We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchoro Camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rate From USD 50
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enchoro Camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have just returned from a holiday in Kenya . I traveled with my daughter, and our budget safari , booked through the Enchoro website , was above all expectations. The tented campsites had comfortable beds, with good linen, mosquito nets and an adequate bathroom. There were lights and hot water early in the morning and from around 6.30 at night. (good idea to have a torch or headlight though ) The tents were set in amongst trees. The large communal eating area was comfortable, the food fine. Staff were friendly. A range of tour operators use this campsite. Our game drives over the three days were great, our guide and driver Isaac was the best !! He always seemed to know where the animals were. The camp is really close to the game park gate - the only down side is its a long drive from Nairobi -- with the last 2 hours from Naruk being a bone shaker. The Masai village visit was interesting. A number of the men from the village also work at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A buddy of mine stayed for a 3 night safari and paid 520$ each. FYI, price includes the safari trips and food during your stays and total package varies for each customer. Overall, we were very pleased with the service of our drivers and campsite wait staff, but the manager (Edward) was a menace to deal with at the conclusion of our trip. The problems that we had:
1. Overcharged us significantly for train tickets. We asked for two 2nd class tickets from Nairobi to Mombasa and they were kind enough to help us book it, but when we got to the train station, we realized that we had overpaid by 40%.
2. Gave us misinformation about travel logistics. At the end of our trip, we got our train tickets and asked for directions to the train station. Edward told us that it would be a "6-minute walk" but as we were walking out we checked with the receptionist and she cautioned against this. So we check the map and it turns out it's 2.4 km through downtown Nairobi (during rush hour). When we went back to Edward with this info and ask that he help us get a cab/driver to take us, he madly refused and gave us a terrible attitude. After 20 minutes of trying to rationalize with him with him yelling at his own staff in front of us and claiming that he has "lived in Nairobi for 25 years and know it better than we do", we finally ended up going downstairs and asking the hotel clerk to help us call a cab. The cab drive eventually took us 30 minutes and cost 400+100 Shilings.

Now, in all fairness, I think the staff that worked here were great. We were right there with all of the other safaris that paid twice as much as we did and got to see 4 of the big 5 (no rhinos).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The quality is good if you think about where you're at. The tents are relatively clean. There are some problems with the water. Electricity is available between 07:00 - 10:00 and between 19:00 - 22:00. The site of the hotel tells that you can use you're credit card but this does not work all the time. The best thing to do is bringing cash money. We didn't bring cash and the manager became quite unpleasant. The service of the rest of the staff was good, the food is simple but good.
The visit if the Masai village was fun but its not worth 35$. The souvenirs ate very expensive you should buy them elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked through Terminal Tours Kenya and was brought here for my stay of 2 nights while visiting the Masai Mara. I was very pleased with the service and VERY pleased with the accommodation! There are self sustaining washrooms inside the tents and hot water! There are a times at night and in the morning when you can charge your electronics. Overall my stay there was very pleasant and I would suggest this location to others in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hello,
Enchoro campsite is the best budget campsite we have in Masai mara,have been using the campsite for more than 2 years.there staffs are friendly and there rooms are very clean compared with the other budget campsite.i would recommend you to visit Enchoro campsite,ohhh and there food is very delicious.what matters a lot is your security and there service

Room Tip: Enchoro campsite have many rooms to choose.but if you booked with the tour agent,they will make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Enchoro. The owner, Albert Ouko, offered outstanding service when my passport was collected at airport and not returned and my luggage did not show up . He personally collected both and had it delivered to the Masai Mara, a full 12/13 hour return trip from Nairobi. I was fully informed about progress even being that far out of the city. At his camp, the staff was very friendly and anxious to please, food was good, and facilities were exactly what we were prepared for. The tents were large and beds comfortable. They had a concrete pad and cheery striped oil cloth flooring. Each tent had a camp style washroom and shower with hot water. Much better than what we saw in other camps! The staff made our stay pleasant and enjoyable. I plan on returning with my nephew!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for the Maasai mara but there is nothing plus to talk about. I know for sure that there are better camps than this at cheaper prices. Please ask your travel safari operator about it.

The camp is very cramped and the loo is very cramped. I understand its a camp but I got photos from other camps as well which were probably better

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.