We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngerende Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ngerende Island Lodge to your Saves list
Ngerende Island Lodge
PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sammamish
1 review
“A beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Accommodations were great; chef and food were spectacular; service was good but the staff try too hard. Perhaps they are new and not quite comfortable with their work but they were a little over zealous which made us somewhat awkward at times. They were wonderful for sure but they need to relax and enjoy being with the guests. Also, I prefer not to be asked more than once if I am interested in the spa, or other items. Best practice to simply mention what the lodge offers as extras and leave it at that; don't continue to ask or encourage guests to use those things. It feels pushy and on vacation, I want to not feel like I have to fend off eager staff who want me to spend more money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
76
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This new, modern lodge in the Mara exceeded all of our expectations. It rightly qualifies as a five-star facility--the suites are attractive and comfortable; the views are terrific, including the river with dozens of active, interesting hippos; the staff were so caring, attentive, and anxious to please; and the roaming, resident eland (7 months old) was a delight! The food was excellent and served elegantly in different places--next to the infinity pool, in a wilderness setting, and on the front lawn. Our 24/7 butler prepared a hot bath and started a blazing fire in our suite's fireplace while we were at dinner each night; he secured our walls--the suite is beautifully open-air during the day--and he washed and ironed our clothes (part of the package). The deep-tissue massage was complimentary and wonderful. We saw wildlife on safari--including lions mating!--and enjoyed getting up close to the animals (very little restriction here re proximity, unlike other sections of the Mara). This is a most special place where you will be pampered and hate to leave.

Room Tip: There are seven suites at this Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

NIL has become my favorite lodge in the Mara! Everything is perfect about this small & exclusive property. The most friendliest staff & super self motivated group of people I have met in the industry. I felt at home literally! This property deserves a big thumbs up! My only advice is don't go alone! This is definitely the place to share with a loved one!

Great fresh food from their organic garden & they cater extremely well for vegetarians! Isaac is a great chef & truly a gem for NIL. They have great game drive vehicles & knowledgeable guides for both game drives & walks. Daniel is a super naturalist & you can learn more about the Maasai culture from him.

Ten - NIL for this wonderful lodge! They are truly leading my example! I can't wait to revisit this lodge again in the near future. Keep up the great work! All the best!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our experience at Ngerende Island Lodge was beyond our expectations. The lodge is heaven on earth! The staff took good care of us and were very friendly yet professional. Daniel is very charming, Linet was overly effective, Peter the driver made sure we were comfortable whilst going for the game drives and bush dinners, Isaac must be one of the best chefs in the world! He made sure the kids meals were always ready on time. And then we met Rosemary who is definitely a ‘miracle worker’. She gave the best massages we have ever had! We met Walter, Evans, Wellington, David and many others whose names I have forgotten but will always remember their generous spirits and extraordinarily good customer service. Oh, not to forget the Eland who is definitely part of the Ngerende team!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I cannot understate how amazing our stay at Ngerende was..have visited lots of lodges in the mara but this just did it for us! The Service, the food, the staff, the room all beyond our expectations and theres not a thing I can complain about..would recommend any couple looking for luxury plus safari adventure to book this place ASAP. We stayed for only 2 nights but each meal was a surprise for us-from breakfast in the national park to lunch in the garden to dinner under the star lit sky..I only wish we stayed longer! We received alot of warmth and love from the staff and we are definitely looking forward to our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have just returned from our 3 night stay at Ngerende Island Lodge and miss it already! I am quite a critical traveller and can usually find something lacking in most accommodations. Not at Ngerende. The suites are my exact idea of what would be the perfect place to spend the night in the Masai Mara. The game drives were just right, the food was exceptional, the service was attentive, even the weather cooperated (we were warned that it is long rain season in April, but we only had a few sprinkles on our last morning there).
All the big things are done well of course, and the small details made Ngerende extra special for me: hot or cold towels awaiting you when you return from an outing (game drive or walk); hot bath waiting when you return to your suite for the night; nice warm fire burning in your suite in the evening; well thought out and designed canvas "tent" enclosures in the suites; beautiful mosquito netting surrounding the bed, which was not claustrophobic :). And of course the fabulous organic garden... and spa ;)

It is obvious that the owners have spent considerable time and money to get everything just right. We will definitely be returning to this "island" paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara, Kenya / Indiana, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

From the reviews you can see the place is a perfect visit. I just want to add that in addition to the quality of the stay that the owners & staff have just as much love & concern for the area wildlife, environment & people in the area too. I love this camp and respect its staff and owners more than any of the hundred camps I have visited in East Africa.

It is a complete package.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngerende Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.