We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oloshaiki Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oloshaiki Camp
Save Saved
You added Oloshaiki Camp to your Saves list
Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

as a solo person i did enjoy the camp very much,i stayed 30 dec till2 jan 2012 and had a lovely time, nice food, friendly staff and extreme nice tnets and safari...top place
veroniek kerssemakers the netherlands

Room Tip: they are all nice at the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

we went to this camp in december this is our 4th visit and we have stayed in other camps on the mara but we still keep going back to this one on arrival you are greeted with a cold towel and a drink it was just like going back home everyone remembered us and it was so good to see all the staff again the staff make you feel so welcome when we arrived to our tent number 10 they had wrote on the bed welcome back and there was fresh flowers and wine waiting for us and also a bottle of tusker for my husband
the meals are great there and so well presented to you nothing is to much trouble for the staff
there had been a lot of rain on the mara before we arrived and the talek river was the highest we had seen it also the grass was high but that did not stop us from seeing the big 5, 2nd time in a row last year when we were there we saw the big 5 we had bernard as our guide and ester as our driver what a team we had our dinner in the bush and also our breakfast we were sorry to leave the camp but we will be back again next year (to see you all again) i would recommend this camp to anyone the reason we go back year after year is because it is a small camp and you are made to feel at home and nothing is to much trouble SEE YOU SOON ann

Room Tip: they are all good locations for the tents right on the Talek River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Manchester, UK

We visited this camp in September and had the experience of a lifetime. As a group of two fat women and an elderly mother in law our guide Joseph managed to accommodate our every need. We stayed for four nights and five days and always managed to see something different and exciting. We managed to see the Big Five which was amazing as not everyone did. The safari was everything we could have hoped for and more. If you get the chance to pick your guide ask for Joseph (the crazy Masai) who will cater to your every whim whilst entertaining you with his mad humour and crazy off road driving.

The camp is comfortable and had the feel of a rustic homestead with hot running water and electric lights.

The food was very good just what you needed. We particularly enjoyed African night. And the chefs were very friendly.

The staff were always happy to provide everything you asked for but sometimes asking became a bit of a trial.

We particularly liked George the barman and Isaac the trainee waiter.

We would not hesitate to recommend this camp to anyone.

We would definitely visit again with Joseph as our guide.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had the pleasure to stay at Oloshaiki Camp in Sept. 2011. We had a large group from North Carolina visiting Eldoret doing medical work at one of the referral hospitals and decided to take them to the Masai Mara for the weekend. Oloshaiki Camp was recommended and it did not disappoint. The staff handled the large group very well. They bent over backwards to accommodate everyone including finding ways to have personal medical equipment work throughout the night. The rooms are very large and the bathrooms are done in stone and also are huge. The food was very good, although not a huge selection. The camp is on the Talek River and although not technically in the park, is just a bridge walk over the river away. We would recommend this camp to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at this camp with a group of 18 for 2 nights, and all of us agreed that we were very happy with the accomodations and food. The "tents" are permanent wood-framed structures with canvas walls, and a large bathroom-shower-dressing area with hard walls in the back of each tent. Beautiful setting, with a large outdoor patio for dining or relaxing. Electricity goes to battery power after 8pm, so don't plan on charging your electronics overnight. And heed the staff's warnings about not leaving your door open or items outside, as monkeys are very destructive if they get in your tent! This place is comfortable enough for a vacation but rustic enough that you feel like you're in remote Africa! The only advice I would give to bird-lovers is to hire your own guide who knows birds as well as other wildlife. The staff and guides we used did not even know what birds were nesting in a sand bank adjacent to the lodge. One other caveat: the road to the Maasai Mara is only 50km, but takes 3 tortuous hours to drive over stones, ruts, and bumps. There is an airstrip if you can afford to fly in; otherwise, just be prepared to get bounced around.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we used (our group took up 8 out of 12 rooms) were comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have been coming to Oloshaiki every year since they opened, bringing friends along, and we always love the experience----I’ll be back again with a group next month! This small camp blends beautifully into the surrounding environment along the Talek river, where the friendly staff are ever-present to make sure the stay is a sweet escape into the beauty of the area. Spacious tents with comfy big beds and large bathrooms, accented with natural stone and wood, cozy fireside bar area, evening campfires, dining indoors and outside, with great access to the Maasai Mara (and amazing Maasai guides to take you there), all make Oloshaiki a perfect choice for an authentic, natural, yet luxurious Africa adventure.

Room Tip: The tent at the far end has a big private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our stay at this camp was among the most memorable experiences we've had in the Mara. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious and the food was second to none. The camp is situated right next to the Talek River, is quiet and and has a great atmosphere. The staff were incredibly friendly and the service quick and responsive.

The game drives were conducted by Maasai who know the area incredibly well and ensured us plenty of fantastic photography opportunities, we saw all the animals we were hoping to see.

Over-all one of the best experience we've had visiting the Mara, hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oloshaiki Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oloshaiki Camp

Address: Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Oloshaiki Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oloshaiki Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oloshaiki Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.