We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Save
You added Oldarpoi Mara Camp to your Saves list
3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 day/3 night safari at Oldarpoi Mara Camp over Christmas and would highly recommend it. All of the camp employees were so kind and welcoming. Our whole family felt perfectly safe and comfortable during our stay. We had amazing game drives in the Masai Mara. We saw so many beautiful animals and it was such a restful, rejuvenating experience. We also visited the neighboring Masai village and that was also an amazing experience. Keep in mind, it is camping not a lodge. You do sleep in a tent so you should be prepared for a few bugs (though we never saw any mosquitos. yeah!:-)), no outlets in the tents and getting ready by flashlight for early morning game drives (there are electric lights in the evenings). But with nice beds and an attached private bathroom with shower, sink and flush toiliet--and maid service cleaning up immaculately each day, it was definitely the NICEST camping we've ever experienced. It rained nearly every night we were there but we stayed perfectly dry and comfortable. The nice concrete pathways between tents and the dining hall helped keep things neat and the tents are spread far enough apart to give some privacy.With two teenagers who eat frequently and a family of generally unadventurous eaters, we were a little concerned about how the food would be. Just to be safe, we packed a lot of snack foods in our luggage so we could supplement if needed. We ate very little of these snacks because the food at Oldarpoi was great! They cooked up large hot meals, three meals a day with enough choices to satisfy everyone's tastes. The whole family loved the food. Even the sack lunches they packed for our all-day game drive were impressive. Overall just a wonderful time. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
50
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked 3 day, 2 night stay here- Nelson picked us up from the airport and we immediately started our safari adventures there (passing by the rift valley overlook- the most breath-taking view of the kenyan valley landscape), making it to camp by early afternoon. The staff were all locals and extremely attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable of the masai people and their customs. Benson (our driver) was fantastic and plugged into the network of safari rangers, Willie (the cook, a masai) served up delicious hot meals every morning and night, and all the other staff made us feel so welcome. You can arrange a tour of the masai village (where Willie and Nelson are from) on one of the afternoons, where the community will come and greet you by dancing and taking you on a tour of the cattle pen, the houses, and the schools (one of the major ones is one that Nelson built for the masai community, serving several hundred students). The "community" section of their website has a nice summary of their activities. All in all, I highly recommend Oldarpoi to anyone interested in beautiful game drives, knowledgeable tour guides, friendly and local staff members who are plugged into the masai community. Thank you all at Oldarpoi for making this such an amazing experience!! Lillian

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the beginning of setting up the Safari Nelson was great. Very helpful with plans and professional. I was a little worried about sending money overseas for a deposit at first, but it was easy, and Nelson let me know asap when the funds arrived.

The Camp and Safari experience could not have been better. We did 4 days with them in December and saw every animal possible it seemed, including the BIG 5, largely thanks to our amazing guide Joseph. He was so much fun and so friendly, and incredible at finding the big game.

The camp is operated by Nelson and other Masai tribe people. Its a GREAT experience to stay with them and learn about their lives.

During our visit we filmed a video and you can view it on Youtube if you like by searching "Masai Mara Kenya Safari with Oldarpoi Camp"

Great trip, highly recommend Oldarpoi Mara Camp!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We absolutely loved our short stay at Oldarpoi- we wished it could be much longer. The setting, the food, the people the whole experience was fantastic.
Thank you to Nelson and his incredible team at Oldarpoi we had a trip we would never forget. I would highly recommend staying here, its beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Right when we were picked up in Nairobi by Nelson - who has been in contact with me from the beginning - we already felt welcomed and at ease. There are hundreds of reasons you should choose Oldarpoi, but here they are in a quick list:

-All inclusive camp (only extras are tips, souvenirs, and excursions with the local village)
-Park fees included
-Expert communication from Nelson
-Best Chef you could hope for, Willy, accommodated my dietary restrictions
-Trucks were comfortable
-The drive from Nairobi to Mara was scenic and beautiful
-Our drivers helped us bargain for souvenirs
-The service at camp was incredible from their managers and local Masai warriors
-Cost is affordable and fair
-The drive into the park is only 5 minutes
-Our drivers were excellent at getting us to see the big 5
-Tents were comfortable and private
-Local Masai were warm and inviting

Oldarpoi is a great value and you get way more than you pay for. Plus, the money they earn supports the local Masai community. They've already built a school, are working on a library, and they train local Masai in hospitality.

They were generous and kind and our experience was unforgettable. Many people think they need to pay tons of money to stay inside the reserve, but Oldarpoi is only 5 minutes outside the gate. Its very worth it to stay here. You get the same service, see the same animals, and you're supporting a community.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked a 5 day safari for my husband and me which Nelson organised for us, first visiting Lake Nakuru and Lake Navaisha then returning to Oldarpoi for 4 nights. We couldn't have asked for more personal service with Nelson and Jimmy as our guides. Jimmy did a great job of getting us up close and personal to the wildlife. There were times we could have reached out and touched the lions. It wasn't until we went in a hot air balloon that we realised there were parts of the Masai Mara that weren't teeming with animals because everywhere we went we saw so many. And while other vehicles on safari were full of people, we had the luxury of just the two of us in the van with our two guides.
We also were the only guests at Oldarpoi so received such personalised service that we felt like part of the family. Willy, the best cook in Kenya provided tasty hearty food, Massi, the manager was always attentive and our Masai Mara warriors who provided our safety and securty were always cheerful and helpful. Special thanks to Jeremiah 1 and 2 and Jeffrey for their friendliness.
Don't miss the visit to the local Masai village and the school. Nelson went out of his way to make our stay special, organising surprise drinks and and nibbles as the sun went down on the deck of the lodge he is building.
Don't come to Oldarpoi if you need 5 star luxury on your holiday. But if you want to get to know the local people of the Masai Mara, and know that you are helping support the local school and the local people to earn a livelihood and learn skills, then this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I came across Oldarpoi through tripadvisor and it proved to be a great way to enjoy Masai Mara - the camp feels like it really belongs to Masai Mara. It is very simple, and goes well with the natural environment of the safari, but it is also a great place to relax, have great food, have lovely conversations with Nelson, the owner, who spares no time in telling his guests about the idea behind the camp and the story of the Masai. Joseph, our driver, was extremely friendly and had a clear mission to show us as much of the safari as possible. We finished the big 5 and many more in just two game drives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldarpoi Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.