We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beside the oloolaimutia gate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rate From USD 50
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just beside the oloolaimutia gate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a lifetime memorable trip with my friends. We have done evening safari on the day we reached there. Next day we did full day safari, saw all Big Five and then has a wonderful dinner.
The tent has western style toilet and very good mosquito net. There was warm water shower, which was needed for morning bath, as temperature was low in morning.
The Chef has prepared special food for us, as we are used to eat spicy and well cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great overall experience! We were very happy with everything, if you are looking for a budget-friendly safari, this is it. Nothing special for the food and accomodation but very helpful and nice people. Our special thanks to Kennedy our faithful driver. We would recommend this for anyone with an adventurous mind! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I and a Spanish family of three hand a kid where in Enchoro for 3 nights, as we drove from Nairobi we were expecting to rich masai mara reserve and camp outside the park.. to our suprise it turned out that even for our budget we had tent Chalets with beds and showers!
Its just 5 minutes drive to Olooimotia gate where the best game circuits to see the Cheetahs, secretary bird nests is near.. every team has there own chef and our chef was doing really well,
they haven't tempered with nature around, its also closer to the masai village as that can make your day complete after the full day game drive!
At the camp there is a knowledgeable Masai member of staff, Jonathan, very helpful with his friends Busia..
i would really recommend a stay here if you cant afford the inside lodges of the reserve..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had a great experience and very happy that chosen this agency. The following three things were particilarly good:

1. Kennedy was a great driver and guide. He was very professional, knowledgeable, open and service-minded. He was careful and caring as a driver. He did his best to find animals and feel us safe and entertained. I would highly recommend him for next safari.

2. Maasai village experience was fantastic. My trip wouldn't be complete without meeting Maasai people, visiting their village and having dance with them. Moses was very helpful, open and told a lot about Maasai culture and traditions. I would also recommend visiting the village as a part of safari experience
3. When we went to Nakuru we stayed at City Max hotel, it had a good food and friendly staff

There is still a room for improvement for food in Enchoro camp. It didn't taste so much. I was also little dissapointed by the act that there were only few flamingo in Nakuru. I wish I knew when I booked that this is not the best season for flamingos. All other things were really great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Three of us went to Masai Mara National Reserve in Kenya recently. A friend recommended that I contact Albert Ouko Janeno of Enchoro Wildlife Camp for budget accommodation. Albert was quick to respond and it was a smooth process to book. He even accommodated our request to pay in Nairobi before departure as we were unable to make a wire transfer while booking. The camp itself is really good - basic but good. The staff is excellent. One of my friends is vegetarian and the chef ensured that she got a lot of vegetarian food to eat - amazingly thoughtful. We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy. Please remember that there is electricity in the camp only from 5.30 - 7.30 am and then from 6 - 10 pm (when you can charge your cameras and phones). This is sufficient time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My friend and I went on our Safari with the Enchoro Wildlife Camp and it was really excellent value. All the staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. The accommodation was comfortable and completely fine for the 2 night trip. We really enjoyed ourselves and had so much fun. Our driver Tom was a very safe and sensible driver and incredibly knowledgable about the wildlife in the Mara. Having been on other trips to the Mara, this really was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in the poring rain @ 6pm tied and hungry only to be told they had NO booking for our group of 15. Luckily our tour leader had all the emails of booking ,payment and confirmation . They had over booked. After over on hour of arguing he found a few tents, couples where crammed into these and some sent to a sister camp which was disgusting . Everyone was moved back to the original camp for the next two nights. The manager is unbelievable, he couldn't care less about costumer service , when compensation was discussed he didn't want to know. His comment was , we were open last week and we will be open next week, doesn't matter how many write bad reviews.
We had no hot water for 2 days and the toilet didn't flush. Enchoro wildlife camp is very basic ,but you are in Africa
The staff are very helpful and the location is great. But is it worth it ? Up to you but be warned

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.