We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing, authentic African experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Camp

Save Saved
You added Karen Blixen Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C13 Lolgorien -north-western Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing, authentic African experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just returned from a two week stay to Africa where I was lucky enough to experience three different lodges on Safari and this was my favorite! With only 22 tents and a wonderful staff who really took the time to get to know me and make sure everything was just as I wished, I couldn't have dreamed of a better experience. Derrick, my waiter made sure to bring me refills of whatever I was drinking and even got me another entree because I couldn't make up my mind what to eat. The food was great! The massage in the open-air tent alongside the river was so memorable and felt amazing I even added on another treatment. The driver who picked me up from another camp and brought me to a Masai village where I danced with the women and men and then to a school where I was able to sing and read to the kids was one of the most unforgettable times of my life. This is what I think about daily and will never forget!!! I loved sitting around the campfire at night with visitors from all over the world and the staff who run a teaching kitchen for the local Masai. And, how the manager personally greets you and sits down with you to welcome you and then at the end of the day discusses your drives and answers any questions you have. I needed to change my flight and I was lucky enough that they set that up for me with ease and allowed me to have lunch too. I didn't want to leave :((((

The tent was huge and so comfortable. I loved the day bed on the porch and now wish I was sitting there watching the hippos, elephants, zebras and baboons all living their life while I was lucky enough to be privy enough to watch it! The outdoor shower in the sunlight is such a bonus too!!!! Just make sure to ask for a tent that is not too far from the main area because it can be a 10 minute walk.I forgot to mention I was traveling by myself and everyone made me feel so welcome!!!!!!!!
Thank you for my wonderful experience the staff at Karen Blixen Camp

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
75
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited the Karen Blixen Camp for the second year in a row. It was every bit as wonderful as I had remembered. We arrived on the flight from Nanyuki at about 11:00am and before we even got to the camp, we had already seen elephants, giraffes, cape buffalo, and many kinds of deer. Lunch was a very nice buffet, and then we were off on our first game drive. Our guide, Nicholas was fantastic! He is wonderfully knowledgable about every living thing on the Mara. Ask him to sing, he has a beautiful voice.
Our tent facing the Mara River was luxurious and comfortable. After a wonderful outdoor shower, we had a lovely dinner, then returned to find the beds turned down with hot water bottles warming them for us. Next morning we had a wonderful buffet breakfast-the omelet bar is fabulous-and off on another game drive, with Nicholas again as our guide. We saw everything we'd seen the day before, as well as lions, a cheetah, and a leopard. Nicholas knows all of the animals by name and where to find them.
Everyone at the camp is helpful and professional, and the tents are wonderful. My only complaint was that the WiFi wasn't working, although cell reception was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Karen Blixen in early August 2013. The camp is well appointed, the central area has a great 'old colonial style' feel to it and overlooks the river and the resident hippos. The permanent tents are lovely, just as they look on their website; polished wooden floors, very comfortable bed, good linen. One irritant was very poor lighting in the bathroom; my husband had to shine a torch at the mirror above the basin in order for me to put my contact lenses in. But we were there in overcast weather, perhaps it's better when sunny.
Food was ok, but not spectacular.
The one negative for me was the situation; the camp is in the Mara North conservancy, not the Mara National park. (It is alongside). This means that the camp is only a few km's from a Masai village and the route into and out of the camp passes cattle, goats, sheep, dogs and people. The game viewing was superb, particularly the pride of more than 21 lion, with cubs. But to get to them one had to travel an appalling road (really off-road track) and past the local community.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This camp was the highlight of a 10 trip to East Africa. Another couple, my husband and I spent 3 nights there. The setting is lovely, the people friendly and helpful and the safaris outstanding. Everyone stays inluxurious tents with complete bathrooms and beautiful verandahs overlooking the Mara river. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the hot water bottles in the bed at night.

We took 4 different safari trips while we were there. Each one was different, we saw different animals including 4 male lions which were magnificent. We took one early morning trip in which we were served a picnic breakfast overlooking the river where we could see hippos, crocodiles, baboons and many birds.

Try to plan your stay so you can spend a morning watching the animals come down to the river. The morning we did that we saw elephants, giraffes, elands, gazelles, zebras and hippos. The hippos are always there and if you wake up in the night you will hear them grunting.

In short, we highly recommend Karen Blixen Camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantasic location, fabulous accommodation, wonderful service, professional staff, great guides. Awesome time and a wonderful safair expereince. I stayed with my wife and mum and we had an amazing safari expereince! We got to see the big 5 and the ugly 5, many times over, but different prides and locations etc each time. Saw the migration across the Mara River twice - something ticked off the bucket list. From the camp, and without leaving acommodation you could see crocs, hippos, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, bamboons and gazelles... And once you went on safari you go to see these and much more. A trip to the local school and Maasai Village is a must. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in No. 6 which was a great location - close to the water, close to the dinning room and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a truly amazing place to stay. We stayed 4 nights and had 5 days of safaris. A family of 5 with 3 teenagers. Even the most reticent of the teens was blown away by the beautiful setting and luxurious riverside tents. We had the same waiter for the 5 days who the kids grew very fond of, and who looked after our every need. Our table was always somewhere different, overlooking the hippos on the opposite bank, and what ever else stopped by! On the last night it was right on the riverside surrounded with lanterns for my birthday! We also had the same driver for our whole stay, a lovely lady called Lornnah, who was really friendly and knew just where to find the wildlife and pitched it just right for the whole family. She took us on morning and evening drives, a whole day to the Mara, to the Masai village and school, and chased the wilderbeast to the river crossing in style. We couldn't have seen more animals and big cats and were delighted by the whole experience. Free wifi was also a hit with the teens; the whole trip was on instagram before I could blink! Upon moving to the coast, we all felt bereft!

Room Tip: the rooms are all fairly near and on the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was in the camp with a couple of friends.in July 2013. Had been there before in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. Was there because of the position on the river and the service had always been average. I don't know what hit me this time. The service has improved so much under the new management it's really unbelievable. From 2-3 stars then to 5 if not 6 stars now.Congratulations to the new management. Keep it up and we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Camp

Address: C13 Lolgorien -north-western Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karen Blixen Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara offers an authentic ’yesteryear’ experience for visitors wishing to gain that little extra from their safari. Set on the bank of the Mara River; the location is spectacular. Throughout the day elephants, giraffes, zebras and impalas come for a drink while a large hippo pod rest lazily in the river. The Camp gives a feeling of the early 1920’s era with beautiful and comfortable furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Karen Blixen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Karen Blixen Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.