We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekenani Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sekenani Camp
Save
You added Sekenani Camp to your Saves list
6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Corona , California USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Sent here by another chain after showing up there and told that they were overbooked and hence could not accommodate us.
Arrived at Sekenani full of anger and trepidation. Set in the thick of the Masai Mara several Eco -friendly cabins with the amenities one would expect from a 5 star resort. A swimming pool fed by a natural spring, solar power for the emergency lighting and water heating. Paul the Italian who was the resident advisor to the Lodge, took us on a walk of the premises. We were impressed at their attempt at self sufficiency on table vegetables, grown on the premises and the lodges concern for the environment .Our brief stay was very comfortable , the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Unlike most lodges meals were a la carte and not a buffet. The chef gave us a choice of what was on the menu that day and prepared them with flair.
We left hoping to return someday and spend a little more time at he heart of the wonderful Masai country.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For purposes of rating i clicked May 2012 but travelled May 2009. Nick (Owner) made the trip memorable all the way from Nairobi to the Mara and back. Great holiday with random, interesting strangers. the Bush Breakfast was simply well set, delicious as a pack of Buffaloes watched closely by.

the chef can spin a mean chocolate mousse:-).. The tents are private with a balcony set up in a way that you really do not need to go to the main lounge unless for meals.
The bush fires were warm cozy with the camp staff telling tales of great maasai escapades.

I have to mention though, the pool, extremely cold hahahhahah. but that was a while back.

Kapur's famous vegetable garden.... came out with lovely well rounded tomatoes!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Living in Kenya has given us the opportunity to enjoy many camps around the country. But Sekenani, a quiet paradise.in the Masai Mara, is special. Wildlife is abundant in the area, the raised sleeping places are lovely and comfortable. The food is great. A suggestion: Ask manager Kapur to show you his vegetable garden. Not only impressive what can be grown in the Maasai Mara but you will see love in his eyes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff under Kapur were charming and helpful. The situation set amongst magnificent trees and on two perenial streams was delightful. The tents were comfortable and well sited. We saw more animals in one day than we have seen in many other game reserves. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable on birds, animals, fauna and flora. We had wonderful personal service including a Masai escourt from tent to dining room across the suspension bridge..
John and Veda Carver
Cape Town

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The manager Kapur was very welcoming. The food was excellent and the menu
very accomodating (they made us exactly what we wanted on a very short notice).
All the meals however were all exquisite especially as the vegetables were homegrown (and I mean on site with amazing taste). Tents were very clean and well maintained.
Absolutely nothing we didnt like. The Mara at its best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in 8 different lodges through Tanzania and Kenya and this was our favorite by far. Everywhere we stayed was lovely and all the staff were friendly and helpful but Sekenani camp was a level above the rest.
The location is lovely, tucked on the far edge of the Masai Mara in a lush wooded valley. With only 14 tents everyone has privacy and space to enjoy the surrounding. The accommodation is spacious, clean and comfortable and although this was not the most luxurious place we stayed, it had a charm which existed nowhere else.
For us though, the staff we the best we have experienced anywhere in the world and we left feeling that we had been welcomed into a family and had made genuine friends. James and Sophia in the restaurant were attentive and caring, Joseph, the barman anticipated our needs with his gentle ways. Doris on reception was always 'smiley' and 'bubbly' and even David and Tyson who escorted us to and from Dinner each evening always took the time to chat and show us things of interest on the way.
While we were there we celebrated my husband's 60th birthday and all the staff made it a magical day that neither of us will forget for which I am truly grateful.
I am certain this wonderful service is due to the visionary Manager, Kapur. We were fortunate enough to enjoy several fascinating chats with Kapur about his philosophies on sustainable tourism and minimal environmental impact. Philosophies he has embraced at the camp to enable it to be self-sufficient in both food and energy. His nurturing of the environment and his staff has resulted in a little slice of paradise in the Mara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We lived in Nairobi for 9years & visited the Masai Mara on numerous occassions staying in a number of tented camps until we discovered Sekenani Camp. We have just returned from our 8th stay at Sekenani Camp & had yet another truely memorable holiday. The staff are wonderful - so friendly, helpful & knowledgable, the food is great & fruit & vegetables are home grown, accommodation very comfortable in a most peaceful setting. There is ample game to be seen around the camp & on game drives to the Mara River during the migration. I would not hesitate in recommending Sekenani Camp to anyone wanting an unforgetable holiday in the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sekenani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sekenani Camp offers an authentic bush experience for visitors wishing to get close to nature. Set at the source of Sekenani River, The camp offers a serene environment in which to relax, unwind and enjoy all the Mara has to offer. It comprises fifteen exceptionally well-designed tents set well apart for ensure maximum privacy. Each tent has a wooden floor and en-suite bathroom complete with full-length bathtub. The camp is accessible in five hours by road or a 45minute flight from Nairobi. Custom safari Vehicles are available by reservation. In addition to game drives in the reserve, guest may walk along the river or over the hills behind the camp escorted by Masai guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sekenani Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.