We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience At Oldarpoi Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Save Saved
You added Oldarpoi Mara Camp to your Saves list
3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience At Oldarpoi Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We decided to use public transport from Nairobi to the town of Naikara where we were picked up to head to Sekenani and to the camp. Our first stop from Nairobi was the town of Narok where we then picked another 'matatu' to Naikara - about 3-4 hours drive to arrive in the little town of Naikara where our friends, Dr. Koshal and his wife, who are co-owners of Oldarpoi Mra Camp picked us. Using public transport was an experience and a half - one we shall never forget. It takes a bit longer though and the ride a bit rough but you get an early chance to begin to interact with the community long before you arrive in the Mara. I have since written a story of some of the experinces we had on my travel blog for those who may wish to read more here http://www.enchanted-landscapes.com/el_travelogue/archives/1367 and here http://www.enchanted-landscapes.com/el_travelogue/archives/1377

Room Tip: Remember to zip up your tent as you go for dinner in the evening otherwise insects attracted to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
47
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi with high expectations for Oldarpoi Mara camp, since we had read so many positive things about the camp on TripAdvisor. The camp turned out to be even better than we had imagined.

Friday morning Mr. Nelson picked us up at Nairobi airport and drove us up to Masai Mara. After about 5-6 hours we arrived at the Oldarpoi Mara camping were the crew served us a delicious dinner made by the chef Willy and the maid Frida, and served by Jeremiah. Saturday we went on safari all day. Mr. Nelson together with the Masai hunter Jackson at his side were the best to spot the animals. Over the weekend we saw all the big 5 (including eight lions, a leopard and two chitas) except rhinos, as there are (apparently) a small rhino population. We saw ostriches, many interesting birds, hippos and lots of elephants and giraffes. It is amazing how close we came, and Mr. Nelson set the car in such positions that one could take wonderful pictures. We had picnic on the savannah and ate a lovely lunch with various dishes. In the evening we were watching the sunset from the house Mr. Nelson is building up gradually from savings, this is to extend this safari offer.

Sunday we went for both morning and evening safari. It was absolutely fabulous since the atmosphere at the savanna is completely different compared to the day due to the beautiful light. Mr. Jackson took us to his Masai village, where we were welcomed by a dance. We were guided around the village and they had prepared a market for us. Good tips to bring some local money here. I bought this gorgeous masaii jewellery and ornaments. We left Monday morning after safari.

We slept in a very nice tent, with wide comfortable beds and a bathroom with toilet and hot shower extension. In the evenings we could hear howls from the hyenas, but we felt safe all the time because of the two masai warriors who guarded the area.

The most memorable is probably the dinners we shared with Mr. Nelson. Mr. Nelson is knowledgeable and reflected, and during the three dinners we had together we learned a lot about the Masai people, Kenya and Africa. He works hard to improve the living conditions for the Masai people, by initiating education. We had so much fun with Mr. Nelson, he has a wonderful sense of humor!
It's the small things that make this camp so outstanding. Mr. Nelson and his crew know what you want before you know it yourself. In addition, it was good to know that the safari brings resources back to the community.

We had high expectations before the trip and the were fulfilled several times! This will be be a memory for life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our adventure started at Nairobi Airport, where Mr Nelson picked us up. It is a 5 hour drive from the airport to Oldarpoi Mara Camp, and we had a few stops along the way, for sightseeing and dinner. As we arrived at the camp, it was already late, but the crew was all lined up waiting for us with exactly what we needed after a long journey; warm wash cloths and excellent food.

The accomodation was good, big tents with two beds ( you can easily squeeze two persons in the same bed if you're a couple) and connected bathroom with hot shower. After a good night sleep (with the sound of hyenas lurking in the night haha) it was safari time. Willie, the chef, makes excellent breakfast, lunch, dinner, you name it. If you go, please ask if he could make cucumber soup, best soup I've ever had!

Safari was awesome, we saw so many animals, elephants, giraffes, ostriches, lions, leopard, warthogs, hippos; we even saw a cheeta having gaselle for breakfast. Jackson, a masai warrior, impressed us all with his animal spotting. At our full day safari we also had a picnic in Masai Mara, unbelievable. Our favourite game drives were in the morning, the atmosphere is amazing. Along the way, Nelson taught us so much about the different birds and animals, not to mention: he always made sure we had the best position among all safari vans when there was something to see.

Jackson took us to his Masai Village, where we could enjoy traditional dance and music, challenge the masai people in jumping ( didn't stand a chance!) and had a tour in their village. They also had a market where you could buy decorations, traditional weapons, lion tails etc. You do not have to buy anything at all, but we found a lot that we're so glad we brought home.

Our vacation is filled with so many good conversations, stories and laughs, culture, kenyan and masai history, awesome pictures of animals, great food experiences, and great service. The crew really knows how to make you feel at home. Lots of comfort and high standards for a very good price. We had great expectations before we arrived, and yet, they blew our mind.

Jeremiah, Frida, Nelson, Jackson and Willie, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are great, tents are comfortable and hosts are good. Nelson and his team are friendly. Location is great, very near to the gate. Overall, you can really enjoy your stay here. However, our stay could have been better, we had many instances, which obviously disappointed us, given all the great reviews. First night, our shower broke down, there was no hot water. It took the team an hour to fix it up, we could do nothing but wait. There was atleast 2 instances when the food was short of requirement in term of quantity and we were left hungry, however the taste was good, Will(Cook) even extended to prepare a Vegetarian food. The safari's were great, however, I think probably the guide were new, they were referring to book to tell information about animals and birds. We went during the migration and the guide took us between hoards of animals which was wonderful experience. Next was the Masai village walk. Really, I think this was more made for tourist purposes. The sample hut, the shopping arena, and exaggerated prices, for anything you ask for. The owner, took us to Lake Nakuru and back to Airport, made us comfortable. I would look for other options next time I visit Masai Mara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our five days with Nelson and the crew at Oldarpoi...two travel days and three game drive days...were just what we were looking for: great people, learning about not only animals but the people who have lived here for millennia, and expert safari guides who went out of their way to help us see everything we came looking for. This is not the classic Great White Hunter safari experience.

Highlights:
Accommodation is simple and adequate -- tents with comfortable beds and attached bathrooms -- and food is mostly African, ably prepared by camp chef Willy. A number of local Maasai guys work there as well, both around the camp and as safari guides, and one evening prepared Ngoma choma (barbecued meat) just as they did at the Maasai village 2 Km away. One potential downside to the tents is that beds are not quite big enough for two people (though each tent has two beds). To be honest, we were so beat by the end of the day that it didn't really matter.

The camp is located 5 minutes from the gates to the park, and as nobody can start game drives before 6:30 a.m. anyway, you're in just as good a position as those inside the park to see morning game.

Staff were very caring. We arrived about two days after my wife had taken a fall in Tanzania, and she was hurting quite badly. The staff were very accommodating, ferrying her back to the camp halfway through a game drive, bringing her tea and ensuring that she was comfortable.

Tips:

- Request a tent away from the dining hall and campfire if you tend to retire early
- Request Nelson as your tour guide (although the other guys are good as well, I found Joseph to be highly knowledgable but a bit abrasive)
- Definitely tour the Maasai village
- Hang out around the campfire with the young people who work at the camp, and see if Jeremiah will teach you to throw his spear!
- Don't underestimate the safari vans...those little suckers can get through anything, and provide very good visibility

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a basic comfortable tent camp with good simple meals. Staff is friendly and outgoing. Game drives were excellent and we saw an abundance of wildlife. It felt good to stay at a camp that gives back to the community.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A custom tour where we were picked up at Nairobi, driven to Lakes Nakuru and Navaisha and then to Oldarpoi for our safari then back to Nairobi in a van (not 4wd) that just kept on going. Nelson and his staff were great, things just happened - it was all made to be pretty easy.

Sound infrastructure that gave us everything we needed. Hot water 24/7, lighting via a generator. Food was fresh and good and abundant (thanks Willie and Samuel). Campfire at night. It was all pretty homely.

The tents could do with smaller beds - there wasn't much space within the tent (although another reviewer likes that the beds were big so guess it's a preference thing). Nelson gave us separate tents to address this, with a guard through the night for the critters. Not that there was much - as for other reviews, there were lots of hyenas close by but nothing else which was mildly disappointing - I guess you want to feel safe but with a frisson of danger. So the animals don't follow the script, maybe because they are not in a zoo?

We saw an abundance of closeups of lions, giraffes and all the rest on safari - including a black rhino and her young.

Oh and Nelson came straight back to the airport when - silly me - I left a bag behind in the van.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldarpoi Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;