We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping like you've never experienced before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sala's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sala's Camp
Save
You added Sala's Camp to your Saves list
Sand River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Camping like you've never experienced before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a blast at Sala's camp. It is located within the Mara, so the location is perfect and away from the tourism chaos circling the gates. The service was solid, and food was very good. The property was really well-managed, they had armed guards at all hours to make us feel safe (no fences!) and were an easy drive away from game viewing. Quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the camp 3 nights in late Feb early Mar 2013 last stop on our 2 week safari. So much to see and experience time flew by.
So do not miss this one, especially during the migration.
The property, management, staff, accommodations and food ranked 5 STARS. Debbie is a great hostess and made our stay memorable.
Camp is in a great location to view lots of wildlife overlooking the Mara into Tanzania . Highly recommend this lodge. We stayed in all Tamimi properties on the 2013 and trip they really know the value of quality of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Sala's Camp Feb 12th and 13th and just want to say that it may be the most idyllic and wonderful place we have stayed through all of our travels. The tents are fantastic--a great balance between comfort and rustic--the environs amazing, and the staff absolutely delightful. From Debbie the Camp Manager, to David and Mishek (our incomparable guide and spotter), the support staff led by Thomas, and the night askari (security), Francis and Darius, everyone was as helpful, warm and friendly as can be, which was especially appreciated when one of our (grown) daughters was ill. The attention to guests is truly total and the food delicious...and served at a table that each night Thomas decorates in different and delightfully creative ways. Waking in the middle of the night to an elephant outside one's tent, waking in the morning to game walking by across the river, listening to the baboons bark, or finding a remarkable array of game on fun and highly informative game drives are the kinds of things everyone on safari hopes for. At Sala's Camp, they made all of this and more a reality. A true paradise. Thank you to the whole team!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights here. I cannot recommend it highly enough. So beautiful and quiet - the service was topnotch and the setting fabulous. Special thanks to Debbie who was amazing and also Moses!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sala's camp was a delight to reach after our very interesting 3 hour trip from Richard's Camp by road. Sited on the bank of a sandy river with beautiful clear water (as opposed to the Mara) and surrounded by beautiful trees full of amazing bird life, we were sad to say goodbye to our wonderful guide and driver from Richard's, but already looking forward to the next phase of our adventure. We were greeted by Manager Debbie and the lovely man who looked after us so beautifully at each mealtime. Our tents were huge and extremely comfortable and we had a nice outlook to the river. After unpacking a little and having lunch we were off on our first afternoon game drive. Wow - the number of animals we saw was amazing - wildebeest, zebra, giraffes, warthogs, jackals, leopards, lions and the biggest elephants with the hugest tusks we had seen in Africa! After sundowners and a magnificent sunset, we arrived back to camp, cleaned up for an excellent dinner, a few glasses of wine and compared notes with other guests. Bed was very welcome and our cuddly hot water bottles soothed us to sleep very quickly. Next morning we were off to an early start with breakfast packed to enjoy at some unknown spot which turned out to be a hippo pond, where as the hippos came up for breath they brought the vegetation in the water out on top of their heads, looking so cute! Also plenty of jacana here too. Moving on took us through many more animals and gorgeous open plains, river crossings - sometimes quite treacherous looking, but boy, our driver was good!! More leopard and lion sightings and a great view of a serval cat which we had never even heard of before. Breakfast turned out to be 'brunch', so we were very happy and exhausted by our wonderful day. The resident hippo at camp could be heard munching his way through the undergrowth during the night and the lions were roaring in the distance while we snug and safe in our bed. We were driven to Keekorok Airstrip to meet Richard for a scenic flight over the Rift Valley, up to the escarpment and maybe a little over Tanzania and could see many many animals from the air and get a wonderful overview of the area - so green and lush. Sala's is a camp we would visit again most certainly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Cool place for excellent nature and safari. Excellent host staff. Very homestyle atmosphere. Very good meals. Lots of animals during the great migration. Lions and leopards even in the lodge by night. Awesome!!!

We also had unfortunately very bad safari experience on the very first day because of very poor guide (don't remember the name, he is the only white - avoid him or can be stucked everywhere!) and had to change him. When we do it, everything became perfect again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were there before the migration in July. Tony (our guide) and Ollie were an excellent combination in finding great sightings, even though the quantity of the animals was less than expected. While truly under canvas, the tents were very comfortable with running water and electricity. While we were there the relief manager was present, Ali, she did an excellent job, and if the regular managers are as good, then you will not be disappointed. If you want to avoid the crowds in this area during the summer, this is the place in The Masai Mara.

Room Tip: Choice the honeymoon tent, larger with sitting room. Only thing to remember is further from the mes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sala's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala's Camp

Address: Sand River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the less known southern area of the renowned Masai Mara, Sala’s Camp rests on the banks of the Sand and Keekorok rivers looking into Tanzania’s Serengeti on the opposite side. Sala’s Camp is nestled amongst an indigenous forest with views into the Northern Corridor, which is the route taken by the million wildebeest whose famous migration takes place annually. This makes Sala’s Camp the perfect spot to watch the Great Migration unfold. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sala`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sala's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.