We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oloshaiki Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oloshaiki Camp
Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We live in Nairobi and have been lucky enough to stay in lodges and camps all over Kenya. Last weekend we wanted a trip to the Mara to catch the end of this year's migration, but didn't want to break the bank, so settled on Oloshaiki. The rates were very reasonable and a family of five were able to stay there pretty cheaply. I'll be honest, we didn't expect much, but were mainly there to see game, so weren't too bothered about the camp. We were very pleasantly surprised. The tents were fabulous, large, clean, great bathrooms, good views over the river and more than big enough for the five of us. The staff were great. The food was pretty average, but given the price, this place is amazing. And John, our guide, just brilliant. In 36 hours we saw thousands of wildebeest, a river crossing, crocs, hippo, a leopard kill, a lioness taking down a gnu, a pride of male lions, a huge herd of elephant, and many. many more! I would highly recommend Oloshaiki if you are after a good value trip, decent tents and incredible game viewing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is built and run by local Maasais. Living in there is a great experience chatting with the Maasais by the camp fire. The chef's most kind. One of my companions doesn't eat chicken or lamb and when the chef got to know about it, he cooked special steak meal at once for my friend. The rooms are big and the beds are huge! Great sunset view on Masai Mara too. Clean and Classy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

A group of 8 stayed at the camp 2 nights and everyone enjoyed their time there. The staff was extremely welcoming took time to talk with us and show us pictures. Some of the staff including guards were Maasai men and always made conversation with us about their culture and lifestyle. Our Maasai guide, Jackson was incredible, led us to the middle of a stalking leopard hunting an antelope. Captured the whole wait, attack and aftermath on video right before our van! Needless to say, that night at dinner, we were the most popular group in the clubhouse, attracting both guests and staff who wanted a glimpse of the footage :) A+ atmosphere, service and accommodations. The camp is beautifully landscaped and lit pathways help guide you at night...not to mention the Maasai guards who will be waiting close by if you begin walking at night :) very nice. Even turn down your bed and place a warmer inside it! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

28th-30th December 2011
We (8 people from Holland) had a great time in Oloshaiki. Good food, nice people, great lodges. Certainly a place to recommend to good friends that appreciate a wonderful place to stay. Pass this message on!
Aard Vogels. The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My visit in january 2012 to Camp Oloshaiki was a dream come true. The tents are very nice and specious and the bathroom was even bigger than mine at home...
Very nice food and kind service.
The drivers/guides of this camp are recommended as the best.
In even one game drive we were able to take very nice pictures of Lions, Leopard, Elephants, Buffalo's, Rhino, Hippo's, Topi and several other species. Whaaaw!!!!!
I'd like to come again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at this camp for two nights in mid-December. The staffs were super nice and we felt very welcomed. The food was quite good with a nice selection of African meals and European meal. The tents are well set-up with loads of spaces and nice bathroom. The generator is bit noisy but you quickly forget about it. My only recommendation would to avoid lighting too many lamps at night since you will be inundated by mosquitoes and other bugs. Location is great since the camp is not that far from a main fate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

as a solo person i did enjoy the camp very much,i stayed 30 dec till2 jan 2012 and had a lovely time, nice food, friendly staff and extreme nice tnets and safari...top place
veroniek kerssemakers the netherlands

Room Tip: they are all nice at the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oloshaiki Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oloshaiki Camp

Also Known As:
Oloshaiki Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oloshaiki Camp Hotel
Oloshaiki Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oloshaiki Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oloshaiki Camp to your Saves list