We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stellar experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekenani Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sekenani Camp
Save
You added Sekenani Camp to your Saves list
6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A stellar experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A rough road in, but well worth it! As we turned into the camp we were met by a herd of elephants! The tents are very comfortable and private and security is tight with Masai present throughout the night and always available--suddenly at your side whenever you leave your tent at night--so quietly it is almost scarey! Meals are excellent, the campfire in the evening fun to sit around and talk with other visitors. The Camp's efforts at low impact on the environment are impressive.

Room Tip: all are in similar locations (not too close together), but lower numbers closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friends and I went to Kenya for the Beest Migration this Aug. We loved the animals and places there, but not the Sekenani Camp.

We planned to stay in Masaai Mara for 4 nights and didn't intend to stay in Sekenani in our trip. However, since it came to our attention a few days before our departure that the lodge we intended to stay was overbooked on the second night, our local travel agent booked the Sekenani Camp as a work around.

The environment of Sekenani Camp is ok and the tents are located very far apart from each other. It's good for people who love privacy and quietness. However, it also provides very good opportunities for thievery to be happened.

During our 1 night stay there, the laptop of one of my friends was being stolen while she was sleeping. Seemed the thief knew very well in the tent layout and where the laptop was located before the light was being shut down suddenly at 10pm, while we were being told that light is on for 24 hours. Since my friend stayed very far apart from reception and we were advised not to go out at night, she didn't report the sudden cut of light in the absence of a phone in the tent and went to sleep.

At 1ish am, she heard some noise and woke up. Light was still not working and she found the part of the tent near her bed has been cut and her laptop was gone!!!

She rushed to reception with her room mate and reported the loss immediately. Hotel staff had guided them to report the loss with police, and they were struggling through the reporting and searching processes till morning. And of course, the laptop was still not found.

We were being told by the manager that it's the first instance for thievery in the Camp. But what I can see in Tripadvisor here that 2 thieveries of cash happened in the camp in 2011. Seems the security has not been improved since those incidents, which made us very disappointed.

We will definitely not return to Sekenani Camp in future!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona , California USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Sent here by another chain after showing up there and told that they were overbooked and hence could not accommodate us.
Arrived at Sekenani full of anger and trepidation. Set in the thick of the Masai Mara several Eco -friendly cabins with the amenities one would expect from a 5 star resort. A swimming pool fed by a natural spring, solar power for the emergency lighting and water heating. Paul the Italian who was the resident advisor to the Lodge, took us on a walk of the premises. We were impressed at their attempt at self sufficiency on table vegetables, grown on the premises and the lodges concern for the environment .Our brief stay was very comfortable , the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Unlike most lodges meals were a la carte and not a buffet. The chef gave us a choice of what was on the menu that day and prepared them with flair.
We left hoping to return someday and spend a little more time at he heart of the wonderful Masai country.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For purposes of rating i clicked May 2012 but travelled May 2009. Nick (Owner) made the trip memorable all the way from Nairobi to the Mara and back. Great holiday with random, interesting strangers. the Bush Breakfast was simply well set, delicious as a pack of Buffaloes watched closely by.

the chef can spin a mean chocolate mousse:-).. The tents are private with a balcony set up in a way that you really do not need to go to the main lounge unless for meals.
The bush fires were warm cozy with the camp staff telling tales of great maasai escapades.

I have to mention though, the pool, extremely cold hahahhahah. but that was a while back.

Kapur's famous vegetable garden.... came out with lovely well rounded tomatoes!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Living in Kenya has given us the opportunity to enjoy many camps around the country. But Sekenani, a quiet paradise.in the Masai Mara, is special. Wildlife is abundant in the area, the raised sleeping places are lovely and comfortable. The food is great. A suggestion: Ask manager Kapur to show you his vegetable garden. Not only impressive what can be grown in the Maasai Mara but you will see love in his eyes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff under Kapur were charming and helpful. The situation set amongst magnificent trees and on two perenial streams was delightful. The tents were comfortable and well sited. We saw more animals in one day than we have seen in many other game reserves. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable on birds, animals, fauna and flora. We had wonderful personal service including a Masai escourt from tent to dining room across the suspension bridge..
John and Veda Carver
Cape Town

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The manager Kapur was very welcoming. The food was excellent and the menu
very accomodating (they made us exactly what we wanted on a very short notice).
All the meals however were all exquisite especially as the vegetables were homegrown (and I mean on site with amazing taste). Tents were very clean and well maintained.
Absolutely nothing we didnt like. The Mara at its best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sekenani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sekenani Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.