We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond imagination and worth every penny!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngerende Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ngerende Island Lodge to your Saves list
Ngerende Island Lodge
PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond imagination and worth every penny!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We travel a lot and so far this has been the best experience we have ever had when it comes to service and hospitality. The only problem was that the Lodge was so nice (with our room overlooking a hippo pool), it's easy to stay there and not go for a game drive: the room, the pool area, the spa, the restaurant are all nice places to just hang out and watch the hippos and crocodiles in the river. Room was superb: large comfy bed, fireplace, hot bath & shower from solar heating, flushing toilet. Also very nice spa on-site with great view of hippos and crocs, with the occasional monkey passing by. An experience of a lifetime! It is exactly as shown on their website. Electrical power was available all the time we were (awake) at the lodge. Game drives were great! Steve is an excellent driver, and he knows how to find the animals! It was like being in National Geographic live! We saw lots of animals: zebras, giraffes, impalas, wildebeests, buffaloes, cheetah, jackals, hyenas, elephants, baboons, monkeys, lions (some with fresh kills), etc. etc. We highly recommend the full-day game drive to the Masai Mara National Park. The game walk with Masai Daniel passing by the nearby Masai village was very interesting. The chef was excellent and discussed every meal with us. Our private butler Evans was attentive to our every need and beyond. Ngerende also supports the local Masai, such as building a school for the Masai children. The lodge is fantastic, but what impressed us most is the level of personalized service. They really want you to have a great time, and that is what you get. We highly recommend Ngerende for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ngerende Island Lodge was everything we wanted and more. The accommodation was great, the service even better - Evans was incredibly friendly and helpful, the chef surpassed himself, and you felt safe with the Maasai watchman taking you to your room at night. Waking up to the sounds of the river was fantastic, the game drives superb and we were very lucky to see almost everything. The spa is magical, located right above shallow rapids. Intact our entire Ngerende experience was just simply brilliant and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you very much To everyone at Ngerende for making our stay so good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ngerende Island Lodge far exceeded our expectations. The quality of the accommodation, service, attitudes of staff and overall experience was outstanding. Having a personal butler (Walter is a STAR) ensures you have a very personal experience and your every need is catered to. The chef was VERY accommodating, changing our meals to suit our likes, presentation of food was beautiful and not to mention the quality and quantity. The only comment we had on the food was more variety for desserts and some improvement on them, otherwise all meals were of a VERY high standard (specially the bread, baked fresh everyday). Our game drivers Stephen and Charles were very responsive and listened to what we wanted to see and advised us accordingly on the best places to go for a drive to see the action. All of the staff were fantastic and made us feel very at home, cannot commend them enough. Loved coming back to the fire place in our suite and hot jacuzzi every night. We were upgraded for FREE to the honeymoon suite and on our last night had the chef cooking on our deck in the room, gifted with a bottle of champagne. Downsides - we had a problem with our hot water the first night though staff did everything they could to have it fixed by the next day. The plunge and infinity pools MUST be heated as they are too cold to use in the winter. They should also invest in a coffee machine, would be great to have a cappuccino in the morning. On location of the camp - it’s quite a driver to the Mara (approx 2 hours with some stopping on the way to take pics etc) so if you want to experience the migration everyday would suggest staying inside the Mara. I personally preferred the luxury accommodation and making the trek in for the day. We also saw lions, cheetahs and the elusive leopard on the conservancy so you definitely don't miss out on any animals (only the density of animals is less). Overall I would rate this as 7 star in the wild, thank you Ngerende for everything.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the honeymoon suite, only difference is the plunge pool (needs to be heated). Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

you simply have to go here. lovely, lovely, lovely. from people to the scenery. and its sooooooo incredible. the staff are simply wonderful. just next to the river mara and there are very few rooms so the service is very personal...........i had no complaints whatsoever. not even one. great for get aways. no telly in the rooms so if u love your entertainment carry your laptop e.t.c!

Room Tip: no flooring here. rooms are very separate and all on ground. its like having your own little cabin f...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While in Kenya for some medical mission work, my husband & I were able to get away for a long weekend to the Mara. He surprised me with a stay in this incredible resort. We were welcomed by the Masai chanting around us as they escorted us to our check-in and greeted with fresh juice. When we made it to our tent/room, I kind of freaked out a little. It was SO gorgeous, and we could look down and watch the hippos in the water. Our butler, Walter, attended to everything we could have possibly needed, and we settled in for lunch near the infinity pool.

After our evening game drives, we would arrive back to a fire in the fireplace, and a hot bath drawn in the bathtub. The meals were extraordinary, and the chef was very inventive with limited resources, including a garden on the property. During the day we booked a couples massage & spa treatment. I don't know when I will next be able to get a massage while listening to the hippos in the Mara River.

Daniel - our Masai cultural ambassador - was very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject matter, and our game driver was also great, entertaining us with stories when we had a less-than-successful drive one evening.

The best moment was our last morning, which was my husband's birthday. I had mentioned it to Walter, thinking we could have a little piece of cake with a candle. After our walking safari and breakfast, we heard the unmistakable sound of the approaching Masai in full traditional dress, as they came in, surrounded our table, and the chef brought in a HUGE cake with candles as the whole staff sang to him. I was nearly in tears; it went so far above and beyond what I had expected and gave him a birthday he will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here 2 yrs ago and have only got round to commenting on our experience which was utterly amazing . We were moved here from fairmont safari camp dueto error in booking . We had the most amazing few days . I cannot fault a thing . The staff were exceptional rooms absolutely beautiful with views across the river . The food was prepared to our liking they even made a cake on our departure . The game drives were well organised even down to a surprise lunch on the mara and would you believe a portaloo !!! It's the best safari experience I've ever had I hope to return one day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This safari was truly a dream come true... though thinking about it, I really don't believe that I have ever dreamt of something as beautiful as Ngerende. This was my 4th trip to the Masai Mara and having stayed at the standard hotels, we decided to try out a boutique hotel for a change.

Though it is on the more expensive side, what Ngerende offers is an all inclusive stay and believe me, it is a wonderful experience when you know that there are no extra costs and you can simply enjoy the pleasures of the hotel. We stayed at the honeymoon suite and it was simply beautiful. The room has its own fireplace, a large deck, an outside pool, a standalone bath facing the mara river, a fantastic canopy bed... and...and.... and. We had our own butler for the entire stay and he took care of our every wish. He noted what drinks we liked with our meals, what foods we liked and aimed to ensure that the following day, our wishes were served even before we needed to make a request.

After every morning game drive and evening drive, we came back to find the fireplace lit and a bubble bath ran for us!! This was such a pleasant surprise! The Chef also ensured that he asked for our feedback after every meal and also to ask if there was anything in particular we wanted for the next meal. He even allowed my fiance to show him how to make eggs the way my fiance liked and the next day, the chef ensured he cooked them just like that! I truly applaud an establishment that takes customer feedback seriously and that is looking to better itself each day - kudos to the chef!

A very warm thank you to the staff at Ngerende, each one of you made our stay memorable. We have stayed at several 5 star hotels, and there I would say you deserve 8 stars not just for the lodge but especially for the service and warmness of your staff!!

Keep it up and keep continuing to better yourselves each day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, you can then get to see the hippos and also the sound of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngerende Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.