We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi authentic but very special and great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maji Moto Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Save
You added Maji Moto Eco Camp to your Saves list
Maji Moto, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Semi authentic but very special and great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staying in The Eco Camp was a great experience. Chief Sankale and his staff are humorous and extremely friendly hosts. They are all willing to tell and show you everything about the life and culture of the Masai people. We saw a lot of interesting things and animals (giraffes, jackals etc) during the guided walks and learned a lot about how Masai people live in and with the nature. The camp is situated on top of a wonderful plateau with super views. We slept in nice and comfortable tents and enjoyed the food very much. The evenings were filled with great campfires, stories, laughter and good conversations. Staying in Maji Moto Eco Camp is like staying with your best friends and it was hard to leave after a couple of days.
Janneke & Gerrit (the Netherlands)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Gerrit,

Thanks for visiting our camp. The way you have written, is exactly the way I feel when leaving the camp back to the boring office… he, he.
By the way… this year in June, we have made major renovation on the camp… hence that I wish to invite you again to revisit your friends these time even prouder about their nice camp! Take care and hope to host you again. Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really loved staying with the chief Sankale and his super-friendly, funny staff. It gives you a good look into Masai culture and what these people are all about. The walks we're great (thanks to Kisija) and we especially enjoyed visiting the two schools in the village and meeting more locals. The camp is really nicely located on top of a hill so the views are breathtaking. We would recommend the Maji Moto camp to anyone who's looking for a authentic experience in Kenya. If we would do it again, we might choose to walk from Maji Moto to Masai Mara National Parc, with sleepovers in tents on the way there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ben,

Thank you for staying with us. As well thank you liking the camp, the school, the locals and our staff!

Walking safari from Maji Moto to Masai Mara is a great experience!

-Itinerary to do that starts with 2 nights at Maji Moto to make you comfortable with environment and your local guides.
-Followed by 3 days out on walking/trekking safari in complete wilderness towards Masai Mara.
-Itinerary ends up at Mara with 2 overnights dedicated to game-drives at this prime-wildlife reserve!

This itinerary we call: “Trekking Safari - Walk with Masai to Mara - 7 days” also a good one with less roughing and toughing is our itinerary called: “Adventure Holliday - Active Masai - 6 days”

Welcome again we will be glad to show you round. Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed two times at Maji Moto eco camp, the first time with our family and the second time as a couple. It is a great place to stay, to relax, a kind of 'room with a view'. You can walk and cycle in the surroundings and relax in the hot spring. The people are very kind and we have felt like family. Food was delicious and we have felt so being taken cared for. When I think of it, I would like to go back immediately, maybe in February?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear wghvij,

These are great thoughts! February… why not! Welcome again any time. Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arriving at Maji Moto is one thing, but leaving this heavanly place is a lot harder. Life in the Masai is so heartwarming, pure and sincere that a man would really consider to stay there forever. The food was delicious and sleeping in luxury tents was quite comfortable. Every day we experienced new things and little by little we came home in this authentic, loving society. They consider every visitor as a familymember or as a lost Masai. The days in this rich tradition will still stay with me for years. I am grateful for this extraordinary time!
So, if you really want to have an unforgettable yourney, Maji Moto will be your next destination!
Sofie and Mathias

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sofie and Mathias,

Thank you sooooooo much for these sincere words. Highly appreciated! Welcome any time back. Sankale and the staff will be glad to meet you again. Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely perfect, if you want a small welcoming place with an excellent view. Great for families with kids. 'Warrior' training was arranged for our boys with spear throwing and bow shooting followed by a 'battle' with some kind of shrub, which was thrown at each other. Did a short safari walk as well. Perfect way to get out of town Friday afternoon after work to break up the trip to Masai Mara for the weekend. Will most certainly do this again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Lars,

Thanks for visiting and liking our camp. You are right the camp is perfectly positioned for weekend out of Nairobi (3hrs drive) or to break it up on the way to Mara! Great for kids and the rest of the family.

Ps: I see you have visited us last year 2012! FYI… we have done some good renovation in June these year… out of that I suggest you re-visit us again… I promise you won’t be disappointed ;)

With best regards, Roman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had the unbelievable opportunity to visit the camp for a week as part of my gap ear volunteering in Kenya. All i can say is WOW!!! You are immediately made to feel like family and you belong at the camp as soon as you get out of the car, After settling in to the tents and getting a feel for your surroundings you are treated to a tour of the local hills and gain some of the knowledge of nature. The food is incredible and it is only beaten by the friendliness of the staff. The activities we were able to take part in included bead making, warrior training and archery, hill walking, plains nature walk and so much more. i could never of ask for a greater experience and what ive learnt has been and will be invaluable :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Great Emma,

We are happy when friends are happy. Thank you for dropping a good word about us. I hope we can host you again in the near future.
With best wishes, Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the very start our family was made to feel very welcome, its like staying with another family. There was plenty of time to get our bearings, explore, and talk, with activities as well - the nature walk with Sankale was excellent, really informative, our teenage boys particularly enjoyed it as there's loads of rocks to climb and scramble over! We had a great cycle ride to the local school with Kisea, who is so kind, he kept checking we were all ok. It was great playing games with the children at break time and finding out about the school. We felt all the time that even though we were only there for a short visit, the people working at Maji Moto were more than happy to talk, share experiences and get to know us. The accommodation is very comfortable camping and the loo has an incredible view! It was a privilege to stay there and we enjoyed it so much, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maji Moto Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maji Moto Eco Camp

Address: Maji Moto, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maji Moto Eco Camp blends beautifully with the natural environment. All the facilities are built in a local Masai style with natural materials. There is no generator in the camp. We kept the thinks simple and traditional, with candles, lanterns and camp fire in the evening. Fresh food supplies are broth from Narok town with every arrival including fresh locally grown vegetables and fruits. All meals are prepared simply but delicious by a camp cook, blending traditional Kenyan and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maji Moto Eco Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maji Moto Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.