We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tented camp close to park gates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely tented camp close to park gates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed two nights in early April. The accommodation was better than expected, with only the sleeping accommodation actually "tented", but joined to a solid-structure shower and toilet facility. The staff and manager were so friendly and helpful. The food was really good, especially the breakfast, and we got a lovely packed lunch for our full day safari. The bar was well-stocked and reasonable, and a very comfortable place to wind down in the evening. Generators are switched off at 10pm, so don't expect any late nights, but because we were getting up for safari at 6 or 6.30am in the mornings, we were very glad of the early nights. All in all, lovely camp, lovely people, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
25
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Even though this is a tented camp the rooms have permanent in-suit bathrooms, which was nice. Warm water and electricity are only available during specific times, which was problematic when we arrived home early one day. However, they can turn the heat on if you ask (as we realized afterwards). This was a very cosy place with nice food and friendly staff. The camp is located within the Masai Mara so it was really close to go from the camp to the actual safari sites. We had been informed that the room would be equipped with a mosquito net, but when we came there our room did not have a net... Luckily we had brought one of our own, which could be a good idea as many of the other camps we stayed at did not have one either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ol-moran is a tented camp not far from the Maasai mara entrance gate. It is run by the Maasai. The tents are clean and very comfortable.The foods are local and good. We went there with four people. We used Aslan Adventure Tours & Travel which was an excellent choice. The driver provided us with useful information and the car was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a tented camp outside the Masai Mara national reserve. We booked this one as it came up the cheapest option for us. It is outside the park so entrance fees are $10 more per person per day but it still came out to be cheaper. The service was excellent and so was the food. The chef took into account her preference and served us indian dinner the 2 nights that we were there. Also, the omelette station in the morning was excellent and so were the boxed lunches. He also have us an extra order of fries since we had kids who tend to get hungry more often than us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
958 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had requested mid-range accommodation which I think accurately reflects Ol Moran. It is a small resort with basic and a little bit dated but comfortable tents which have en suite bathrooms. We stayed for two night, the bed was comfortable, the tent had an en suite bathroom, and there was electricity to charge things.

We had been camping in very basic tents for a while so the Ol Moran resort was fine for us. If you've stayed in other parks for the same price however you might be disappointed - accommodation in the Mara is generally extremely expensive so you do get less for your money.

Elizabeth gave us a warm welcome and we were showed to our room. The food served was fine - I especially liked the macaroni cheese at lunch one day. It's a small place so there was not as much choice as in bigger resorts.

It is not within the Masai Mara park but is a 5-10 minute drive from the gate.

Staff were generally friendly and attentive , although some of the restaurant staff were a bit downbeat. We had a problem with our hot water one day which the staff resolved and were very keen to make sure that we were happy with everything.

Masai warrior looking staff are on hand as security and to help you with your bags. We had a bizarre encounter with one guy who followed us to our tent one night after dinner and seemed to be trying to sell us things which was a bit odd but apart from that everything was fine.

There is no wi-fi but there is a bar area and you can buy drinks to take back to your tent if you want.

If I was staying in the Masai Mara again I would be tempted to stay in a place inside the park but it would be more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the last of several places we stayed on safari. The tents are fine, the hot water is hot but has a strong smell of rust. The electricity was generator and on early in the morning and evening. The food was very limited but adequate. The main issues we had were the noise and the focus on the locals who seemed to congregate in the center yard in the evening around an old oil barrel that served as a bonfire at night. Those gathered removed the furniture from our porch to sit and talk late into the evening. We asked to be moved due to noise and we were placed directly next to the kitchen which was even louder with loud talking and banging until 12:30am. The generator was to be off by 10:30 but one night the partying in the kitchen and lobby went on past midnight. There is no lobby or central place for guest to relx because the locals are filling the area for guests. There is no wifi or television so, because of this, you are banished to your tent. Since the chairs were removed from the porch, you needed to stay in the tent. No mosquito nets were provided. The Maasai Mara park is the best however, this was no a highlight of our journey.

Room Tip: away from the kitchen probably #6 or #12 not 1 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent three day at the Olmoran tent camping while on safari. . It was amazing! The services was over the top when we first got there after a dust ride we were met with warm wash clothes to clean our hands and face and the some refreshing juice to revive us after our long day of travel. Our tent was nicer than the hotel that I had stayed in while in Paris. Every need was tendered to. It was clean, comfy beds, private bathroom, great food even the lunch they made us for safari. Thank you staff at Olmoran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#62 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
2.7 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River. Available are 19 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners' suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses. What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bonfire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ol-moran Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.