We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekenani Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sekenani Camp
Save Saved
You added Sekenani Camp to your Saves list
6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Constantia, South Africa
1 review
“A truly memorable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff under Kapur were charming and helpful. The situation set amongst magnificent trees and on two perenial streams was delightful. The tents were comfortable and well sited. We saw more animals in one day than we have seen in many other game reserves. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable on birds, animals, fauna and flora. We had wonderful personal service including a Masai escourt from tent to dining room across the suspension bridge..
John and Veda Carver
Cape Town

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The manager Kapur was very welcoming. The food was excellent and the menu
very accomodating (they made us exactly what we wanted on a very short notice).
All the meals however were all exquisite especially as the vegetables were homegrown (and I mean on site with amazing taste). Tents were very clean and well maintained.
Absolutely nothing we didnt like. The Mara at its best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in 8 different lodges through Tanzania and Kenya and this was our favorite by far. Everywhere we stayed was lovely and all the staff were friendly and helpful but Sekenani camp was a level above the rest.
The location is lovely, tucked on the far edge of the Masai Mara in a lush wooded valley. With only 14 tents everyone has privacy and space to enjoy the surrounding. The accommodation is spacious, clean and comfortable and although this was not the most luxurious place we stayed, it had a charm which existed nowhere else.
For us though, the staff we the best we have experienced anywhere in the world and we left feeling that we had been welcomed into a family and had made genuine friends. James and Sophia in the restaurant were attentive and caring, Joseph, the barman anticipated our needs with his gentle ways. Doris on reception was always 'smiley' and 'bubbly' and even David and Tyson who escorted us to and from Dinner each evening always took the time to chat and show us things of interest on the way.
While we were there we celebrated my husband's 60th birthday and all the staff made it a magical day that neither of us will forget for which I am truly grateful.
I am certain this wonderful service is due to the visionary Manager, Kapur. We were fortunate enough to enjoy several fascinating chats with Kapur about his philosophies on sustainable tourism and minimal environmental impact. Philosophies he has embraced at the camp to enable it to be self-sufficient in both food and energy. His nurturing of the environment and his staff has resulted in a little slice of paradise in the Mara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We lived in Nairobi for 9years & visited the Masai Mara on numerous occassions staying in a number of tented camps until we discovered Sekenani Camp. We have just returned from our 8th stay at Sekenani Camp & had yet another truely memorable holiday. The staff are wonderful - so friendly, helpful & knowledgable, the food is great & fruit & vegetables are home grown, accommodation very comfortable in a most peaceful setting. There is ample game to be seen around the camp & on game drives to the Mara River during the migration. I would not hesitate in recommending Sekenani Camp to anyone wanting an unforgetable holiday in the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

As a geography professor, I have been traveling overseas for the past 30 years and I must say that Sekenani Camp was a great location with fantastic people and tents, service and hospitality. The Dean of Wildlife and Natural Resources at Narok University recommended this camp from personal experience and we were extremely pleased with everything. The self-titled Supreme Allied Commander of the camp, Mr. Lucho Ilkapur, was most welcoming and saw to all of our needs and requests. Be sure to ask to see his wonderful vegetable and herb garden that he is so very proud to show. The food was some of the best anywhere in tropical Africa (great Kenyan coffee, too, which is hard to find here), and elevated tents complete with hot water, baths, showers, and more that I could desire in such a location. If you are driving here be sure to enter the Masai Mara Reserve and the Sekenani Gate (look at a map!) and the camp will be easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for Cabin number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Calif
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I were lucky our agent George, with Let's Go Travel in Nairobi, arranged for us to spend a few nights here in late February 2012. We have stayed at many tent camps during our four African trips and this is right up there with the best. It is a long travel from most everywhere and you do have to climb a few stairs from your vehicle up to the camp but when you reach the top you find a wonderful dining tent with indoor and outdoor seating. The bar is well stocked and they even have Amarula from South Africa, which is not easy to find. The staff is wonderful and the suspension bridge between the dining tent, the small curio shop and the sleeping tents is cute. The tents are hidden under and around some great trees and they are built about 4ft off the ground on steel poles with a solid foundation, what I call an elevated tent camp. It is not a mobile camp so everything is fixed in place. The food was wonderful, the service great, and we were lucky the camp General Manager, Nick Wood, was there when we were so enjoyed having drinks and dinner with him. He is a great host and it was very interesting to find out about the 2nd project he is working on outside Nairobi, setting up a manufacturing plant to make "Kili Creme", a great drink that may rival Amarula some day. The wildlife abounds around the camp and you can find almost everything you want to see. For the 1st time in four trips to Africa I finally got a pix of a lioness taking a bath about 30 min from this camp. If you want a real Africa experience, vs a luxury lodge, this is your place.

Room Tip: The staff here will go out of their way to assist you in every way. They also sell some real homema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Four of us had a very unique and memorable experience at the beautiful Sekenani Camp. Lucho Ilkapur ("Kapur") the manager was welcoming and hospitable. Alex gave us personalized service and responded to our every whim. The food was FABULOUS and he served our dinner on the veranda under a full moon with the electrifying night sounds of Africa. Thank you Kapur & Alex!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sekenani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sekenani Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.