journey before reaching Mara isn't good at all. Finally we reached the camp at Mara at around 2:15 pm in the afternoon.
Camp:
Camp is pretty OK. (After all it a camp :) ) Staff greeted us at the gate. There was some confusion related to allotment of room as they were over-booked. So, we had to wait for sometime. Finally we got our tents. Tent had 2 beds and attached toilet. Mosquito nets were also provided.
Food & Refreshments:
One of the major drawbacks in my opinion is they have fixed time to serve tea/coffee or refreshments (food I can understand, but not even drinks !! ). After 6 hours of journey we were really tired and needed a hot cup of tea. Manager told us that we will get FREE tea after dinner. I told him I'm not going to till that time to get a cup of tea; I was ready to pay but in vein. So be prepared for this.
Also, for vegetarian there were only 1-2 options. So, carry some light snacks with you.
THE MARA:
We were there for 2 nights and 3 days. And really nothing can beat Mara. We saw the great wilder beast migration and was really amazing. We saw the sun rise there which was really breathtaking :) No wonder people often refer Masai Mara as 8th wonder of the world !!
Pros:
Near to one of the Mara entrance gates. So saves time to into Mara early in the morning. Masai Village is close by.
Cons:
Lack of refreshments is what I did not liked.

Rest, happy journey to Mara. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnshulV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was good value for money even though the food was very average and there was a rush to charge phones and cameras when the power was turned on in the evenings . The tents, especially the beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful but there were issues with a non functional flush and leaky tap and since there was no one capable of attending to those ( a simple repair) we had to use the toilet in the adjoining tent which was unoccupied. We enjoyed a wonderful safari at the Masai Mara complete with sightings of the big five. A special mention of Tom, our efficient and endearing driver who made all the difference. We visited the nearby Masai Village which was a good experience but wish someone had warned us beforehand about getting fleeced by the Masai guide!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamwiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a lifetime memorable trip with my friends. We have done evening safari on the day we reached there. Next day we did full day safari, saw all Big Five and then has a wonderful dinner.
The tent has western style toilet and very good mosquito net. There was warm water shower, which was needed for morning bath, as temperature was low in morning.
The Chef has prepared special food for us, as we are used to eat spicy and well cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vineetsaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great overall experience! We were very happy with everything, if you are looking for a budget-friendly safari, this is it. Nothing special for the food and accomodation but very helpful and nice people. Our special thanks to Kennedy our faithful driver. We would recommend this for anyone with an adventurous mind! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaRunonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I and a Spanish family of three hand a kid where in Enchoro for 3 nights, as we drove from Nairobi we were expecting to rich masai mara reserve and camp outside the park.. to our suprise it turned out that even for our budget we had tent Chalets with beds and showers!
Its just 5 minutes drive to Olooimotia gate where the best game circuits to see the Cheetahs, secretary bird nests is near.. every team has there own chef and our chef was doing really well,
they haven't tempered with nature around, its also closer to the masai village as that can make your day complete after the full day game drive!
At the camp there is a knowledgeable Masai member of staff, Jonathan, very helpful with his friends Busia..
i would really recommend a stay here if you cant afford the inside lodges of the reserve..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamalandsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
111.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#9 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
131.9 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#96 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
111.3 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
119.7 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#83 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#114 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget accommodation value for your stay in a tent at the Masai Mara under Canvas in the African Sky. Enchoro Wildlife Camp in Masai Mara gives you the real comforts of camping experience just like a home. It has 25 large permanent tented camps that are well furnished with facilities like writing table, foldable safari chairs, lockers, magazines all ensuite with flash toilets and running hot and cold water all day. Rooms are single, double / twin, triple and a four beds tent that offer camping with a bit more comfort. They are ideal for those who enjoy the camping experience but don't have the time or energy to set up and pull down a traditional tent. Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing