We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rate From USD 50
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be warned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The manager of this camp is not to be trusted. We were a large group who had booked a year in advance and paid in full 2 months prior to arrival. The manager had clearly double booked the rooms and pretended he did not know about our booking. As the discussion progressed he changed his tune. So be warned! The staff at the camp/hotel were excellent and the accommodation after the first night was about what we were expecting. What a shame the local Masai people are not running the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
13
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Enchoro Wildlife Camp is a beautiful camp, with very friendly staff and luxury tents with a toilet and shower! There is electricity for a few hours a day, though I recommend getting in there early, as sockets fill up quickly! It has a nice atmosphere and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Firstly the staff at Enchoro Wildlife Camp was amazing and extremely helpful. My fellow travelers and I were living in Uganda at the time of our safari and came to Kenya for a week to have a safari and sight see. We booked the 3-day weekend group rate, which included 3 people for a price of $385 each (which is an AMAZING price for a weekend in the Mara; we know people who paid the same amount for safaris in Uganda at much less famous and vast locations). One of our friends became very ill last minute and had to be transfered to the Nairobi hospital for treatment. Upon hearing our situation, they allowed us to keep our group rate for booking despite not having enough people as well as drove us to Aga Khan on arrival to Nairobi to see our friend. SO KIND AND SO APPRECIATED BY US.

The staff was really sweet in making sure that we were cared for during our stay but to be honest, we spent little time in the camp and were in the park pretty much from its opening to its closing for our trip. If you get an choice in drivers, TOM IS YOUR GUY. He has amazing experience in the Mara and we able to answer our entire car's questions. He always made sure that when someone on the radio reported a spotting that we had excellent placement to see the animals. Because of his determination, we were able to see the Big 5 in our weekend trip including the cheetah and the rhino (which Tom has told us he's only been able to see 3 times in his 15 years in the park). He was also very contentious of making sure that there was space and respect given to each of the animals in viewing that many of the other guides and drivers clearly did not have the same respect for.

Great budget accommodations, delicious food, and dedicated staff - couldn't have asked for a better safari experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock north nz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at 6 pm at night with 15 of us to find the camp had double booked us and had no accomodation for us. We had even paid before arrival and emailled prior to leaving to confirm.they were not helpful in finding further accomodation and we all ended up squashing into three units .The accomodation was shabby, dirty and not good.
The manger was awful and we would never recommend this place to stay.but the staff in the restaurant were wonderful.good food and very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.you cannot trust management
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed as a group of 15, booked and fully paid several months ahead with multiple re confirmations. On arrival at6.30pm the manager denied knowing about our booking and had booked out our tents to a party wanting to stay longer. It took an hour of arguing before he agreed we had a valid booking, tried to make us go to an inferior camp and pay again and finally crammed us in 4 to a tent when we had paid for 2 to a tent. En suite toilets with saloon doors are not much fun in a group!! Next day we were finally given proper tents. Other staff were excellent and our stay was good, but we felt manipulated and pressurised in a situation where there was absolutely no where else to go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was the cheapest organised tour for the 3 day Masai Mara trip that I could find. besides the whinging American lady in my group it was as i expected - power only available at certain times, the sound of animals in the night and not quite cold beer, but it was a nice change from Nairobi and was exactly what you would expect at the lower end of the budget (still expensive though thanks to the park fees!) but I had a great time and would recommend it!! Rooms were permanent safari tents with their own bathroom (besides being able to hear the other person pee!) it was totally fine. Watch out for the monkey with the blue balls who steals the sauce off the table haha.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here as a part of a group and this camp was selected by our tour operator. Given its limitation such as remote location, limited supply of food, no electricity and basic infrastructure, I believe the camp does a pretty good job in treating its guests.

We were here in Enchoro for two nights and three days and most of the day was spent Game Driving in the Masai Mara reserve. The camp is very clean and the whole arrangement of tents gives you the true feeling of living out in the jungle. Our tent was spacious. It was a family tent with a double bed and two single beds. Each bed had a mosquitoes net but we did not encounter any mosquitoes or other bugs during our stay. There was a partition separating the bedroom with the another section in the tent having bathroom and toilet. We found the whole place very spacious and comfortable. The water pump used to run in the morning and the evenings and hot and cold water was available. The water pressure was of a little concern. The toilets here, like all other places in Kenya, have only toilet papers and no water jet facility.

The food is limited in variety. In breakfast we were served pancakes, omelets and breads along with milk and juice. For dinner we had mashed potato, macaroni or noodles along with meat / chicken and boiled vegetables.

There is no electricity although the water supply and the plumbing system in the camps are adequate. Electricity is available only for a limited time. Electrical sockets for charging electronics devices are available only in the dining area and were always occupied. Only a couple of sockets are available but they have a extension socket. I would recommend that you extra batteries for your cameras and other electronic devices.

Overall it was a plus for us and I would recommend Enchoro for anyone looking for a camp experience in Masai Mara

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.