We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful camp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kichakani Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kichakani Mara Camp
Save
You added Kichakani Mara Camp to your Saves list
| PO Box 5533, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful camp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were looking for a medium to economical range campsite and Kichakani was a great choice. The camp is located very near to one of the entries and has beautiful views of the reserve that is just across a small river. The tents are big, clean and have everything you can need during your stay. Each tent has a veranda, some with beautiful views of the river and there is enough space between each tent to have privacy and silence if you want. The staff was really nice and helpful. They also have a nice swimming pool. We were 2 families with children and we all love Kichakani. I would really recommend this camp to anyone wanting a nice, relaxed and friendly stay in the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The service was courteous & friendly, the camp is clean and well adjusted to the environment. Kitchen was excellent and tasty. We had the luck to see all important big animals except the rhino. And therefore we have to come again! :-) Greetings from Vienna, Austria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kichakani Camp is actually a no frills camp with basic services. The tents are good sized and fairly comfortable. The electricity is put on between 5.30 AM and 7.30 AM in morning and 6.30 PM to 10.30 PM in evening. That is the time when one can charge cameras, mobiles, IPADS etc.
I could see some Zebras and Impalas across the river. There was I think a crocodile or 2 in the river below and would make a big splash when they dived into water. Food was average but had a mix of vegetables and meats. In Kenya they make the meat a little hard (rare) so we Indians find it a bit difficult to chew as we prefer well done meats. Dessert most of the time was fruit salad.
The morning we were to go for Balloon safari- the staff put on generators at 4.45 AM which helped us get ready. It is always good to have staff which is always willing to help and always smiling. By the way- Balloon safari at Masai Mara is a great experience and its followed by champagne breakfast at around 8 AM in the middle of the park !
On the first night I would keep getting lost on the way to my tent as the tents and ways are not marked at all. That can be really distressing at night when no one is around. The place had a swimming pool but we didn't use it.
As far as wildlife is concerned we spent a great deal of time with a pride of Lions which had 3 male Lions. Other than that we saw the big 5 including a panther. We saw cheetahs as well.
We saw thousands wildebeeast crossing Talek river and its fun to watch this phenomena.
The biggest negative about Masai Mara is its approach road. Last 90 kms while coming towards the camp from Narouk is a disaster. The road is so bad that we dreaded the thought of going back towards Narouk on the same road. But one doesn't have a choice.
There are some other camps nearby which are more upmarket and have better ambiance such as fig tree camp. But the price difference is quite a bit.
Conclusion : Kichakani camp is 10 minutes drive to the park ; good wildlife can be seen; staff is good; camp is no frills camp but tidy and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Located upto 5 km from the Talek Gate is a perfect place for relaxing time between gamedrives. Comfortable and spacious tents are hidden in the natural bush surrounding. The beds are big and comfortable with net. The tents are equipped with small bed table and one bigger table with night lamp. The bathroom is specious as well, very clean, with toilet, sink and shower. The hot water as well as electricity for recharging the batteries is available from 7.00pm till 10.30pm and from 06.30am till 10.30 am – absolutely sufficient. Each day the tents are cleaned and provided with 2 small bottles of water. Our tent was located in the first line just to the Talek river and gave us an opportunity to enjoy the river noise while sleeping and lovely sunrise with colorful balloons in the background directly from the terrace which is also a perfect place for afternoon nap overlooking gazelles and wildebeests just on the opposite side of the river:)
The Masai staff is helpful and very friendly – if you need anything just approach the manager or anyone from the staff at reception or restaurant. However the meal buffet is not very various and rich, the food is pretty fine, warm and fresh (breakfast: bread, butter, eggs stuff, sausages, potatoes or other cooked vegetables, tea, coffee; lunch/dinner: 2 kinds of meat, rice or pasta or potatoes, cooked vegetables, fruit salad). There are no drinks included to the meals (either tea or coffee), but when you will ask for a tea or just hot water, you will be served. The slight weak point is the “pole pole” approach at restaurant. Its lovely when you are on holidays, but sometimes it happens to be in hurry for the morning gamedrive just to catch the sunrise and when the breakfast scheduled the previous evening at 6.15 starts at 6.45 it is a small disappointment. But it is really just a small weakness.
My overall assessment of Kichakani is very high and I fully recommend it for all who want to get a pre-taste of African luxury and hospitality at the reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Was there with a group of 21 8-10 year olds. They enjoyed every bit: the swimming pool, the tents overlooking the river, entertainment by the Masais. The food was also child friendly - the most fussy eater enjoyed the vegetable soup and the bread that was offered! The fresh juice offered for breakfast was energizing for the whole group. Esther - the Hostess was very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are camping with kids, request for the center tents, its easy to supervise them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

My pals and i decided to do a last minute planned safari, we got some good referals from some of our friends and we were not disappointed. The tents were very large and spacious with a raised deck facing the river and park on the other side. We could see animals while seated inside our tent. There was always hot water in the showers when it was cold or you also take a swim when it was too hot. What i enjoyed most this time compared to my previous visits to the mara is the short distances during game drives, we could see almost all animals in a very short time. i would do this again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thika, Central, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The safari experience was fantastic and not comparable to some of the reviews posted on the internet. We stayed at the camp for four nights and had the experience of a life time. The food was also good and the staff were very friendly. The camp has an african touch to it. Animals were right outside the electric fence and at night we could hear the lions roaring, elephants and hyenas walking about. We went for the game drives with a Maasai guide who helped track the animals at the park. Very affordable and worth the price. AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED!

Room Tip: Rooms near Tarek river are the best especially for those who want a thrilling yet safe experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kichakani Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichakani Mara Camp

Address: | PO Box 5533, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovatively conceived spectacularly on the edge of the expansive Masai Mara Game Reserve, Kichakani Camp a simple but classic camp nestled amidst the big figs of the Mara. It offers a panorama of the Burrungat and Posee plains on its sides. The camp is conveniently located on the banks of the Talek River, just next to a major wildebeest crossing point. With the river as the only physical boundary between the park and the camp, it offers excellent game viewing. The camp décor and architecture is intentionally simplistic in nature, with semi-permanent grass thatched bandas fitted with tents – flash toilets and hot shower bathrooms en-suite – and a deck for outdoor sitting. The food is a fusion of African and International cuisines prepared and presented in a unique African style. Kichakani Camp does not miss to capture the romance of safari life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichakani Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kichakani Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kichakani Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.