We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average Facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Save Saved
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Below Average Facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff were friendly. We felt safe. The food was extremely average. The facilities were poor. And the entire camp was rundown and ill-maintained. The bed dipped in the middle. The mattresses and pillows were rigid and unforgiving. The tent-room dark and dank and unwelcoming. The shower leaked gallons of filthy water all into the bedroom and into the toilet stall (and likely had been doing so for months or years.) It was impossible to keep your feet dry inside the tent. The toilet was open-air inside the tent, unhealthy, uncomfortable, and lacking any modicum of privacy. Electricity is only on for a few hours per day. The lights inside the tent did not provide much light. The exterior light on our tent was not working, and the staff said it never worked. Only electrical outlets in the dining facility that everyone fights over. If you are travelling on a shoestring budget, then you can save some money. But if you want any electricity, internet, cell phone service, or level of sanitation; look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
12
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The manager of this camp is not to be trusted. We were a large group who had booked a year in advance and paid in full 2 months prior to arrival. The manager had clearly double booked the rooms and pretended he did not know about our booking. As the discussion progressed he changed his tune. So be warned! The staff at the camp/hotel were excellent and the accommodation after the first night was about what we were expecting. What a shame the local Masai people are not running the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Enchoro Wildlife Camp is a beautiful camp, with very friendly staff and luxury tents with a toilet and shower! There is electricity for a few hours a day, though I recommend getting in there early, as sockets fill up quickly! It has a nice atmosphere and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Firstly the staff at Enchoro Wildlife Camp was amazing and extremely helpful. My fellow travelers and I were living in Uganda at the time of our safari and came to Kenya for a week to have a safari and sight see. We booked the 3-day weekend group rate, which included 3 people for a price of $385 each (which is an AMAZING price for a weekend in the Mara; we know people who paid the same amount for safaris in Uganda at much less famous and vast locations). One of our friends became very ill last minute and had to be transfered to the Nairobi hospital for treatment. Upon hearing our situation, they allowed us to keep our group rate for booking despite not having enough people as well as drove us to Aga Khan on arrival to Nairobi to see our friend. SO KIND AND SO APPRECIATED BY US.

The staff was really sweet in making sure that we were cared for during our stay but to be honest, we spent little time in the camp and were in the park pretty much from its opening to its closing for our trip. If you get an choice in drivers, TOM IS YOUR GUY. He has amazing experience in the Mara and we able to answer our entire car's questions. He always made sure that when someone on the radio reported a spotting that we had excellent placement to see the animals. Because of his determination, we were able to see the Big 5 in our weekend trip including the cheetah and the rhino (which Tom has told us he's only been able to see 3 times in his 15 years in the park). He was also very contentious of making sure that there was space and respect given to each of the animals in viewing that many of the other guides and drivers clearly did not have the same respect for.

Great budget accommodations, delicious food, and dedicated staff - couldn't have asked for a better safari experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock north nz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at 6 pm at night with 15 of us to find the camp had double booked us and had no accomodation for us. We had even paid before arrival and emailled prior to leaving to confirm.they were not helpful in finding further accomodation and we all ended up squashing into three units .The accomodation was shabby, dirty and not good.
The manger was awful and we would never recommend this place to stay.but the staff in the restaurant were wonderful.good food and very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.you cannot trust management
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed as a group of 15, booked and fully paid several months ahead with multiple re confirmations. On arrival at6.30pm the manager denied knowing about our booking and had booked out our tents to a party wanting to stay longer. It took an hour of arguing before he agreed we had a valid booking, tried to make us go to an inferior camp and pay again and finally crammed us in 4 to a tent when we had paid for 2 to a tent. En suite toilets with saloon doors are not much fun in a group!! Next day we were finally given proper tents. Other staff were excellent and our stay was good, but we felt manipulated and pressurised in a situation where there was absolutely no where else to go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was the cheapest organised tour for the 3 day Masai Mara trip that I could find. besides the whinging American lady in my group it was as i expected - power only available at certain times, the sound of animals in the night and not quite cold beer, but it was a nice change from Nairobi and was exactly what you would expect at the lower end of the budget (still expensive though thanks to the park fees!) but I had a great time and would recommend it!! Rooms were permanent safari tents with their own bathroom (besides being able to hear the other person pee!) it was totally fine. Watch out for the monkey with the blue balls who steals the sauce off the table haha.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.