We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oloshaiki Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oloshaiki Camp
Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Thank you everyone for our fabulous stay at your camp. We enjoyed our Mara trips, the animals, the food, waking up in the morning and hearing monkeys jumping on our tent's roof and the waking up of birds, the fresh air, the relaxing ambiance. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

As first-time travellers to Kenia, we did not know what to expect from Oloshaiki Camp. Well, we were surprised in many ways.

First, travelling to the Masai Mara was perfectly arranged by DM Tours. Our trip from the airstrip Olkiombo to the Camp was also our first game drive. For the first time in our lives we saw lions in their natural habitat!

Everything at Camp Oloshaiki was well arranged: our rooms, the service, the food, the drinks. No complaints at all. The staff was very friendly and always in for a joke. We stayed here for five days, but had liked to stay for longer .... but we had to travel further to Zanzibar.

Moses was our guide during the game drives and we saw almost everything what we wanted to see. One highlight between many others: a leopard with a fresh kill climbing a tree. A pity we didn't see the rhino ... If you go to Camp Oloshaiki, ask for Moses!

It won't be a penalty to come back in the future!!

Annemieke en Lourens Prins
Roden, the Netherlands

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We booked with the camp directly through contacting the camp owner Kiran on their website. He arranged the flights frpm Nairobi and we transferred money to him which at first we were apprehensive about but the flight confirmations came through very quickly.

After a slight hick up with having to be moved to another camp for the first night because of a problemhandled it very well and the other camp was a good substitute. Once we got to the camp the next night the tent was amazing. The bathroom area, which is stone and part of the tent, is great with a hot shower and lots of space.

The food was an excellent selection for myself but my partner was slightly restricted especially during lunch as she doesn't eat beef. I'm sure if we had pre-warned them this could have been prevented.

Our guide was Joseph who can't be recommended enough. We saw numeroues wilderbeast river crossings, the big five, plenty of lions and often when we were the only jeep. We found early morning and late afternoon drives the best for seeing animals and giving the best light for taking photos.

This is a great small camp that will give you the memorable safari experience your looking for and is highly recommended to anyone wanting to travel to the Mara. We will be recommending it to our friends.

Thankyou to all the staff from Ross and Keeran - the trip exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days and found it amazing. The Accomodation and food were faultless and the setting was perfect. Our Guide was Mosses, a Maasai who was charming and knew the answers to all our questions. The vehicles that are used are 4 x 4 Jeeps and much more comfortable than the buses with the pop up roofs. We were lucky enough to see all of the Big 5 and a crossing of wildebeast at the Mara River. Mosses managed to achieve all this without compromise to the safety and well being of the animals which isn't always the case with some of the guides we witnessed. I am sure anyone who chooses this lodge will be more than happy with their choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in early September 2010.
The tents all overlook the Talek River, are spacious and spotless, with sun loungers outside.
Food was more than adequate, it was well prepared and tasty.
Drinks not overpriced and the staff extremely friendly and professional.
Our safari driver / guide was Daniel, a true expert, quiet but very good and enthusiastic about his job.
Having stayed in the Mara before, we can honestly say that this camp offers excellent service at sensible prices.
If the bridge across the river goes ahead, cutting out the township, then all the better, but we thoroughly enjoyed the extreme sport of crossing in our 4 x4 jeep!!!
Thanks to Kieran for the company, our chats round the campfire were great. Glad you enjoyed our English voices.
There are many German guests but don't let that put you off, the staff love all nationalities and you will be made very welcome.
We booked with DM Tours, mainly German guests but very professional and easy to deal with. (we've used them 3 times)
A special mention to Ali, our waiter, for putting up with the jokes.
If you're considering Oloshaiki,don't hesitate it's a lovely, small camp with it's heart in Kenya.
THANKS.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerpelt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The Camp is very nice, the tents are big, the staff is very friendly and the driver knows a lot about the area. The tents are located on the talek river from were we saw some animals like zebra, gazelle etc. We had great game drives, saw a lot of animals including cheetahs, leopards, lions etc. We have been to the Mara before, but the gamedrives in this area are wonderfull!!

The location of the Camp is nothing special, because you have to drive through some villages and it takes around 20 min to drive to the park. For us it was not really a problem, because we went for a full day game drive, but when you do several drives on a day it can be annoying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Camp Oloshaiki is a jewel in the Mara - our stay here was pure bliss due to the simple unfussy style of the place. The camp staff are polite, courteous and strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible. My now fiance took me there to propose on the banks of the Mara river, and I loved every minute of the 6 nights we spent at the Camp. The tents are huge with 1 king and 1 queen handcrafted 4-poster beds with drop mosquito nets, and a seperate washing/dressing area with a flush tollet. Each tent as its own individual hot water supply so we were not worried about there being a shortage of hot water as its heated 24 hours, and we could take a shower morning or night. Although luxury, it still feels as though you are camping in the middle of the game reserve - one morning we awoke to the sound of the lions roaring and monkeys jumping in the trees above us! The food was delicious and our stay at Camp Oloshaiki felt as though we were part of the family...every part of the service is personal and completely fits in with the magic of the Mara. There are a total of 7 tents, so it felt just right even when fully booked - making it a peaceful place for those who are serious about the wildlife and just enjoying the wonders that the Mara has to offer. To make sure that the serenity of the night time in the camp is preserved, there are no lights on the path to the tent accomodation but there are real Masai guides on hand with laterns and walking canes; to guide you safetly to your rooms! The Camp is quite environmentally friendly for those who take note of that sort of thing, with all the furniture, fixtures & fittings locally sourced and handcrafted. I would definitely recommend this place for those who are interested in seeing the wildlife at its best (the Oloshaiki Masai guide we had was amazing and knew all the places that the animals would be), and are not into the grand artifical splendour that some of the other camps offer. We will definitely be going back :)!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oloshaiki Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oloshaiki Camp

Address: Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Oloshaiki Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oloshaiki Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oloshaiki Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oloshaiki Camp to your Saves list