We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, fun and very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rate From USD 50
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cosy, fun and very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The camp sets the atmosphere for Safari! The staff is fun and very helpful. Things are clean and organized. The rooms are big with good beds, showers take long to get warm but when they do is really good! The electricity is limited, but it makes you disconnect a bit of the world, which is good when you are on vacation.Food is very good and it's fun to talk to the masai people around the fire! Definitely recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
13
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

"Enchoro Wildlife Camp is just 5 minutes drive from the Oloolaimutia gate where its believed that you get to see the big five"

I must say this was a lifetime experience. I didn't expect to find the tents to be as comfortable as it was. It has always been in my mind that camps are ragged places where you bathe with cold water and carry your own sleeping bags. It has all the bedding very comfortable with flash toilets and hot and cold showers. I would recommend anybody traveling to Masai Mara to stay at Enchoro Wildlife Camp. Masai villages are also at your disposal where you can visit the Masais to be entertained and experience their culture.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Masai Mara during 1st week of August and came to know about Enchoro through a website. Sharing my overall experience with you.
Bookings:
Booking for Enchoro can be done either online or at their office. As I was staying in Nairobi that time, so I visited their office to inquire details. Staff was courteous and friendly. We were asked that van will come to pick us up from our hotel.
Journey:
I went in a group of 7 people. Van came to pick us up from our hotel and we started at 7:45 am from Nairobi. Its close to 6 hours journey from Nairobi to Masai Mara. Our driver was good and was driving well.During the journey, you can find some beautiful landscapes. 80% of the journey has smooth road but last 20% of the journey before reaching Mara isn't good at all. Finally we reached the camp at Mara at around 2:15 pm in the afternoon.
Camp:
Camp is pretty OK. (After all it a camp :) ) Staff greeted us at the gate. There was some confusion related to allotment of room as they were over-booked. So, we had to wait for sometime. Finally we got our tents. Tent had 2 beds and attached toilet. Mosquito nets were also provided.
Food & Refreshments:
One of the major drawbacks in my opinion is they have fixed time to serve tea/coffee or refreshments (food I can understand, but not even drinks !! ). After 6 hours of journey we were really tired and needed a hot cup of tea. Manager told us that we will get FREE tea after dinner. I told him I'm not going to till that time to get a cup of tea; I was ready to pay but in vein. So be prepared for this.
Also, for vegetarian there were only 1-2 options. So, carry some light snacks with you.
THE MARA:
We were there for 2 nights and 3 days. And really nothing can beat Mara. We saw the great wilder beast migration and was really amazing. We saw the sun rise there which was really breathtaking :) No wonder people often refer Masai Mara as 8th wonder of the world !!
Pros:
Near to one of the Mara entrance gates. So saves time to into Mara early in the morning. Masai Village is close by.
Cons:
Lack of refreshments is what I did not liked.

Rest, happy journey to Mara. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel was good value for money even though the food was very average and there was a rush to charge phones and cameras when the power was turned on in the evenings . The tents, especially the beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful but there were issues with a non functional flush and leaky tap and since there was no one capable of attending to those ( a simple repair) we had to use the toilet in the adjoining tent which was unoccupied. We enjoyed a wonderful safari at the Masai Mara complete with sightings of the big five. A special mention of Tom, our efficient and endearing driver who made all the difference. We visited the nearby Masai Village which was a good experience but wish someone had warned us beforehand about getting fleeced by the Masai guide!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a lifetime memorable trip with my friends. We have done evening safari on the day we reached there. Next day we did full day safari, saw all Big Five and then has a wonderful dinner.
The tent has western style toilet and very good mosquito net. There was warm water shower, which was needed for morning bath, as temperature was low in morning.
The Chef has prepared special food for us, as we are used to eat spicy and well cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great overall experience! We were very happy with everything, if you are looking for a budget-friendly safari, this is it. Nothing special for the food and accomodation but very helpful and nice people. Our special thanks to Kennedy our faithful driver. We would recommend this for anyone with an adventurous mind! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I and a Spanish family of three hand a kid where in Enchoro for 3 nights, as we drove from Nairobi we were expecting to rich masai mara reserve and camp outside the park.. to our suprise it turned out that even for our budget we had tent Chalets with beds and showers!
Its just 5 minutes drive to Olooimotia gate where the best game circuits to see the Cheetahs, secretary bird nests is near.. every team has there own chef and our chef was doing really well,
they haven't tempered with nature around, its also closer to the masai village as that can make your day complete after the full day game drive!
At the camp there is a knowledgeable Masai member of staff, Jonathan, very helpful with his friends Busia..
i would really recommend a stay here if you cant afford the inside lodges of the reserve..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.