We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and clean place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Save Saved
You added Enchoro Wildlife Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“nice and clean place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Enchoro Wildlife Camp is located next to Masai Mara's Ololaimutia gate. It has clean and spacious military tents. Bathroom and toilet are practically not separated from the bedroom. Power is on from 5:30 a.m to 7 a.m. and from 6:30 p.m. to 10 p.m. and then is your only chance to charge your camera's batteries or phones. I will suggest to provide their guests with at least a torch per tent cause ofter 10 p.m. is really hard to find your way to your bed. The staff was helpful and after sunset they gather at the bonfire where you can hear some interesting stories.
A disadvantage is the food which they offer. When you are in Masai Mara you expect to eat local food. Unfortunately they serve mainly European and American food like pasta, french fries, burgers, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
12
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
comoros islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

nice, clean tented camp stay. good ambiance and friendly staff. the toilet and the bath is only demarcated within the tent at shoulder height, but would be better if the toilet is fully enclosed. bath towels need to be replaced; looks worn out and used.
power is on from 6.30 pm till 10 pm; which is fine but it was difficult to prepare in the dark at 3.30 am for the balloon safari. they need to work on that.
forget the Masai village visit if you are health / cleanliness conscious. you are escorted by the hotel staff, who supposedly belong to the village and they fleece you if you are not alert, with fancy rates for lion tooth, lion claw nail, etc etc.and the whole village is knee deep in cow and sheep dung.

Room Tip: all the tents have the same nice ambiance of staying in a forest environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

this Camp locate near the Ololaimutia gate has good tents that spacious. The good part is we had hot showers anytime of the day.The staffs were nice and kind.I noted one who is hard working and always alert in case you need some assistance.His name is Muhoro.
The management should switch to the use of Solar to heat the water rather than the logs of woods,to make it Eco friendly.

Room Tip: One that is called Aberdares
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is a tent. So given your toilet and shower is literally just separated by a sheet. Not much privacy. The catering operation is pretty basic as well. However great value for money given that you will not spend much time here except to sleep.

We stayed in the rooms with the stripey white flooring which was pretty clean. I've stayed in real rooms that were not as clean. So pretty good overall.

Positives:
clean
great location
cheap
decent grub

Negatives:
other patrons seem to think that food will run out and queue/rush for dinner
we had zero water pressure so the toilet refused to fill up to flush

Other known issues:
generator
mossies/insects etc given it is a tent

Room Tip: Bring your own DOOM (mossie spray). We did not use the mossie net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here August/September 2012 for 3 nights booked through www.asiliadventuressafaris.com. This is not a luxury camp but had everything we needed, we were there for the safari experience and the camp is 5 mins from the Mara Park gate. The tented accomodation was huge, we had 4 beds so there was plenty of room for just 2 of us. The beds were comfy and we could hear jackals calling in the night which added to the adventure! Each tent has its own toilet and shower with hot water available at all times. The food is good and plenty of it and the staff all very friendly and helpful. Electricity is available for a couple of hours in the morning and evening but this was plently for charging a couple of camera batteries. There is a camp fire every evening which you are welcome to sit around with the local Maasai who run the camp. The only downside was plastic rubbish that was strewn around the village outside the camp, it would be good if the park authority could use some of the revenues from the fees to provide rubbish collection areas/facilities or request plastic recycling. This would be beneficial both to the Maasai villagers living there as well helping to protect the Mara environment and wildlife.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If someone is looking for a no luxury very basic accommodation in Masai Mara, then this place is worth the mention. We had booked out 6N/7D package through Africa adventure home (Highly recommended & ask for Ken as the tour guide. He was just superb). We had booked 2 months in advance but when we reached there we were shocked to hear from the Manager Mr. Fred that the tents were not ready & needed to be repaired to get them in livable condition. We found that very fishy as we traveled during the peak season of The Migration (August 16th to August 22nd 2012). He tried to convince us that there was a employee of his who had traveled to a nearby town (Narok) to get the ingredients to repair the tents.
However looking at the property we found no signs of repairing whatsoever. Fred then told us that he had booked us in another nearby camp for a night & then we would return back to Enchoro for the remaining 2 nights, but kindly he said we could have all our meals at Enchoro,
We found the other camp very bad. Not clean, no attached showers or toilets & full of Monkeys.
We insisted that this camp was unacceptable & after lot of so called phone calls Fred said okay he would provide us accommodations at Enchoro. After asking him repeatedly why he was doing this, Fred said they had overbooked their reservations by almost 140% hence he wanted us to stay us in this different camp for him to accommodate others.

Once we got our camp, it was decent. Clean, attached WC & Hot shower (both separate but usable). There were 2 separate single beds with only 1 bed having a Mosquito net. We had carried our own nets so that wasnt a major problem.

Food was basic with bread, a pasta , a beef dish, a potato dish & some fruits for lunch & Dinner & Eggs, pancakes, beef sausages, bread & butter + tea/coffee for breakfast.

I will still recommend this place as it is very close to OOLAIMATIA reserve gate. At least it was clean & well guarded. Overall if someone is looking for a very basic no fuss stay as masai mara this is a good choice.

Tip: Please make sure you call them & reconfirm your booking (yourself or via the agent) before you reach this place especially during the peak season & carry your own mosquito nets)

Room Tip: All tents are similar. Just make sure they give you a tent which is not near to the kitchen & ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. The accommodation had everything we needed, shower (hot), toilet and separate sleeping quarters. We had four single beds and there was plenty of room. The dining room/bar was adequate and the meals ok. The only downside was there were no electricity outlets in the tents you had to ensure you got to the dining room early to bag one of several there. After dinner a camp fire was was lit in the grounds, which made it more like a camping experience. Take a torch with you as there are no lights in amongst the trees to show you the way to your tent. If you visit the Masai village, please haggle for everything you want to buy...they do not expect to receive the first amount they ask for anyway. I always halved the amount at least and went up from there to a maximum I would expect to pay for it back home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Address: Delta Hotel, University Way Nairobi | University Way Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchoro Wildlife Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.