We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngerende Island Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ngerende Island Lodge to your Saves list
Ngerende Island Lodge
PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Island Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have just returned from our 3 night stay at Ngerende Island Lodge and miss it already! I am quite a critical traveller and can usually find something lacking in most accommodations. Not at Ngerende. The suites are my exact idea of what would be the perfect place to spend the night in the Masai Mara. The game drives were just right, the food was exceptional, the service was attentive, even the weather cooperated (we were warned that it is long rain season in April, but we only had a few sprinkles on our last morning there).
All the big things are done well of course, and the small details made Ngerende extra special for me: hot or cold towels awaiting you when you return from an outing (game drive or walk); hot bath waiting when you return to your suite for the night; nice warm fire burning in your suite in the evening; well thought out and designed canvas "tent" enclosures in the suites; beautiful mosquito netting surrounding the bed, which was not claustrophobic :). And of course the fabulous organic garden... and spa ;)

It is obvious that the owners have spent considerable time and money to get everything just right. We will definitely be returning to this "island" paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mara, Kenya / Indiana, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

From the reviews you can see the place is a perfect visit. I just want to add that in addition to the quality of the stay that the owners & staff have just as much love & concern for the area wildlife, environment & people in the area too. I love this camp and respect its staff and owners more than any of the hundred camps I have visited in East Africa.

It is a complete package.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Ngerende island is a must place to visit for everybody. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the decor is out of this world. The service is excellent and the staff are very polite, concerned with their guests and gave us a very personalized service. Out barterer was the best i have seen in this world. The welcome we received made us feel special. The investment made on the property did not leave anything to imagination, it is done to the last pit. I loved the pool. It overlooks the river full of hippos and one feels like they are swimming with the hippos. The different dinning places are well thought and very well set up. Thanks to the Ngerende family for making my holiday the best so far!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This has been the most memorable trip to the Maasai Mara! Everything was perfect, starting with the amazing welcome we got from all the staff, the rooms, meals and surroundings! The service was absolutely fantastic.
The staff were very competent, starting with the driver who is also an excellent and knowledgable tour guide. The guy in charge of hospitality gave us a great sundowner in the middle of the savannah and explained eveything about the masai. The house keeping would ensure our room was decorated nicely with flowers, and that the jacuzzi which was overlooking the river, was filled with hot and bubbly water. The massage was great in their lovely little spa, while the receptionist and every body else was so friendly and made sure nothing was lacking. The chef was so polite and professional. He catered to our special vegetarian requirements and hosted the meals in different locations each time eg in the bedroom balcony, near the pool overlooking the hippos and in the garden. His assistant would also serve us with good ettiqutte, each time giving us the ingredients in the food that was so well presented with printed menus specially for us. The barman was also friendly and served us with a smile.
All I can say is that if you want the best in the Mara go to Ngerende Island Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We travel well but have never found a place with the service as exceptional as at Ngerende Island Lodge. I won't repeat all the things others have said other than to say that their comments may seem over the top but their comments are all actually true. Our comments are about our more unique experiences.

From the time Maasai people who greeted us and danced and chanted with us into the lodge to the farewell from the lodge staff as we left three days later, we were treated like royalty.

Here are some examples:

Lunch was set up at a different spot on the grounds each day with two people serving just the two of us some really good food and wine. We loved the way the talapia was served (picture included). On our second day the chef took us to the garden and we picked the items for a fresh garden salad lunch. There is a full time gardener. They truly serve you the food you want If it is available and the garden was quite large. On the third day we went on an all day game drive into the Masai Mara and a chef and assistant drove to the Mara to make our lunch. A grill was set up on site and a lunch was prepared just for the two of us (picture included). This was a long long way from the lodge but it was clear to us that they would go to great lengths to make our experience with Ngerende Island Lodge outstanding. Our lunch was a cooked pasta and chicken that was excellent.

The game viewing was good. Our best game viewing day was nearly a 10 hour day in the Mara where we saw the marsh pride of lions, a jackal chasing a lion's tail (a highlight of our trip) and along the way other lions, cheetah and most other animals. Another review said there was an extra charge for going to the Mara. We had no extra charge - we only had very extra service.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who came over from Nairobi for a short visit. We learned of their goal to make a lodge that was different from others. They wanted more of a Boutique Hotel experience rather than a tented camp experience. They have succeeded and we thoroughly enjoyed this as a unique experience however as a rule we do prefer the tented safari camps.

The grounds are lovely and completely surrounded by the Mara river on three sides and fenced in on the fourth side. Walking around the grounds was safe, lovely, and does not require guard.

If you want a safari experience that includes wildlife viewed from your room you will only see hippos and cows tended by Maasi. Having said that the birding on site was good and lions were seen across from the lodge on the day we arrived.

The selection of wines available in the included plan was nil. They had one red wine that was bad (to our taste) so we settled for white wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Ngerende for our wedding and honeymoon. We had never been to Kenya and we were very impressed with the location and the experience staying at Ngerende. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is amazing. They took care of everything for our wedding and made sure we felt very special since it was our honeymoon. The local village also participated in our wedding which made it very unique. The game drives were great. We did the all day game drive and the regular ones. We saw a lot of lions and we were also able to see a large group of elephants with several babies. I would highly recommend this hotel as they will make sure all of your requests are met and then some.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from Kenya - Ngerende is everything that the other reviews say...and more! I simply cannot over-emphasise what a gem this place is. The location - surrounded by wildlife on the banks of the Mara River - complete with our own Hippos - is just spectacular. The rooms are open to the outside without being too "temporary" - they offer the ultimate luxury, sitting in an open air bubble bath with the Kenyan countryside surrounding you has to be one of the most indulgent and enjoyable experiences ever! The people are what really make Ngerende unforgettable - Edward the chef created meals that surpassed all expectations, Daniel the Masai naturalist and Patrick the driver took us out on Safaris (both driven and walking) that were just amazing. From Cheetahs to Lions and everything in between - we saw it all! If that wasn't enough we had one of the best massages of our lives whilst overlooking the river and a family of sunbathing Hippos - The Lodge also supports the local community, and we went to see the local school for the nearby Masai village children which the hotel is supporting. The real deal!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngerende Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.