We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a luxury camp but nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a luxury camp but nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed at the camp with some 7 friends. we were warmly received on arrival with a glass of juice. we stayed for 2 nights, the food was fresh and delicious.
the rooms are good with cormfortable beds with white bed sheets. the showers give you plenty of hot water and you can shower any time.
in the evening we could relax over a drink in the louge which is quite spacious.

on our second night a bush dinner was arranged and we requested for a masai dance which was provided. it was a wonderful time we shared with friends. the staff were friendly and would assist any time we called.

for the price, it was really a very good bargain.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
23
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed two nights in the camp. We were expecting to enter into a luxury tented camp, inside the Masai Mara as mentionned on their web site but it is completely wrong.
There is no reception, no boutique, no animation (for example, on their web site, they mentionned traditional masai Dance, not seen during our two days/nights, balloon safari idem, etc). very disapointful and misleading.
The camp is NOT inside the Masai Mara as indicated on the web site but at 20 minutes from the park entrance.
The level of comfort is very poor (the "bathroom" is not well designed, no miror, no curtain for the shower so everything is imediately flooded, toilet was not in a good shape, we got only two towel for three), there was no light on the "terasse" (light was removed or broken), only one inside the tent and even no candle for night (generator stop at 10h30).
we book for three (with my spouse and 5 Yo son) and the tent was full with one double bed and three single beds (was a kind of storage?) so no place at all for any kind of table (look at the picture on their web site, it is nicely furnished), no chair, etc...
The food was also very disapointing, the "soi disant" buffet was not a buffet at all but a single menu (in two days, it was almost the same).
When arriving, I have asked for the key of our tent and was told in a very unfriendly manner by the manager "Don't ask for the key" because it is safe there (i believe it is supposed to be safe in every hotel in the world while this is the first time In my life (and I travel a lot worldwide) that i could not get the key of my room).

The worst experience of my long carrier of traveller.
The worst being that I could have booked much better for the same price but I was even ready to pay more because we were looking for comfort and have been badly influenced by their web site.
For sure I would not recommend this tented camp but it seems it is relatively known as there was nearly nobody (5 people including the three of us the first night and few more the day after).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

i was initially sceptical about staying in a tent, but was pleasantly surprised. this is a great option for those who prefer a slightly more rustic experience (or want to avoid expensive hotel costs) but still want a clean, comfortable place to stay. in our tent the bathroom was nice and clean, the hot water plentiful, the bedding new and crisp, the insects almost non-existent, the food/bar was very good and the service was great! expect to be greated with a warm towel and juice upon arriving. really for the price, this is a quality place i would recommend to anyone. and it's only 15 mins from the park entrance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed with three friends for two nights at Primetime Safari's Ol Moran Tented Camp in the Mara. The tent bandas are very clean and actually contain permanent bathrooms! The food was good and the staff was very welcoming. They have a knew lobby and bar area that is very nice to lounge in after a day of driving in the park. The bar even has cold beers. The staff mentioned that they will be putting in a swimming pool within the next year, which will make this an even greater place to stay. -Joe

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

the camp in a good location with zizeable tents, clean beddings and newly tiled bathrooms.the staff are welcoming and friendly. the food is also quite good and no where in their website do they suggest that they are a luxury tented camp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is NOT a luxury tented camp per their statement on their web site.
Meals are spartan at best. For those wishing a true camping experience this is the place to go, but it is not luxury.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#63 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
109.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#94 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
2.7 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River. Available are 19 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners' suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses. What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bonfire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ol-moran Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.